Vacation Rental-Saranac Lake - vintage Adirondack cabin open Spring/Summer/Fall

Photo gallery for Vacation Rental-Saranac Lake - vintage Adirondack cabin open Spring/Summer/Fall

A wooden deck with a railing, a cabin with a window, and a sign that reads "Canoe".
A cozy cabin interior with a dining table, red chairs, a fireplace, and wooden walls.
A rustic cabin with a wooden deck, surrounded by lush greenery and a calm body of water.
A kitchen with a stove, sink, and window. There are utensils on the counter and a red cutting board.
A wooden cabin with a dock extending into a calm lake surrounded by dense trees.

Reviews

9.0 out of 10
Wonderful

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Dog-friendly
  • Barbecue
  • Refrigerator
  • Internet
  • Onsite parking available

Explore the area

View map
Saranac Lake, NY
  • Place, Lake Flower
    ‪11 min drive‬
  • Place, Bartok Cabin
    ‪12 min drive‬
  • Place, Saranac Laboratory Museum
    ‪14 min drive‬
  • Airport, Saranac Lake, NY (SLK-Adirondack Regional)
    ‪27 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

2 bedrooms (sleeps 5)

Bedroom 1

1 Double Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Double Bed

1 bathroom

Bathroom 1

Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Deck or patio
Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Saranac Lake

Located in Saranac Lake, this cabin is in a rural area and on the waterfront. Adirondack Artists Guild and Saranac Laboratory Museum are cultural highlights, and some of the area's activities can be experienced at Dewey Mountain Recreation Center and Mount Pisgah Ski Area. Looking to enjoy an event or a game while in town? See what's going on at Olympic Center, or consider a night out at Waterhole Music Lounge. Take in the nearby slopes with cross-country skiing and snowboarding, or try out other outdoor activities such as snowmobiling and sledging.
Map
Saranac Lake, NY

What's nearby

  • Lake Flower - 11 min drive - 7.3 km
  • Bartok Cabin - 12 min drive - 8.0 km
  • Saranac Laboratory Museum - 14 min drive - 9.4 km
  • Adirondack Carousel - 14 min drive - 9.4 km
  • Mount Pisgah Ski Area - 17 min drive - 12.3 km

Getting around

  • Saranac Lake, NY (SLK-Adirondack Regional) - 24 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Stewart's Shops - ‬12 min drive
  • ‪McDonald's - ‬15 min drive
  • ‪Nori's, Good Food Naturally - ‬12 min drive
  • ‪Saranac Lake Farmers Market - ‬12 min drive
  • ‪Grizle T's - ‬12 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Vacation Rental-Saranac Lake - vintage Adirondack cabin open Spring/Summer/Fall pet-friendly?

Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 1 total). Some restrictions may apply, so please contact the property for more details.

How much is parking at Vacation Rental-Saranac Lake - vintage Adirondack cabin open Spring/Summer/Fall?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Vacation Rental-Saranac Lake - vintage Adirondack cabin open Spring/Summer/Fall?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Vacation Rental-Saranac Lake - vintage Adirondack cabin open Spring/Summer/Fall?

Checkout is at 10:30 AM.

Where is Vacation Rental-Saranac Lake - vintage Adirondack cabin open Spring/Summer/Fall located?

Situated on the waterfront, this cabin is within 6 miles (10 km) of Dewey Mountain Recreation Center, Bartok Cabin and Waterhole Music Lounge. Adirondack Artists Guild and Saranac Laboratory Museum are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Reviews

9.0

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 13 out of 17 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 1 out of 17 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 17 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 2 out of 17 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 17 reviews

9.0/10

Cleanliness

9.8/10

Check-in

9.0/10

Communication

9.4/10

Location

8.8/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We had a great time in the rustic cabin. This place was so peaceful and we enjoyed every single day.
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Hiking Weekend

This was the perfect property! We hiked Emmons, Donaldson, Seward on the 4th of July. We spent the next day on the water fishing. Then hiked Seymour. Everything was clean and exactly what we were looking for in a cabin.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful as always for the last 4 years. Always a perfect ADK spot

Great property! Everything you need to unplug and enjoy the Adirondacks and Saranac Lake. Camp George has a newly built boat dock and wrap porch. Have brought our boat up for 2 years now. We hate to leave after a week here!
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 7 August 2021
Thanks for coming! And thanks for taking such good care of Camp George!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Fun Little Cabin

We had a great time, it was clean. We went during late July. It was hot overall, but the cabin was surrounded by trees, so it was pretty cool inside. Clean, had some games like dominos and puzzles. Literal water view. Would recommend if you want to get away. 10mins from the town, and no mobile signal at the cabin, so you're disconnected.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2023
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication
Disliked: Listing accuracy

Would not stay again

Mattresses were awful, no water the first day due to a pump repair. Unpleasant smell for the first 2 days, owner made aware so windows were opened and air freshners added but still persisted until the last day. Owner was pleasant but food items were moved from a table to a pantry cupboard without our permission and washed our dirty dishes which I guess was okay but weird. Felt like this was a little intrusive. Blankets or sleeping bags were needed but only sheets were noted. Small dock but a very pretty view if you bring chairs.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 5 September 2023
It was unfortunate for you (and all of us) to deal with a water issue for part of the day, but so lucky to have it repaired on a Sunday. Some things are out of our control. Sorry you had to start your stay in the midst of a repair. We are always happy to lend things you forgot, such as blankets, just ask! Mattresses are indisputable….some like hard, some like soft.
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Communication, listing accuracy

June 26-July 2nd

I emailed before booking to verify that our boat would be able to be docked outside the cabin; owner verified that our boat would be able to be docked. We launched our boat, drove to our dock... well as close as we could get to it (inboard/outboard). The water was maybe 2 ft deep with 2 ft of thick, gross, stinky muck with alot of vegetation and random large rocks. Owner offered to allow us to dock at her place & walk down to her house each time (this is not what we paid for & not what was communicated to us). I was so disappointed that we couldn't dock our boat or swim outside our cabin. Owner told us that we shouldn't run the water with dishes, should limit showers, not to run water when brushing our teeth, and to only flush for #2. Showering was torture too; the water was so cold. The cabins lighting does need an update. Gas lighting x3 (which you light with a lighter) with other electric lighting too. The cabin is advertised as sleeps 5 in (2) double beds and a pull out couch. The double "beds" are camper mattress which are about 3" thick and very uncomfortable. The length of the mattress accommodate someone less than 5'10" (tall individuals should pass). The couch is a "love seat" that pulls out and had beer caps in it (my son wouldn't even pull it out because it is so dirty). I am okay with cleaning up after my family as was advertised, but you would think that someone would do a deep clean after weekly rentals. If you like to lock your doors, you will not be locking anything up here. The doors latch with hooks and twigs. Be sure to bring a fan for each person; you will need it. The cabin is rustic and would be nice if you just wanted to fish and kayak. No campfires here and no room for corn hole. We traveled and trailered our boat alot because we didn't have a convenient place to dock our boat. Lake placid and Lake Clear were amazing. Downtown Saranac was very nice too.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 18 July 2021
We were expecting exactly this type of review from you! As the saying goes, you can please some of the people some of the time, all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all the people all the time! The exaggerations and mistruths need not a response.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

True getaway

Very cleanly, rustic, but exactly what you should be looking for if you’re trying to take a true getaway vacation, this is the place to be.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

3 days stay at Cochran cabins

We booked a 3-day stay, my teenage grandson are pet dog and myself. Everything was exactly as indicated in the previews. Very peaceful and a wonderful place to be kayaking. We would come back again
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2022
Archival

4/10 Poor

No Frills

To be 100% honest, the accommodations were not up to my standards. The cabin is very dark & dreary with very poor lighting & actually the lighting seemed dangerous. The windows don't open & there aren't any fans. On a hot day this would be unbearable. One of the mattresses were totally unusable with springs popping all over. There is a major septic issue so you're not expected to run water. This makes it difficult to cook. I wouldn't expect any housekeeping during the stay but I wouldn't expect to be the housekeeper when I left either. As far as the positives, it's a beautiful, tranquil area with excellent fishing. I'd like to state more positive feedback but I am a big fan of reading reviews & feel they should serve a purpose. To me, it's a great cabin for a couple of die hard fishermen or hunters that just need the cabin to lay their head at night.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2017
Response from VrboOwner on 21 March 2020
We are very disappointed you were not satisfied with your vintage, rustic housekeeping (which means you will clean up after yourself) cabin rental. Which is exactly as we advertise. To make up blatant mistruths about the cabin is not fair. Of course you can run the water. Of course there is an adequate septic system.Of course there is adequate, safe lighting. We have permits from the board of health for our facility and if we did not have adequate septic systems and potable water, safe lighting, we would be out of business. Again we are very surprised you were not happy in our clean, comfortable, rustic cabin.
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Secluded cabin

Had a great experience renting one of Marjorie's cabins (George) this past weekend. She was very welcoming and a great host. I would consider her cabin rustic, but had essentials including running water, stove and refrigerator/freezer. A+ all around. Saranac Lake is a great little town with endless outdoor opportunities within driving distance.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2017
Archival

8/10 Good

Quiet. Detached from cyberworld!

I attended school at Paul Smith's College in the late 80s and couldn't wait to get back to the area after being away for almost 30 years! Made several pass thrus over the years but have not stayed for any extended period of time. I was very excited to go ally show my family where I went to school and the great outdoors that surround. We picked a weekend that my college roommate and his family could meet with mine. Exciting times for sure. Cochran cabins helped make a great scenario come to life. Awesome setting. Great access by canoe to where ever you pretty much want to go and even let the little ones take the canoes without worry. Thanks
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2017
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Loved it

Really enjoyed our stay. Owners were very nice.
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Great place to stay.if you want quiet and cosy .wonderful couple that run the place .will be visit a

Great place clean and cozy and remote
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2016
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Relaxing, rustic getaway near many activities and attractions

Camp George is a very sweet, neat cabin. The screened porch is just heavenly and a lovely place to sit and watch the boats go by, as well as loons, ducks, geese and herons. My son enjoyed fishing from the dock every moment we weren't boating, mountain biking, hiking or exploring the nearby towns and attractions. I would recommend these cabins to anyone looking for a rustic, relaxing getaway.
Archival

10/10 Excellent

May 2016 Fishing Weekend

A friend and I rented Camp George for a weekend of fishing. We were upgraded to Camp Adele, as Camp George was not yet ready for the season. We had an absolutely wonderful stay. Our hosts were most hospitable and accomadating. The housing facilities were most sufficient. We were a few weeks early for a fishing bonanza, but several were caught. We had a most enjoyable time, and will definitely stay with our hosts again.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016
Response from VrboOwner on 21 March 2020
Bill - thank you so much for choosing our neck of the woods for your Adirondack fishing adventure. We do hope you'll return to 'catch the big one' soon.
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Great location

I had rented this cabin for my fathers retirement gift and had a great time. The cabin was perfect for what we were looking for. Screened in front porch was perfect for playing cards at night. The owner is very friendly and accomadating. Several kayaks and boats are there for rental. The location was quiet and relaxing and a great location to fish or kayak as the cabin is located in a short channel connecting two lakes. there is a beautiful view of the mountain tops and sunrise on one of the lakes. The leaves were just barely starting to change but could imagine how nice it would look in about 2 weeks. Fishing: We caught decent size large mouth bass and pike but word has it there are some big ones. Also about a 20 minute drive to a couple golf courses. All in all a good experience and would recommend it to anyone looking to get away or who want an outdoorsy trip.
Response from VrboOwner on 21 March 2020
Michael - thank you so much for visiting the Adirondacks and choosing our cabin. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we do hope you'll return again soon.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2024
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback