Located in Frankston, this cabin is near a water park and on a lake. McClendon House and Goodman-LeGrand House & Museum are local landmarks, and some of the area's attractions include Waterpark at the Villages and New York - Texas Zipline Adventure. Travelling with kids? Consider Children’s Park of Tyler, or check out an event or a game at Faulkner Tennis Center. Looking to get your feet wet? Jet skiing, kayaking and waterskiing adventures can be found near the property.
Waterpark at the Villages - 15 min drive - 15.8 km
Broadway Square Mall - 26 min drive - 34.0 km
University of Texas at Tyler - 32 min drive - 45.4 km
Texas State Railroad: Palestine Depot - 48 min drive - 63.2 km
Getting around
Tyler, TX (TYR-Pounds Regional) - 27 min drive
Restaurants
Eagle's Bluff Country Club - 22 min drive
Pop's Honey Fried Chicken - 7 min drive
Sonic Drive-In - 11 min drive
Pizza Pro Lake Palestine - 16 min drive
Pop's Chicken - 14 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Charming Lakehouse - Near Lake - Cabin Feel - Frankston, TX pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows cats and dogs (limit 2 total) with a maximum weight of up to 23 kg per pet.
How much does it cost to stay at Charming Lakehouse - Near Lake - Cabin Feel - Frankston, TX?
As of 28 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Charming Lakehouse - Near Lake - Cabin Feel - Frankston, TX on 2 November 2026 start from NZ$553, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Charming Lakehouse - Near Lake - Cabin Feel - Frankston, TX?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Charming Lakehouse - Near Lake - Cabin Feel - Frankston, TX?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Charming Lakehouse - Near Lake - Cabin Feel - Frankston, TX?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Charming Lakehouse - Near Lake - Cabin Feel - Frankston, TX located?
This family-friendly Frankston cabin is located on a lake, 0.2 mi (0.3 km) from Lake Palestine, and within 9 mi (15 km) of Waterpark at the Villages and Frankston City Hall. New York - Texas Zipline Adventure and Lake Placid are also within 16 miles (25 km).
Reviews
8.0
Very good
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Great communication. Very clean. Place was about average for the money in terms of what you get. Bring ice and anything you will need as you will need everything. It is rather close to the lake and it’s not horrible. Central AC is not strong so during the summer you may want to find alternatives. But if you need a spot this is a good one.
What an amazing stay. Cute, clean, and awesome communication with the host. Loved the location, as we were so close to the lake. Exceeded expectations! Very well thought out for a guests best experience.
I love how the property is so close to the lake and the host is always there when we needed something. Would definitely come back again next year and spend the weekend here. Highly recommend.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 15 August 2023
It was a pleasure hosting you guys! Thank you for being great guests! Hopefully we get to host you guys again in the future!
We really enjoyed our stay.
The lakehouse was spacious! We loved the variety of games, we played something each night, and my teen daughter loved the snacks. The host was extremely helpful and quick to answer any questions we had.
It was a great place to unwind and hang out. We would stay here again.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 15 August 2023
Laura was an amazing guest! Kept the house clean and followed all our house rules. Would definitely look forward to hosting her again in the future!
The host was so amazing, helpful, with great customer service, and most of all great communication. The house was so clean, smelled fresh and staged very nice. Very beautiful place to get away. I would love to come back in the future.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 15 August 2023
Saundra was an amazing guest! Kept the house clean and followed all our house rules! Would definitely love to host her again in the future!
Verified review
8/10 Good
EVELYN G.
21 May 2023
Liked: Check-in, communication
Relaxing Getaway
The weekend spent at this property was good, a little confusing as to how to enter for parking but eventually figured it out. The property manager was very attentive and did whatever was needed to make it right👍👍👍
Stayed 2 nights in May 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 15 August 2023
Thank you for staying on our property. We're thrilled to hear that you had a good weekend. In terms of parking, we made sure to include clear instructions in the check-in information provided to all our guests. However, we understand that sometimes things can be overlooked or misinterpreted. Rest assured, we always strive to ensure our guests have an amazing experience. Thank you again for staying with us.
Verified review
2/10 Terrible
Laken
4 February 2026
Nasty! Extreme amount of mold. This house shouldn’t be allowed to host guest. Dangerous staircase. Curtains not in the walls properly and falling. Roaches on the dishes. No central heat and air. Do not book here!
This home was perfect for our group of 6 with room to spare. We had everything we needed for our fishing trip… space to park and charge the boat as well as a boat ramp in the neighborhood. Our boys loved the games!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 15 August 2023
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us Jenalyn! Thank you for being an amazing guest. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
We had an amazing stay! The place had so much to offer and the house was very clean. We’re glad the property had board games, foosball, cornhole and pool so there was so much to do during our stay! It’s also close to the marina and the house has plenty of parking for when you want to bring your boat. Jesse was very communicative all throughout and the entire process was seamless. We’ll definitely book again!
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 15 August 2023
We’re glad you had an amazing stay with us Katrina! Thank you for communicating well with us, following all our house rules and keeping our property clean. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Loved the lake house. Good location for Tomato Fest in Jacksonville. Great location to Tyler. The cabin was very accommodating for our family of 6. Enjoyed the games. The marina was easy to get to & fish. The owner always responded quickly to our questions. Overall we had an awesome time. Just wished we could have stayed longer!
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 15 August 2023
Thank you Anchalee! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
We were in a fishing trip and stayed here. It was what to be expected. You can park a couple of boats in the back, but bring a longer extension chord. The manager was very nice and accomodating.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 27 September 2023
Thank you for being a great guest Chris! We look forward to hosting you again!
We did not stay . We left and canceled because the place was filthy, a fire hazard, mold around air conditioners that were in the windows, the dangerous stairs, the place looked abandoned outside with the overgrown grass and that dangerous tent thing in the backyard, and the roaches in the house was really bad.
My family and I had an overnight stay at this lakehouse and loved it! This place is a gem.
Jesse was a great host; he provided detailed info that answered all our questions, so finding and getting inside the lakehouse was convenient. He also went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. As for the house itself? It was clean, spotless, and comfortable. The games, arcade and snacks were a nice touch—my kid and husband both enjoyed themselves.
We chose the location because of its proximity to the lake. It was close to the water, and the marina was very easy to find. All in all, we had an amazing time, and we’ll definitely book again when we’re in the area.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 15 August 2023
We’re glad you loved your stay with us Francesca! Thank you for being an amazing guest! We’d love to host you and your family again in the future!
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Verified traveller
8 July 2023
Liked: Check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Lake Palestine cabin
We picked this cabin for the proximity to my cousins lakehouse. The 2 downstairs bedrooms were very comfortable. The downstairs bath was disappointing. The shower was very small. There were no towel hooks or bars. The upstairs bed frame was broken. One of the miniblinds was broken and there were dead bugs and spider webs in the window. The yard needed to be mowed. All of the amenities were adequate. Since we spent most of our time at my cousins lakehouse on the water, this property was fine for sleeping. The neighborhood is a bit sketchy, mostly trailer houses. We heard the nickname is Meth-wood Bay.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 15 August 2023
Hi John, we’re not sure where all these complaints came from as there are no damages at all on any of the bed frames or blinds. We double checked everything as soon as you checked out. We also did not get any messages from you nor did you contact us at all regarding any of these complaints. It’s very sad to hear these things as we take pride in making sure our property is always in its best shape and ready for the next guest. Nonetheless, we hope you had a great stay.
Verified review
2/10 Terrible
James
22 March 2025
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, communication
Believe the bad reviews, not the good ones. The house is not as shown in pictures. Heating solution, info not provided until check-in, space heaters in each room, wall units in LivingRoom & Master. Very cold on arrival and heat not on. Kitchen space heater blew breaker repeatedly, wall unit blew puff of black stuff in face when turned on upon arrival. No outdoor lights-making dark house almost invisible. House not well maintained, dirty, stains, broken blinds. Bedspreads, toaster oven were disgusting. After beginning to move in, hands felt gross, requiring hand sanitizer. Couldn't allow children to remove shoes because of dirty condition. Steps very steep, actually dangerous. Commode downstairs did not function properly. Owner, actually management company in California, said stains were normal wear & tear and could not be removed. Their "cleaner" told them the house was clean, had been mopped two times. Do you rely on a "cleaner" who leaves a filthy toaster and the awful bedspreads? Cleaner is the only one in the area with the company, so no oversight. Communications in beginning were with "Jesse" and seemed personal. There was actually nothing personal in dealing with the management company. I personally believe the good reviews of this property were manufactured. Note they are for only one- or two-night stays.
Stayed 7 nights in Dec 2024
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Josh P.
23 October 2023
Liked: Check-in, communication
Disliked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy
Not as described
The pictures look really nice, but are not reflective of reality. This property has potential, but needs a refresh.
Here’s a run down of the issues I came across:
1. There are stairs with duct tape. I did not see stairs in the pictures. The stairs have different heights (some have more of a drop than others) This is not very safe for young children or elderly people.
2. One of the closets had an open crawl space in it. Again, not ideal for young children. It looks like they’d tried to nail it shut but it was open when I entered the closet.
3. The grass wasn’t mowed.
4. The king sized bed up stairs caved in when we sat on it. I should have checked the reviews before because this has been an issue that at least one other guest complained about. We did our best to make due with it but the supports were broken and it looked like someone tried to do a makeshift repair on it.
5. Multiple cosmetic issues. Trim falling down, dirt dauber nests in the closet, scuff marks on the wall, multiple broken blinds.
The games were nice and it is close to the lake.
To their credit, the host was responsive when I notified them of all the issues. They said they’d send someone out to fix the bed the next day, but that doesn’t do much when you discover the issue at 9:30 and you want to sleep comfortably.
I wish I could upload pictures for the review, but don’t see that as an option.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 24 October 2023
Hi Josh, we appreciate your feedback. We always strive to improve our stay and guests’ experience. Just to respond to the issues you have addressed,
1. We do have a photo of the stairs and the lining on the stairs is not duct tape.
2. As for that little space in the closet, we did try our best to make sure it’s closed so we’re not sure how that opened. We went ahead and added locks to it after you checked out so it shouldn’t be an issue anymore.
3. We have someone who comes to mow the lawn regularly and it just hasn’t been mowed at the time you were at the property. They have been mowed already.
4. The previous guest broke the bedframe and we had it reinforced. It doesn’t seem like it broke when our cleaner checked after you checked out but we added some more reinforcements just to make sure.
5. As with any vacation rental, there will always be small marks and scratches here and there due to different guests coming and going but anything significant, we get them repaired right away.
Again, we truly appreciate the feedback and we hope you still enjoyed your stay. We just thought that the review was a bit harsh and that the 2-stars wasn’t fair. Especially since we tried our best to adhere to all the issues you were having by sending someone there to take care of them. We are a very small, family-owned business and we always strive to make sure our guests have a wonderful stay and an amazing experience and we will continue to improve our home.
The beds were comfortable. Did not understand placement of light switches behind doors? Someone had put dirty dishes in the cabinet. We washed all before we could use them. There were no washcloths for 4 adults and 6 children, Only 4 bath towels that we had to wash between showers. No kitchen towels or washcloths. The steps to the upstairs were very steep. as tall as a roll of paper towels and some of the adults could not climb them. The seam strips on the steps were peeling and looked dangerous. Closets upstairs need to be finished. Dead cockroach in bedroom with king sized bed. Some of the plug-ins were not usable, when you tried to plug in, they recessed into the walls. Flooring was broken in places. Around the main floor bathroom, looks like toilet is sinking and may need new flooring under it. No tips on the pool cues, missing people on the foosball table. Games and cards were not all together. The key did not work at the marina, not sure how many gates there are but the ones we tried did not work. Dirt on overhead fan blades was pretty thick. Window shades were broken. Outdoor trash can was already full. The WELCOME basket had 4 little bags of chips. Share them with 5 of 6 children. No variety of coffee or creamers as the pictures showed. Owner wanted to have 5 star review, but tried to reach the owner (Jesse) but no response. I hope she invests in the cleaning and improvement of this place. Sorry I could not rate this 5 stars.