Perfect for long-term workers & short stays—comfort, style & convenience await!

Photo gallery for Perfect for long-term workers & short stays—comfort, style & convenience await!

A wooden deck with red railings, wicker furniture, and string lights.
A cozy dining area with a wooden table, chairs, and a patterned rug. A kitchen area with a stove, cabinets, and various kitchen items is visible.
A compact kitchen with white cabinets, a stainless steel refrigerator, a microwave, a stove, and a coffee maker.
A garden area with a wooden fence, various potted plants, and a road in the background.
A house with a front porch, a wooden fence, and a yard with mulch and small plants.

Reviews

8.2 out of 10
Very good

Highlights

  • Beach equipment
    A rare find — beach equipment ready to go for your days by the sea.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Toys
  • Barbecue
  • Pet-friendly
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator

Explore the area

View map
Gloucester, VA
  • Place, Walter Reed Birthplace
    ‪12 min walk‬
  • Place, Busch Gardens Williamsburg
    ‪36 min drive‬
  • Place, College of William and Mary
    ‪43 min drive‬
  • Airport, Newport News, VA (PHF-Newport News - Williamsburg Intl.)
    ‪40 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 7)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 3

1 Queen Bed

2 bathrooms

Bathroom 1

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Bathroom 2

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Spaces

Deck or patio
Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Outdoor play area
Garden

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Gloucester

Located in Gloucester, this holiday home is in a rural area and on a river. Williamsburg Premium Outlets and Merchants Square are worth checking out if shopping is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's popular attractions can visit Busch Gardens Williamsburg. On-The-Hill Cultural Arts Center and MagiQuest are also worth visiting. Jet skiing and kayaking offer great chances to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with hunting and hiking/biking trails nearby.
Map
Gloucester, VA

What's nearby

  • Walter Reed Birthplace - 12 min walk - 1.1 km
  • Busch Gardens Williamsburg - 36 min drive - 44.4 km
  • College of William and Mary - 43 min drive - 52.6 km
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets - 46 min drive - 58.2 km
  • Historic Jamestowne - 52 min drive - 65.1 km

Getting around

  • Williamsburg Transportation Center - 43 min drive
  • Newport News, VA (PHF-Newport News - Williamsburg Intl.) - 36 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Duke's Aloha Eats - ‬11 min drive
  • ‪Chick-fil-A - ‬11 min drive
  • ‪McDonald's - ‬10 min drive
  • ‪Subway - ‬11 min drive
  • ‪Hardee's - ‬10 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Perfect for long-term workers & short stays—comfort, style & convenience await! pet-friendly?

Yes, this property allows cats and dogs (limit 2 total).

How much is parking at Perfect for long-term workers & short stays—comfort, style & convenience await!?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Perfect for long-term workers & short stays—comfort, style & convenience await!?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Perfect for long-term workers & short stays—comfort, style & convenience await!?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Perfect for long-term workers & short stays—comfort, style & convenience await! located?

Situated on a river, this holiday home is 0.6 mi (0.9 km) from Walter Reed Birthplace and within 6 miles (10 km) of Middle Peninsula State Park and Captain John Smith National Historic Trail. Riverside Walter Reed Hospital and Walter Reed Plaza are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Reviews

8.2

Very good

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 17 out of 25 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 2 out of 25 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 25 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 25 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 4 out of 25 reviews

8.0/10

Cleanliness

8.8/10

Check-in

8.6/10

Communication

8.6/10

Location

8.2/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Host was super helpful. Everything we needed was provided.We would stay again.
Stayed 8 nights in Sep 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 11 October 2026
Thank you for your business and fixing my flickering light.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
I loved her antique decorations and homey feel to the property.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Was perfect for our little trip! Very comfortable and quiet!
Stayed 3 nights in May 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great comfortable home

This property was great for families with dogs - very clean and a short drive to Williamsburg.
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 11 August 2025
Im glad you enjoyed your tiMe here in Va and at my property
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great place

The place was perfect for our family and a quick drive to all the sites we wanted to see. The host was very easy to contact!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 11 August 2025
Thank you for your Great review. Please feel Free to stay anytime.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Quiet retreat

Loved our stay! Dog friendly & beautiful surroundings. Mary was great!!
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 11 August 2025
Thank you for your encouraging wordS Come back anyTime
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Quiet, Private, and Comfortable

Great accommodations about 30 minutes from parks and historic sites. Nice place to call home while enjoying the area.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 11 August 2025
Thank you for your Positive respo sponce. I hope you keep me in mind for the next time you are looking for a nice place to rent in This area.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Really cozy

Was very warm and inviting atmosphere. Easy to find and off the main traffic at the same time very convenient.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Hospitality!

Mary was a great host!
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 11 August 2025
Thanks for your encouraging reveiw. Come back anytime.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

relaxing weekend in the woods

Our second stay, love the property, yard and owner! Excellent for traveling with our dogs
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 11 August 2025
Thank you for your repeat business and the Great reveiw.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Nice little home in a neighborhood that’s close to everything Gloucester. Within walking distance of Walter Reed’s birthplace, except Hickory Road has no sidewalks. Charming place.
Stayed 14 nights in Sep 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 12 October 2025
Thank you so much for your kind words. I really appreciate it. You did an awesome job of cleaning the house and even washing the bed sheets and towels. You are welcome at my house anytime and if you need any help with your move in, please let me know. You have got my number. Welcome to Gloucester and God Bless you!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Quite lovely peaceful just like being home.

Very welcome felt like home.
Stayed 13 nights in Nov 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 11 August 2025
Thats always good to here. Im glad you had a good stay.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Griend bday weekend for bush gardens and historic williamsburg

House was very comfy and clean. Close enough to everything we did, but far enough out for quiet relaxation. Host kept in contact to make sure there was nothing we needed and helped with info on where to go to chrck out history of the area. If ever in that area again would definitely book again.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 11 August 2025
I appreciate your Great review. Your welcome anytime. Have a Great Day!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Cute, quiet and cozy

This property was very cute and cozy. Large enough for my family of 6. The property manager is very nice and made sure to check in with us to see if we needed anything and was able to provide recommendations of things to do in the area. If you like being in the quiet nature, but still close enough to the hustle and bustle things to do, this is a great option for you!
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 11 August 2025
Thank you for your kind words and Im glad you i could meet your needs. Come back anytime.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Cozy and convenient

We really enjoyed our stay in Gloucester County on a recent kayaking trip. This property was a short drive to town with lots of restaurants to choose from. We enjoyed Mobjack Bay to kayak. The host was very nice and welcoming. Plenty of parking. The neighborhood was quiet and we felt very safe. We hope to return in the future.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 13 July 2024
Thank you, y’all were exceptional guest and left my place in Great shape. I’m glad y’all had a Great and successful fishing excursion. Hope to see you again, maybe with the Fam.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Cozy house, Great host

We had a great time at this property for our trip to Williamsburg! It’s a short drive to get to most of the sites and attractions and it is very nearby several really great restaurants and coffee shops! Mary was awesome and very hospitable. Great communication when a few technical problems arose before we got there but she was there working hard to make sure it was handled before we checked in! Great time!
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 11 August 2025
Thank you I appreciate iit. Come back anytime. Be glad to have you.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Shady Lane

We enjoyed our stay but the property could use some rejuvenation and decluttering. The leftover food should be removed between guests. Mary was very easy to deal with and pleasant.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2023
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Awful. Not at all like the listing.This is the hosts personal home.Host was on property without consent for 40 minutes after check in.There are no places to put your belongs. Kitchen appliances are dirty.Dirty dishes in the dish rack. Didn’t complete my stay and left early, couldn’t stay here. Host has been ignoring me since I requested a refund.
Stayed 14 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 13 August 2025
We're sorry to hear the stay didn’t meet your expectations. The listing clearly notes that this is a personal home, and the photos accurately reflect the space. I was briefly on-site after check-in to address a setup detail and did not intend to intrude. We regret that you chose to leave early and apologize for any delay in communication. Your feedback is noted, and we’re always working to improve.
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, communication, location, listing accuracy

Big disappointment

Arrived at property, son had allergic reaction in the house, heavy use of air freshners, overwhelming artificial scent, could not stay at property. Many personal items in kitchen cupboards, refrigerator, freezer, bathrooms, basement. Appears as though it is a daily residence of someone, not a rental property. No response from host to address our concerns. Had to stay in local hotel instead
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2023
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Terrible

This is Mary’s home when she rents her house she just packs her bags and stays at her daughters. She leaves her personal belongings behind like food in the refrigerator, cabinets and freezer. Also her clothes in the closets, shoes with no place for our clothes. Family photos, mail on the table, obituaries. Should not be a rental property. We did not stay and did not hear from her about a partial credit. She did say she would take her things and put them in the attic when we told her we weren’t staying.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 19 October 2024
I am sorry your experience was not up to your liking. I have been hosting for almost 2 1/2 years and I don’t try to hide the fact that I am on the premises when I don’t have guest. I left breakfast food in case y’all didn’t make it to the store when you arrived, after your long trip. You didn’t inquire whether I lived here or not. I’m sorry it wasn’t what you expected. I try and make my guest feel comfortable, relaxed and safe while visiting the area. Mi Casa Su Casa
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
We could have gotten past the fact that the house was not the cleanest or the fact that there was really no place to hung your clothes. All the bedroom closet were full on the host personal items. Most of the kitchen cabinets were also full of the host personal food, two cabinets were full of spices, most expired. And really no sets of dishes to eat off of. The smell and taste of the water was horrible. We couldn’t even brush your teeth without a using a bottle of water to rinse. We spent a lot of money on bottle water. And bathing was nearly possible to the point we left a day earlier than planned. Pictures posted of the web site definitely did not match our expectations on the place. The back deck was nearly unusable due to the dog poop all over the outside carpet. We could not find a fire pit. Our host did check on us and communicated well. We were disappointed with your stay.
Side yard trash all over.
Possible the fire pit??
Back yard with what appears to be a sewage leak
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 12 January 2026
I’m glad I didn’t rate you with same scale you rated me, Lol I live at my house when I don’t have guest and with the good communication we had y’all never mentioned anything about what the review says, so how can I fix something I don’t know is broke. I’m sorry it wasn’t what you expected. I don’t own a dog
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
We were very grateful to the host for allowing us to bring our dogs to the property. We are selling our home and needed to vacate the house for showings. The house was adequate but nothing like what we usually rent for a vacation. The house is cluttered and the yard and front porch too. Additionally, it is a good 45 mins from Williamsburg so for out of town guests the description is not really accurate. It is a quiet rural spot with basic needs met and the host is very sweet. She has obviously worked on the property and makes an effort to make guests welcome.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Comfortable beds. Slept great.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 3 July 2026
Thanks for the Good Word, I appreciate ya.
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The property is NOT as listed. The house is dingy, dirty walls that have holes, marks and patches with no paint, filthy, scratched door jams, dirty light switches, clutter everywhere, a dirty swiffer mop leaning against the wall in the dining room, the photos in the VRBO listing do NOT show the real condition of the house. The front and back decks are filthy and chair cushions are unusable, there is debris scattered all over the front yard with a lawn mower and pressure washer sitting in front of the house. I brought my 80yo parents out from Oregon to visit family and expected a relaxing place to stay. Instead we left and rented hotel rooms because the house condition is not acceptable for renting or as described. I contacted the host soon after we arrived and the host made excuses about the full dishwasher and dishes in the dish drainer and once I asked for a full refund stopped communicating with me. I have reached out to her again and contacted VRBO. This listing is deceiving and I am extremely upset that the host will not do the right thing and refund my money. I have had excellent experience with VRBOs and the only thing that will make this right is for the host to refund my money.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2026
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback