Freeboard at Soundview · Beach+Ocean+Sunrise

Photo gallery for Freeboard at Soundview · Beach+Ocean+Sunrise

A hotel room with a bed, a wooden nightstand, a lamp, and a window with a view of houses and a sunset.
A two-story building with a porch and a sign that reads "Breen's."
A narrow hallway with a door on the left, a doormat at the entrance, and a ceiling light fixture.
A kitchen with white cabinets, a sink, and wooden lower cabinets. There is a coffee maker, a bottle of dish soap, and a container of sugar on the counter.
A set of outdoor stairs leading to a covered porch area with bicycles parked nearby.

Reviews

9.0 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Top rated beach location
    Discover paradise at this top rated beach location.

Popular amenities

  • Electric vehicle charging point
  • Air-conditioning
  • Onsite parking available
  • Microwave
  • Non-smoking

Explore the area

View map
Old Lyme, CT
  • Place, Rocky Neck State Park
    ‪3 min drive‬
  • Place, The Book Barn
    ‪8 min drive‬
  • Place, Hole-in-the-Wall Beach
    ‪9 min drive‬
  • Airport, New London, CT (GON-Groton - New London)
    ‪26 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

1 bedroom (sleeps 2)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

1 bathroom

Bathroom 1

Spaces

Kitchen
Outdoor play area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Old Lyme

Located in Old Lyme, this apartment is in a rural area and on the waterfront. The Book Barn and Childrens Museum of Southeastern Connecticut are local attractions and those in the mood for shopping can visit Essex Saybrook Antique Village Shopping Center and Flanders Plaza Shopping Center. Tumbleweeds and Saybrook Country Barn are also worth visiting. With scuba diving, snorkelling and windsurfing nearby, you'll find plenty of adventures in the water.
Map
Old Lyme, CT

What's nearby

  • Rocky Neck State Park - 3 min drive - 3.6 km
  • The Book Barn - 8 min drive - 8.5 km
  • Rocky Neck State Beach - 8 min drive - 7.4 km
  • Hole-in-the-Wall Beach - 9 min drive - 9.6 km
  • Florence Griswold Museum - 10 min drive - 13.1 km

Getting around

  • Old Saybrook Station - 17 min drive
  • New London, CT (GON-Groton - New London) - 29 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Dunkin' - ‬8 min drive
  • ‪Coffee’s Country Market & Catering - ‬12 min drive
  • ‪Dunkin' - ‬9 min drive
  • ‪Lyme Tavern - ‬6 min drive
  • ‪Teddy's Old Lyme Pizza Palace - ‬11 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Is Freeboard at Soundview · Beach+Ocean+Sunrise pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Freeboard at Soundview · Beach+Ocean+Sunrise?

As of 31 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Freeboard at Soundview · Beach+Ocean+Sunrise on 2 November 2026 start from NZ$452, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Freeboard at Soundview · Beach+Ocean+Sunrise?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Freeboard at Soundview · Beach+Ocean+Sunrise?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Freeboard at Soundview · Beach+Ocean+Sunrise?

Checkout is at 11:00 AM.

Where is Freeboard at Soundview · Beach+Ocean+Sunrise located?

Situated on the waterfront, this apartment building is 2.1 mi (3.4 km) from Rocky Neck State Park and within 6 miles (10 km) of Rocky Neck State Beach and Old Lyme Historical Society. Giants Neck Beach and The Book Barn are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Reviews

9.0

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 7 out of 10 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 1 out of 10 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 2 out of 10 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 10 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 10 reviews

9.0/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Amenities

8.8/10

Property conditions & facilities

9.8/10

Check-in

9.6/10

Communication

9.8/10

Location

9.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Clean just as pictured. Great location
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great location and a nice room!
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We enjoyed our stay thoroughly! Freeboard was perfect for our weekend getaway. Clean, efficient, easy to find, quiet, great location, nice neighborhood. We look forward to staying here again.
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities, communication
It was very close to the beach , quiet, parking on property room had everything you would need i enjoyed my stay didnt want to leave so soon wouldve liked at least 1 more day maybe next year thank you.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I love everything about this property. Excellent response from host. Excellent cleanliness of place. OVERALL TOP EXPERIENCE. 1000 PERCENT will be back.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The Freeboard Studio in Old Lyme was the perfect, vacation spot for me and my husband. The host truly thought of everything when renovating this space. There are basic appliances, linens, towels, cute coffee bar at the kitchenette and a pack-n-play should you need one. Paul was communicative throughout our stay, and made sure we were content everyday.Walking through the Old Colony Beach neighborhood, we felt right at home. Everyone was so respectful and kind! The beach is beautiful and very clean.I highly recommend this unit for booking!
The Freeboard
Sunrise
The Beach
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Cleanliness
Property owners were great to work with. Everything went smoothly. The only downside was our floors were covered in sand… and we never went to the beach because my husband injured his knee two days before and was on crutches. The coffee machine was filled with old coffee grinds so when I opened it they went all over the counter and the frig was dirty with sand on the shelves.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 1 August 2025
Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad to hear everything went smoothly overall and that you found us easy to work with. That said, we’re sorry about the condition of the floors, coffee maker, and fridge. That’s not the standard we aim to provide, and we’ll be addressing this with our cleaning team right away. It’s also something we would’ve appreciated knowing in real time so we could have made things right during your stay. Wishing your husband a smooth recovery, and thank you again for bringing these concerns to our attention.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location
Adam, the owner was very responsive until we got there, and then decided not to stay because the room was really smaller than we imagined. There is barely enough room to get around the bed. I had asked, if possible, for some sort of a partial refund, but haven't heard anything back as of yet. The room was clean and in well-kept condition, but not nearly as comfortable as the pictures depict. Anyway, it was an expensive lesson for my further travels using VRBO as I would only consider a place like this to flop over night.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 11 February 2026
Hi Dave, thank you for acknowledging that the room was clean and well-kept. We aim to be fully transparent about our spaces, which is why our listing includes detailed photos and square footage so guests know exactly what to expect regarding the cozy size. Regarding your refund request: While you indicated you chose not to stay, our housekeeping staff confirmed the next morning that the room was occupied. Because the accommodation was utilized for the night, we were unable to process a refund. We wish you the best in your future travels.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Communication
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2025
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback