Located in Birchwood, this cabin is on the beach. Travellers eager for a bit of culture can stop by Log Museum, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Benson Creek State Wildlife Management Area and Hauer Springs State Wildlife Management Area. Enjoy the area's slopes with cross-country skiing, and don't miss out on the snowmobiling and sledging.
Eau Claire, WI (EAU-Chippewa Valley Regional) - 91 min drive
Restaurants
Mary's Bluegill Bar & Grill - 10 min drive
BP - 10 min drive
Sportsmans Lodge - 16 min drive
The Den Tap House - 10 min drive
The Birchwood Cafe - 10 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is True Log Cabin on Pristine Spider Lake - Wooded Private pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 3 total).
How much does it cost to stay at True Log Cabin on Pristine Spider Lake - Wooded Private?
As of 29 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at True Log Cabin on Pristine Spider Lake - Wooded Private on 10 March 2027 start from NZ$3,211, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at True Log Cabin on Pristine Spider Lake - Wooded Private?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at True Log Cabin on Pristine Spider Lake - Wooded Private?
Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.
What time is check-out at True Log Cabin on Pristine Spider Lake - Wooded Private?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is True Log Cabin on Pristine Spider Lake - Wooded Private located?
Nestled on the beach, this Birchwood cabin is within a 15-minute walk of Mwatson Lake and Brandt Lake. Sprit Lake and River Lake are also within 3 miles (5 km).
Reviews
9.6
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Over all it was great. Especially for the kids. Lots for the kids to do. Arranged well. Large lot for many family members to come with their own vehicles and go when they need to. No air condition with 95 degree heat but the many fans were great and doable. Pet friendly worked out for us. The only hiccup was a huge hiccup. Sherrie got in a scrap with the Lake Association and they threw her off the committee and the boat ramp. We were not permitted to use the lakes boat landing because she had words with them. My guys were there to fish and switch the kids in and out of the boat. So the kids had a good time the kids not. If Sherrie was truthful about us not using the boat landing we would not have booked it. It didn’t fit our needs. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 3 August 2026
A few things to note about Jeans Review.
1. She never mentioned she was bringing a boat.
2. There is no Lake Association on Spider Lake
3. I was never on a committee.
4. The boat landing she is referring to is Privately Owned.
5. The lake is low this year and no-one on Lake 1 has their pontoon in.
6. I asked her where she heard such rubbish and she stated "Some random person at the bar"
7. Jean is not welcomed back.
We had a wonderful time staying at the Spider Lake lake house. The property had everything we needed and it was so great being able to have the 2 family dogs with us. The lake is perfect for swimming, kayaking, and fishing. Having the use of the property’s canoe was also such a bonus! We loved the big decks that really allows you to take in the views and the firepit was fun to enjoy at the end of the day. We highly recommend this property and Sherrie was great to work with!
This is an amazing property. Plenty of room for the family. We enjoyed eating on the huge deck listening to the loons during breakfast. The owner is very responsive. The lake is fantastic. We spent a lot of time kayaking and fishing. Some really nice bass if you take a boat out.
The cabin was so comfortable! Very nice and clean. Plenty of room for all of us. The lake was quiet during our stay. Felt like we had it to ourselves. Lots of wildlife, campfires, swimming, fishing, coffee shop runs, and R&R! Enjoyed our stay very much!
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2024
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Verified traveller
7 August 2026
Liked: Check-in, location
I made some marks on the carpet & deck from something that was stepped on in the yard, My intention was to let her know about the stains as soon as I could. My drive is 3.5 hours from there and Sherrie was already messaging me before I had a chance to contact her. She said everything was fine except she wanted to know what the carpet stains were & I told her about it & that I tried to clean it the best I could with what was there. I had some BIG concerns of my own that were dismissed by her such as the mouse droppings on the counter on our food we had just made & hot dog buns & cracker packages that were chewed on by mice, I sent her pictures but they were dismissed & never acknowledged. Also had concerns about the dog feces down on the beach and razor blades found on the beach when my grandkids were playing in the sand, Again silence. So now after I voiced my concerns, every stain in the house & deck & cushions on the chairs needed replacing because of something I stepped in in her yard. She has professional cleaners she says but most professionals can remove stains, I don't think she wanted to spend a couple extra bucks from my rental fee to clean it & buy some new cushions that I supposedly stained, She is more worried about some stains then her mouse problems that she claims she doesn't have that is gonna get someone sick some day. So now she wants 1000 damage deposit which she took & a carpet cleaner could do it for a third of the price. Renters Beware!
We had an amazing stay at the log cabin on Spider lake. From booking to checkout, everything was easy and exactly as expected. Sherrie was wonderful to work with and super responsive when we had questions. The cabin is a perfect combination of rustic with all the amenities you need to enjoy the time away from city life. We enjoyed kayaking, fishing, paddle boards, wildlife (Eagles, deer, chipmunks, loons..) and all the peace and tranquility we could absorb. Sherrie, thank you for sharing your cabin with us. I would love to know more about the history of this home in your family (the note on the handmade bunkbed is intriguing!) Thanks again for being a fantastic host!
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2024
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Liz G.
27 May 2026
Liked: Check-in, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication
24 hours in, we found mouse feces and urine in a lower level bed where we’d slept with our children nearby in bunks. I messaged Sherrie immediately and she was dismissive—they “sometimes have mice in winter,” bedding was cleaned “this spring,” there were no traps available, and she hadn’t seen any mice so she was not concerned. No offer to help or provide clean sheets at least. Inspecting further, I found droppings along the entire bedroom perimeter, piles of seeds and wrappers and some droppings in bunk beds—signs of an active or previous infestation not cleaned up. I messaged again multiple times. VRBO called her twice. No answer. We told her we were packing up and leaving the property. She replied hours later, accusing me of lying, fabricating evidence, and implying I was not supervising my kids. Her response to my photos of significant amounts of droppings: “If you search far enough lol.” She went to lengths to justify any amount of mouse droppings in sleeping area as acceptable and not warranting attention. After hours on phone with VRBO, we were eventually refunded for our 3 remaining nights—2 from Sherrie, 1 from VRBO. VRBO determined this a “cleanliness” issue and left refund up to Sherrie. VRBO will not protect you in this type of situation without significant time spent contacting them. This was our 8th Memorial Day trip to Birchwood with extended family. We’ve never experienced anything like this from hosts or properties “in the woods.” Travelers beware.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 11 June 2026
Thank you for your review. We take cleanliness and guest concerns seriously, which is why we were surprised by these claims. Our property is professionally cleaned and inspected between guests, and no evidence of mouse droppings in sleeping areas was found prior to your arrival. Additionally, the property had been occupied before and after your stay without any similar reports.
While we disagreed with the characterization of the cabin's condition, we nevertheless worked with VRBO to provide a refund for the reservation in an effort to resolve the situation.
What was most disappointing was the escalation from reporting a concern to making accusations about our property standards and our character. For many years, we have welcomed families to our cabin and have maintained a strong record of positive guest experiences. We encourage future guests to review our long history of positive reviews, which accurately reflect the cleanliness, care, and hospitality that most visitors experience at our property.
We remain committed to providing a clean, comfortable, and enjoyable stay for every guest.
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Jennifer J.
12 September 2018
It should have been better!
"Did you enjoy your stay"? The question at the top of this review page! Only two options for answers to click on. Either "I loved it!" or "Not Really". For us it was somewhere in between. We only rented the cabin from 8/12 - 8/16. So with a check in time of 4pm and a check out time of 11:00am, that's really only 3 full days, so of course we wanted to make the most of that time. One part of making the most, was us spending time on the chain of lakes with the pontoon we also rented from the owner. We were super excited about it! Unfortunately, the excitement quickly turned into disappointment & frustration when the pontoon wouldn't start and we ended up spending WAY more time dinking around with this pontoon than we should have, buying a battery charger for it... charging it for hours... and that still didn't work... checking the motor etc..etc. We finally ended up renting a pontoon from a local guy, which we got around lunch time Tuesday, leaving us at this point with less than 2 full days of Pontoon use. Although we don't blame the owner for the trouble with the pontoon, we do feel her response to our trouble wasn't very apologetic. Never once did I hear... Oh I'm SO sorry, what can I do? Instead WE asked if she could have the Kayaks, which were also available for rent, unlocked for us to use to kind of make up of for all the hassle & time wasted, but she seemed reluctant & stated that asking the cleaning lady to come back to unlock is asking a lot. She mentioned one set of the kayaks had a combination lock which she could give us, but the paddles were locked in the garage, so obviously THAT wouldn't do us any good. Her lack of desire to make up for it, and aloofness was disheartening. Nevertheless, despite the pontoon fiasco putting a damper on this vacation, we made the best of the time we had. It IS a beautiful property and lake and had we not had all this trouble, this review would be completely different.
Jennifer, Rosie, Stefan, Andrea, Cooper and Olivia!
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2018
Response from VrboOwner on 28 March 2020
This review is full of negative untruths. I did try and resolve this and apologized to Stefan on the phone, gave him suggestions on starting it and also the information to rent one from a local guy. I believe they wore down the battery trying to start it, the pontoon started for the previous guests and also for me after this group. When asked about using the kayaks, I said of course! I immediately contacted my cleaning lady who was not able to get there to unlock the paddles from the closet. Speaking with the guests we both agreed getting a lockable locker for the paddles was something to look into. At no time during our conversations or after their stay did they seem upset or troubled. You can be assured I try my best to make amends when something goes wrong.
This cabin is a great set up. Much larger than it looks in the pictures and the property is amazing. Very well taken care of and Great Lake for fishing, swimming and kayaking. Would highly recommend!!
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
CRAIG T.
30 June 2026
Liked: Cleanliness, location
Our stay was awesome. Sherri was very accommodating to any needs we had even a late checkout time. Cabin was very clean and was plenty of room for 11 people for out annual father's day trip. Will definitely be going back
If you're looking for seclusion and privacy but still X-Ray enough access to necessities this is the place. The set up of this amazing cabin was perfect for us. Lower level for my son's family with a toddler gave them space needed for naps or bedtime. The property itself is private and surrounded by woods with open space all around the cabin. The lakes are very unique and undeveloped shoreline all the way to the 5th lake. We spent 10 days here and it had everything you need in the kitchen, huge deck with lots of seating, and just all around comfort!
The chain of lakes is quiet and mostly undeveloped. Bluegills were available everywhere, a few bass. Saw eagles, deer, osprey. The house has several very nice features, such as beautiful view into a more or less private bay, ample space, nice deck for sitting outside.
The cabin is perfectly located in a semi-secluded cove with awesome vies of the lake. It is well appointed with everything you could possibly need. We had a very memorable and relaxing time.
Cabin had plenty of space for the 12 of us on #1 of the Spider Lake chain. Family of 6 enjoyed the finished basement/bunk room. HUGE deck and fire pit so nice for us. We ALL fit comfortably on the Pontoon for boat rides to #5 where my childhood memories were made. Everyone loved the vintage Paddle boat too! Floaties, Washer/dryer, 2 full bathrooms were greatly appreciated as well. We were blessed by nice summer weather for lots of water activities. Hammock and outdoor furniture were relaxing spots. Of course, the loons and sunsets provided natural entertainment! We used a couple of the kayaks too- was nice not to have to haul them. Recommend Spider Lake Saloon, Ed's Pit Stop for Broasted Chicken and ice Cream and Gary's Grocery for Donuts. The littles loved Wilderness Walk in Hayward. Quite a memory maker vacation to celebrate! Psalm 126:3
This property property provided our family a wonderful chance to relax and have fun at the lake! The cabin was immaculately clean, and there was plenty of indoor and outdoor space for all of us. We enjoyed exploring the lakes and surrounding wildlife on the rented pontoon boat. Hayward was just 45 minutes away with cute shops, go-karts, and mini golf. Highly recommend!!
The cabin was better than expected! Clean, private, very quiet with beautiful views. We brought our dog along and he had a blast. Would definitely book again.
Sherrie, overall another great week. Minor details, batteries in remotes and a little communication problem but everything worked out fine. Waited till 9 to help with pier but no-one showed up. Sorry. Ken
We had such a great time and will definitely be back. Sherrie and the cleaning lady were both very helpful and responsive. We appreciated it very much. It was just about perfect as far as privacy, unplugging, quality family time, and complete relaxation.
This rental property has all of the comforts of home without all the distractions. So our family was able to enjoy quality time together fishing, relaxing, and enjoying nature!