Located in Hope Town, this holiday home is on the beach. Abaco Marina and Marsh Harbour are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Garbanzo Beach and Tahiti Beach. Scuba diving and snorkelling offer great chances to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with cycling and ecotours nearby.
Dock and Dine at Man-o-War Marina - 196 min drive
Firefly Restaurant - 12 min walk
Frequently asked questions
Does Oceanfront Beauty 6 KING beds/6 baths! Big Pool and Volleyball Court In Front yd have a pool?
Yes, this property has an outdoor pool.
How much does it cost to stay at Oceanfront Beauty 6 KING beds/6 baths! Big Pool and Volleyball Court In Front yd?
As of 31 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Oceanfront Beauty 6 KING beds/6 baths! Big Pool and Volleyball Court In Front yd on 9 November 2026 start from NZ$13,599, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
Is Oceanfront Beauty 6 KING beds/6 baths! Big Pool and Volleyball Court In Front yd pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much is parking at Oceanfront Beauty 6 KING beds/6 baths! Big Pool and Volleyball Court In Front yd?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Oceanfront Beauty 6 KING beds/6 baths! Big Pool and Volleyball Court In Front yd?
Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Oceanfront Beauty 6 KING beds/6 baths! Big Pool and Volleyball Court In Front yd?
Checkout is at 8:30 AM.
Where is Oceanfront Beauty 6 KING beds/6 baths! Big Pool and Volleyball Court In Front yd located?
Nestled on the beach, this Hope Town holiday home is within 2 mi (3 km) of Garbanzo Beach, Tahiti Beach and Wyannie Malone Museum. Hope Town Lighthouse is 2.1 mi (3.4 km) away.
Reviews
9.8
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
The size of the house was perfect for our group. It was great that every bedroom had it's own bathroom. The location was also a plus. We loved being right on the ocean and having our own pool!
We had the most amazing stay at Southern Cross! The house is perfect - the pool & beach are unbelievable! The location is unreal. The house has everything you need. Communication with the host was great. We can’t wait to return!!!
Stayed 7 nights in Apr 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 26 April 2026
Martha, Thank you so much for the kind words. I am always incredibly thankful when a guest leaves us such a positive review. We're fortunate that as the Island has grown, Southern Cross's location makes it easy to get to All the "SPOTS"!
It was a pleasure hosting you and we’d love to welcome you back anytime.
***. If you're ever looking for a great lakefront getaway in the mountains of North Carolina, take a look at our lake front house on Lake Nantahala listing number VRBO Listing Number 2128645. :)
Thanks again for staying with us!
Mike Shields
This was the perfect set up for our party of 6 couples. Great location with easy access to everything on the island. Fully stocked house and excellent communication from management.
Stayed 7 nights in Mar 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 29 March 2026
Mary, So Kind of you and thank you for the Great review.. I hope you and your group can return to the Island and remind me of the Frequent renters program if YOU do! Thanks for your patience in getting the "SMART" thermostats to work properly!
MIke, our host, was an amazing communicator and made sure we knew all that we needed to about the house and our stay on Elbow Cay. He accommodated our party of 12 including my 10 month old grandson, which was a huge help. The highchair and pack and play were at the house when we arrived. We loved the layout of the open living room and kitchen because it allowed us all to be together in one room. The views of the ocean and sunrise were incredible! The dining room table sat 12, which was perfect for our evening meals together. We especially liked the location as it was close to Sea Spray Marina where we kept our boat and also close to town being right in the middle of the island. The best part was each couple had their own bathroom! I would highly recommend staying at Southern Cross! Thanks, Mike!
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 15 July 2026
Jennifer, What a pleasure to host you and your family and get to know you all better.. Thanks for your Kindness and for being our guests! Mike S
Thank you Ryan and I'm incredibly Happy that you enjoyed your stay.. I hope the new deck was ready to go and thanks for bring the Eye Hooks.
It's crazy how quickly these vacations come and go but I'm very glad you made the trip!
Keep us in Mind for the Future and I gave a great house on Lake Nantahala up in North Carolina that is terrific in the summer... 75" and the Lake is pristine.. Vrbo 2128645
We had the absolute best time staying in Southern Cross house! The kitchen had everything you could ever need and more, having a private bathroom for each bedroom is such a luxury , an extra fridge downstairs in so helpful and the location is perfect!!
A third stay at Southern Cross and another fabulous week in paradise.
Southern Cross is a fabulous property that we’ve had the pleasure of staying at 3 times now. Excellent location with a great pool and very comfortable living area. Can’t wait to come back.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 24 July 2023
Tami,
Great to see you this past summer..thanks for staying with me and I'm sorry we were booked in 2022...Bahamian Rhapsody is almost ready if you ever want to take a look. Thanks as always for our great review.. Mike Shields
We had a fantastic stay at Southern Cross. The layout of the house is fantastic. The view was amazing and so great to get back from a long day on the boat and get in the pool. The central location of the house made getting around the island so easy. The host and caretakers were very responsive with any questions.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 4 September 2024
LAURA,
THANKS you for Much for your stay and your KIND comments... I am always trying to get better and it's amazingly hard to keep the Ball moving forward in the Abacos but I never give up.
Southern Cross sis My baby and I had it but;t in 2014 but we always try to keep figuring out what we can do better!
If only the Bahamians knew how to run an Electric Company- Life would be EZ!! Thanks and come back.We hold the rates for past Guests... Thanks,
We were very impressed by owners quick response to questions and making sure we were all set for a great stay! We appreciated the team meeting us and transporting our luggage for us.
Caretaker was very responsive to our needs also!
Southern Cross was an amazing house! Mike was very easy to deal with. Always answered my questions in a timely manner. HIs staff on the island were so accommodating. Wonderful people! Would 100% stay at this house again!
Stayed 6 nights in Jan 2023
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Megan T.
23 April 2018
Fabulous home with an amazing view
Thank you for sharing your home with our families. Our vacation was wonderful. The house was perfect for our party of 11. The house is well stocked and nicely decorated. The views from the house are breath-taking. Thanks again. Best, Megan
Stayed 7 nights in Mar 2018
Response from VrboOwner on 24 July 2023
Thank you for your kind words - We appreciate the positive feedback
Archival
10/10 Excellent
Kathryn B.
4 July 2017
Beautiful home -- like something out of a magazine!
Beautiful home -- like something out of a magazine! But still very comfortable. We were only two couples and we were able to be together if we wanted or separate if we needed. And we loved being so close to the Abaco Inn. The food there is fantastic! We experienced no difficulties whatsoever and would go back again -- this time with a bigger group!
Stayed 7 nights in May 2017
Response from VrboOwner on 24 July 2023
We appreciate your positive review and look forward to your return visit to Southern Cross of Abacos
This is our second year staying at Southern Cross on Elbow Cay. It is absolutely perfect for a large group (12). The location, the amenities and THE VIEW. We can’t get enough. We survived a “not so perfect” crossing back to Florida and rebooked that night for June 2020.
Thank you Karen and Mike for such an outstanding vacation property.
~The Hamilton Family
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 24 July 2023
Hello Tami - We welcome you back for your third visit ! thank you for your great review and we look forward to your stay in 2020!
Our large group enjoyed our time in Elbow Cay at Southern Cross. The caretaker and property owner/assistant were beyond helpful in ensuring our stay was enjoyable. The property was in a great location for all of our needs. The oven had some issues, but the owner assured us he was working to correct them. During our stay, we discovered a shower leak. The caretaker immediately addressed the issue, but sadly it couldn’t be fixed during our stay. Thankfully, the property has ample bedrooms and showers, so we were just fine. Southern Cross is a great property for families or groups of friends!
Stayed 5 nights in Oct 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 7 March 2024
Hello Mamie,
Thank you for the review. The Shower leak has been solved.! (The water was dripping behind the handle when people shower.)
I put in a new Whirlpool Gas Stove. The "old" Stove lasted a year! Thank you GE!
We have added a New Large deck outside the Kitchen facing White Sound to the South! This will be a great gathering area and Grill area. the View is Perfect!
We had a fantastic week staying at Southern Cross! This beach front house is the perfect location. It is steps from Mackey’s an all around great spot with fresh baked bread and bakery items, gourmet coffee, as well as lunch and dinner take away items- and can’t forget ice cream! Walk or take the golf cart to Abaco Inn and Seaspray for drinks or lunch/dinner. Very short golf cart ride to Firefly or On Da Beach for drinks or meal. The kitchen is well stocked with all cooking essentials and it was nice to have a good supply of spices for your use. The beds were super comfy and it was terrific that each bedroom has its own bath. The home has 2 sets of washers and dryers, and 2 refrigerators which was great. Caroline, the house manager, was very responsive to every need or question. Fabulous stay- would highly recommend!
Stayed 7 nights in May 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 7 March 2024
HI Sabrina, Hello and thanks for your review. I am working on a few improvements to the Kitchen and I have added a new LARGE Deck facing White Sound where people can Grill outside the Kitchen area upstairs.
If there is any way to earn a 5 star review, I want to make sure I stay highly ranked.. Thanks Sabrina!
Yes. This place has a backup generator. The generator works. The automated cutover to generator did not. So long time with no lights, A/C, or water when commercial power fails. The guy eventually showed up to manually cutover.
We were so excited to be there. We go every year. Unfortunately there was quite a few problems the 1st three days we were there. The biggest was that there was no generator. We had to help family members find accommodation bc it was just too hot and with no electricity and water it was quite miserable. I’m super disappointed about this because of the amount you pay the generator should be checked and maintained at all times. Of course after they figured out how to keep the electricity on it was a great place to be.
The location is great, the beach is beautiful and beds were very comfy. I so wish we could’ve started off a lil better. Caroline was great also.
The house is in a great location but was a little disheveled. Cleaning supplies and tools were left out upon our arrival and the furniture was askew with cushions out of place on the sectional. There was sand that had been tracked by wet feet on the entry porch and steps.
The internet did not work and after we contacted the property manager the second time, her response was "it's out of my hands." We had a different house booked the second week of our stay which was just a few houses down the road and the internet worked perfectly there. Internet service shouldn't interfere with a beautiful vacation but, unfortunately, we did have some guests with us who needed it for work.
The sinks in several of the bathrooms did not drain.
The listing indicated that there was a "pack and play" for a child to sleep in and it wasn't there. We texted the property manager but she didn't respond to us.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 24 July 2023
Hello Doug
We strive to provide the best service and rental home on the island of Hopetown, I am sorry we fell short of your expectations .
We did have to address a repair after the last tenant checkout (which was that morning), that pushed your check in time a bit later than expected, we tried to accommodate you by allowing you to check in earlier then we were ready for.
I know the supplies were removed, and house was completely cleaned and finished up prior to our crew leaving . My caretaker personally inspected and assured me it was finished , although it was after your arrival check in. The reported delay was probably about hour, and she didn't feel that allowing you access prior to the cleaning being finished, would negatively affect your overall stay as you had indicated in your review .
The internet went down on Sat evening , there is no customer service on Sunday, the issue was resolved promptly on Monday, I believe by noon time. Unfortunately there was nothing my caretaker could have done to resolve it any more efficiently, as it was beyond her control. She did report it, and tried to resolve the internet issue to the best of her ability . I believe the internet was on with no issues for the rest of your stay .
The pack and play is in the closet at all times , we do have one in the home . My apologies for our caretaker not confirming your text , but when you communicated to her about the internet , she assumed you had located it as you had not mentioned it to her.
We were not aware the sinks did not drain properly , thank you for bringing that to our attention as this is the first time we were made aware of the situation .