Located in Kerhonkson, this cottage is in a rural area and in the mountains. Tuthilltown Spirits and Robibero Winery are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Mohonk Lake and Minnewaska State Park. Looking to enjoy an event or a game while in town? See what's going on at Loren Campbell Memorial Field, or consider a night out at Arrowood Farms. Take in the nearby slopes with cross-country skiing, snowboarding and skiing, or try out other outdoor activities such as snowmobiling.
Woodbury Common Premium Outlets - 59 min drive - 81.8 km
Getting around
Poughkeepsie Station - 40 min drive
Newburgh, NY (SWF-Stewart Intl.) - 44 min drive
Restaurants
McDonald's - 13 min drive
Stewart's Shops - 5 min drive
Dunkin' - 12 min drive
Stone House Tavern - 13 min drive
Kerhonkson Diner - 6 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Cozy Cottage Near Hiking, Infrared Sauna & Fireplace | Dream House in the Gunks pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Cozy Cottage Near Hiking, Infrared Sauna & Fireplace | Dream House in the Gunks?
As of 29 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Cozy Cottage Near Hiking, Infrared Sauna & Fireplace | Dream House in the Gunks on 12 November 2026 start from NZ$428, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Cozy Cottage Near Hiking, Infrared Sauna & Fireplace | Dream House in the Gunks?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Cozy Cottage Near Hiking, Infrared Sauna & Fireplace | Dream House in the Gunks?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Cozy Cottage Near Hiking, Infrared Sauna & Fireplace | Dream House in the Gunks?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Cozy Cottage Near Hiking, Infrared Sauna & Fireplace | Dream House in the Gunks located?
Situated in the mountains, this cottage is 0.6 mi (1 km) from Minnewaska State Park and within 3 miles (5 km) of Federated Church of Kerhonkson and Holy Trinity Ukrainian Catholic Church. Lake Minnewaska Beach and Stony Kill Falls are also within 6 miles (10 km).
Reviews
9.6
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
A cozy little cabin. A great place to enjoy in itself and a relaxing place to come back to after a day out. Stayed two nights and went hiking, great location for the mountains. Host was very responsive.
The property was well maintained, it felt very cozy and well located in the town. Host were amazing as they were always present to help me with any problem I had even though I never needed them.
The Dream Cottage at the Gunks is a perfect place for a cozy stay in a scenic location. Everything was very clean and decorated with good taste. Although we were not there much due to how much we did over the weekend, our time there was very pleasant. I highly recommend staying at this property.
The check in process and communication with the host was very seamless. The place had a nice large living area with very good internet speeds. It was nice to stay in a quiet area, especially at night. The amenities including quality soaps, sheets, towels, and spices where very nice to have included.
As much as I booked the place I wish I would’ve booked it longer. Great place to be and check in was quick and easy and check out was amazing as well. Didn’t have any issue with anything. Great team. Great communication. Love it
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The house was as described, cute little neighborhood and very quiet. We felt very at home and cozy in this house. Special details we loved: the incense, candles, and lots of throw blankets.
For fellow cooking aficionados: there is good stainless steel cookware along with some non stick style skillets. Also there is a medium sized soup pot. A couple big knives and good wooden & plastic spatulas/big spoons/mixers etc.
One note, I am 5'9" and the shower head was very close to my head, so if you are around 6' the shower may not be very comfortable.
Very good communication with the host and it was easy to check in and check out of the property.
The internet connection was very good the entire time. Also, the lighting in the house is lovely, lots of dimmers and warm light which I appreciate. The ambience is very cozy and warm.
The cabin was perfect... almost. Check in was easy and the place is truly surrounded by trails and climbing. The bunk beds are in a room off the back of the house and it was cold. The back doors didn't feel very secure. There were also a lot of lady bugs. The fireplace had a hard-to-use controller and smelled of gas when we used it. There were no washcloths in the bathroom so we used a couple from the kitchen. There were ants by the fridge. We loved the decor and candles and insence. The long table behind the couch was ideal for spreading out and hanging out. I would stay there again for sure, but I'd sleep in the living room instead of the very back bedroom.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2024
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Samantha R.
22 August 2025
Liked: Communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
After staying 2 nights at the Zen cottage in Gardiner (same host), I decided to stay an extra night, but only this location was available, so I booked. I walked in to a very tidy beautiful space, albeit a lot less work went into restoring this space compared to the prior, furniture definitely not as cozy. The blanket covering the boarded up door (in the sauna room) had a very large nail sticking out, luckily I saw it before bumping into. I did notice some foul smells around the fire place, I noted the landlord and he said he'd check it out after I leave. He did and called me telling me that he didn't smell anything. He was kind in replying fast, but I wanted him to know this property was not worth the same amount I paid for the Zen House in Gardiner. I wouldn't book again, but I really appreciated the prompt replies when I had questions.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 22 August 2025
Thank you Samantha for the feedback. It is very unfortunate you had negative experience. Like I mentioned I personally cheeked the smell issue you described and we found absolutely nothing wrong. For all the fairness you should have also added in your review info about you having a condition of being extra sensitive to smells which you told us about. Thus, I am not sure if it is a "fair" assesment of our property based on your condition.
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Mark P.
25 October 2022
Liked: Location
Disliked: Check-in, communication
decent house, good location, difficult owner
About 2 days before out departure we got a long, long, long list of don't dos from the owner. A lot of them having to do with his neighbors, including one that asked you to not walk on the streets in the neighborhood. Taken together it was very off putting. When we arrived at the house, the temperature inside was 65 degrees. I tired to follow his directions on using the thermostats but was not successful. I messaged the owner on VRBO asking for a phone number where I could reach him at and his assistant simply repeated the same instructions. They also were promoting a guide of the area they had compiled. I searched the house and could not find it. I again contacted the owner about the guide, the assistant sent me a link to it through VRBO but VRBO blocked it (according to him) so I never got the guide either. So 3 strikes and your out.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 26 October 2022
So sorry you had bad feelings about our House rules. There were not too many. The biggest one is not to walk around private property that belongs to my neighbors as my neighbors are asking me to protect their privacy. I am very puzzled why it was such a big turn off. First of all our House rules were clearly explained PRIOR to the reservation so guests can decide if they like our place/rules etc without committing to the reservation. Secondly privacy is such a basic right in this country and the rules are just really the protection against unreasonable behavior. As for contacting me, directly my phone number was always available through the listing. Moreover, I specifically mentioned my phone number in all of my check in messages and ask guests to to contact me directly if there are any issues that my 24/7 answering service team can not answer via the vrbo messenger.