Cabin on four peaceful wooded acres in Hesston, PA

Photo gallery for Cabin on four peaceful wooded acres in Hesston, PA

A wooden deck leading to a building with an air conditioning unit mounted on the exterior wall.
Dining
A snow-covered forest path with tall trees and a wooden fence on one side.
A rustic cabin with a fire pit, wooden benches, and a covered outdoor area.
A snow-covered landscape with a wooden deck and a building.

Reviews

6.6 out of 10

Highlights

  • Beach equipment
    A rare find — beach equipment ready to go for your days by the sea.

Popular amenities

  • Barbecue
  • Pet-friendly
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Internet
  • Washing machine

Explore the area

View map
Hesston, PA
  • Place, Raystown Lake
    ‪10 min drive‬
  • Place, Seven Points Marina
    ‪14 min drive‬
  • Place, Allegrippis Trailhead
    ‪14 min drive‬
  • Airport, Altoona, PA (AOO-Blair County)
    ‪39 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

2 bedrooms (sleeps 10)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Single Bed

Living Room 1

1 Single Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed

1 bathroom

Bathroom 1

Towels provided · Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Spaces

Kitchen
Number of living rooms
Outdoor play area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Hesston

Hesston is home to this holiday home. Isett Acres Museum and Swigart Museum are cultural highlights, and some of the area's activities can be experienced at Seven Points Marina and Blair County Driving Range.
Map
Hesston, PA

What's nearby

  • Raystown Lake - 10 min drive - 9.1 km
  • Seven Points Marina - 14 min drive - 13.7 km
  • Allegrippis Trailhead - 14 min drive - 11.2 km
  • Lincoln Caverns and Whisper Rocks - 17 min drive - 18.2 km
  • Juniata College - 17 min drive - 17.2 km

Getting around

  • Huntingdon Station - 17 min drive
  • Altoona, PA (AOO-Blair County) - 40 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪The Sizzler - ‬34 min drive
  • ‪Rebelz - ‬21 min drive
  • ‪Backwoods Smoke Shack LLC - ‬9 min drive
  • ‪Fat Freddie's Bbq - ‬10 min drive
  • ‪Rax - ‬33 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Cabin on four peaceful wooded acres in Hesston, PA pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Cabin on four peaceful wooded acres in Hesston, PA?

As of 30 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Cabin on four peaceful wooded acres in Hesston, PA on 28 January 2027 start from NZ$274, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Cabin on four peaceful wooded acres in Hesston, PA?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Cabin on four peaceful wooded acres in Hesston, PA?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Cabin on four peaceful wooded acres in Hesston, PA?

Checkout is at noon.

Where is Cabin on four peaceful wooded acres in Hesston, PA located?

Situated in Hesston, this holiday home is within 9 miles (15 km) of Raystown Lake, Allegrippis Trailhead and Seven Points Marina. J.C. Blair Memorial Hospital and Juniata College are also within 12 miles (20 km).

Reviews

6.6
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 6 out of 16 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 2 out of 16 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 2 out of 16 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 2 out of 16 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 4 out of 16 reviews

7.0/10

Cleanliness

8.4/10

Check-in

8.4/10

Communication

8.2/10

Location

7.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Loved pet friendly secluded property near to Raystown Lake
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 29 September 2026
Great Guests
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Nice place to stay
Stayed 1 night in May 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
This place really is a Gem, hidden in the woods. It was a perfect location to the lake and not far from town but still secluded in private. We appreciate it the welcome basket. I'm s'mores that we enjoyed around the large fire pit.Then it was an excellent host communicating all along the way check-in with Easy. It really was a five star stay.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Home away from home
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy
The place was not clean there was not bathroom door there was pieces of the walls missing the outside had trash everywhere I don’t recommend at all
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Nice stay

Provided a nice place for us to spend Memorial Day weekend
Stayed 3 nights in May 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 10 June 2025
Cheryl was an excellent guest, clean, quiet and self-reliant. She is welcome back anytime.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Getaway

Location was perfect and close to what we needed. Property was perfect for my husband and my dog loved the area
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 8 June 2026
Thank you.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Close to the lake

Nice weekend getaway
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2024
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
I enjoyed this place. Its tucked away and private. Everything is labeled nicely and was well equipped. Some will be deterred by smell but i thought the place was priced appropriately for those sorts of things.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2025
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
What I expected is not what I got. This house did not smell clean or feel clean from the moment we arrived. We came in late as we were on our way back from a long travel and planned to strictly sleep and get our morning moving here. Instead I spent my time contemplating going to a hotel. Upon entering the home there was a smell of stale cigarette smoke. After reviewing the book there was rat poison all throughout the house. The kitchen utensils were put in a plastic container with a note stating to keep it closed or else rodents will be all on them. As we were setting up for the kids to sleep we walked past numerous outlets with no covers on them and exposed wiring. The door to the bathroom is a make shift barn door style with nail plates on the edges and easily was catching clothes. Further more the main bedroom closet door was broken and was ready to fall. Needless to say my children and my family could not wait to leave this place. Nobody slept well, what was advertised as a cabin in the woods ended up being someone’s run down trailer. The floor even had a soft spot in the kitchen to the right of the main door where you felt like you were going to fall through. The water was not usable there. I didn’t even feel comfortable using it to brush my teeth. I would not bring your family here especially the little ones who are very curious as they will end up seriously hurt.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 11 August 2026
Your comments help us improve our Gem in the woods. Smoking is not permitted in the house. Guests may smoke on the porch. If the previous guests smoked in the house, I am sorry and will look into the mater. The cleaning crew reports if smoking was detected. “You are on seven wooded acres.” There are mice and other rodents that live in the woods. We use a few different methods to keep them at bay; poison, glue traps, snap traps and electronic sound. All mouse poison is placed under or behind furniture and is marked with a Mr. Yuck near that location. This is to protect the guests’ children and pets. In the 50 years that I have had the property; I have never seen a rat! The silverware drawer has a lid on it to keep any critters from crawling on the silverware. It is protection keeping the silverware clean. Most guests apricate the clean silverware and some even thank us for easy sanitary method. The well water goes through four filtration systems for acid, sulfur, iron and is softened. It is tested regularly and is perfectly safe. That is why a five-gallon spring water cooler is in the kitchen for drinking, cooking and if you like, brushing teeth. As of this writing, the bathroom is being redone and is not 100% finished but all the facilities work perfectly fine. The house is professionally cleaned after each guest. If you enjoy nature and the great outdoors, you will love The Gem of Raystown Lake as so many guests have.
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication, listing accuracy
Rat poison was left out of the p
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2025
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, listing accuracy
The host was great about communicating & he was a pleasure to deal with.Sadly, this place was filthy & not 100% accurate in the description.First thing we noticed was a dead fly in the coffee pot. Everything needs to be in an air tight container due to rodents.We popped out a futon in the LR & when we did, tons of crumbs, etc. came flying up.The area behind the futon was extremely dusty/dirty.Yes, the cabin has 2 A/C units, front & back.There is no A/C or exhaust fan in the bathroom.Also note that the dining table is in the screened in patio, no A/C. Although it IS hot, the view from the DR table was beautiful.No A/C in the 2nd bedroom, unless you sleep with the door open.Bath towels disgusted us because we saw black hairs coming out.Shower is old, and gross.There was dirt (crumbs) all over the bedspread in the “master” BR and the bedspread was yellowish due to age.We both slept in the LR.There is a note about the well water in the VRBO description but it doesn’t tell you that the waters smells like rotten eggs, and it lasts longer than you realize.I have pictures if anyone would like to see them.Please know, it is never my intention to do harm to anyone’s business.The place is in a great location and has tons of potential! It is in need of a deep cleaning inside.Very well organized cabin. Labels on everything which made things easier.We made the best of it and were thankful to get away for a few days, TY Daniel.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2026
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Stayed 2 nights in May 2025
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2024
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback