Located in Howell, this holiday home is on a lake. Mt Brighton Ski Area and Howell's MainStreet Winery are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Brighton State Recreation Area and Island Lake State Recreation Area. Jet skiing and kayaking offer great chances to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with hiking/biking trails and cycling nearby.
Legacy Center Sports Complex - 18 min drive - 19.1 km
University of Michigan - 32 min drive - 57.2 km
Michigan Stadium - 36 min drive - 56.7 km
Getting around
Ann Arbor Station - 30 min drive
Ann Arbor, MI (ARB-Ann Arbor Municipal) - 43 min drive
Restaurants
McDonald's - 9 min drive
Panera Bread - 10 min drive
Culver's - 9 min drive
Taco Bell - 9 min drive
Buffalo Wild Wings - 9 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Vacation at the Lake pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Vacation at the Lake?
As of 29 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Vacation at the Lake on 5 February 2027 start from NZ$800, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Vacation at the Lake?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Vacation at the Lake?
Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Vacation at the Lake?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Vacation at the Lake located?
Situated on a lake, this holiday home is steps from West Crooked Lake and 1.7 mi (2.7 km) from Brighton State Recreation Area. Bishop Lake and East Crooked Lake are also within 6 miles (10 km).
Reviews
9.6
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Beautiful lakefront location. All bedrooms upstairs. Full bath with shower upstairs. Bathroom downstairs with tub. Great host. Would love to have had time to enjoyed the kayaks.
We have stayed at the Howell Lake House for a couple years now and always enjoyed ourselves. Kids & Grandkids had fun swimming and fishing off the dock. The house is plenty big enough for our entire family to all come and enjoy a good time at the lake.
Very nice, spacious, pet free house right on the lake. Great parking available. Fairly quiet, private area. Everything you need for a relaxing getaway. We had a great time! Host was kind and helpful! Three places to sit-2 tables indoors and one outdoors. He needs to update his description a bit-it lists paddleboard and there was not one available, but there were kayaks which we enjoyed using, and life jackets. A couple minor things-bedroom door won't shut well, toilet paper holder broken, and outdoor lightbulb not working. Otherwise we had a wonderful time and I would recommend this to others!
This home was a fantastic place to stay! I had a question for the host and they replied very quickly. This is a wonderful place for kids of all ages. The younger kids played in the water and the yard was big enough to throw a frisby. Would definitely recommend!
Stayed 2 nights in May 2026
Verified review
4/10 Poor
mike b.
9 September 2026
Liked: Check-in
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
So sad to see a property get rundown and beat up. Owner seems to be treating it like a cash cow and isn't putting money back into it . Subpar cabinetry and furniture, especially considering the neighborhood and the cost. Deferred maintenance is evidenced everywhere. Missing or broken toilet roll holders, cracked dirty kitchen drop ceiling, one of 2 chairs on balcony missing seat entirely, front door latch about to fall off, dock had no cleats for boat lines, umbrella over table on deck unattached, nonfunctioning tv in the MBR, and the ceiling fan was broken. The kicker was that the garage was not usable for parking as advertised. But the low rating largely goes for the disabled water heater that 8 guests had to contend with Saturday, Sunday and Monday! I sense a bulldozer is imminent.
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 25 September 2026
Hi, Mike, thank you for your review. I am sorry that the water heater failed over the Labor Day weekend. The earliest I could have a repair was Tuesday after the holiday Monday. The water heater was repaired that day. I gave you a discount for the inconvenience. I also offered a full refund if you didn't want to stay after the hot water went out. You decided to stay even without hot water.
I rarely get bad reviews, but I understand that you were disappointed when the water heater failed. However, from that point forward, I thought it was unprofessional for you to send me angry face emojis instead of communicating with words. You also refused to communicate about the discount I offered. After giving you the discount, you said nothing to me but made a complaint with VRBO that the 20% discount per night was not enough.
Your comments about the condition of the house are highly exaggerated and the bulldozer comment is just dramatic. The pictures and descriptions from the listing speak for themselves and so do the years of positive reviews. We did a first floor renovation earlier this year with all new flooring, paint and decor.
In any event, thank you for staying with us.
It was a great stay! Lovely area to stay in! Gorgeous view on the lake. Only thing to note is one shower. The other bathroom has a bath. With 7 people tying to get ready for graduations.. one shower was tricky.
Great location on West Crooked. Spacious house with plenty of room for our group. We enjoyed the lake and fire pit. Easy communication with owner and we would definitely stay here again.
This home is even better than the pictures make it look! It is so spacious and plenty of space to hang out inside and out! Really neat to have the lake and kayaks. Was a lot of fun will stay again:)
The lake house was big and roomy for my whole family to stay and enjoy time together. The sandy beach area was great for swimming and a nice dock for fishing.
This place was even better than we'd anticipated, lots of space, plenty of linens and towels, very clean.It was a perfect location for everything we wanted to do and we are definitely planning to stay here again.
Besides the great weather for snowboarding, the home and space were immaculate. There was ample space for the 7 of us and the views of the lake were quite a highlight when waking up!! Will definitely be looking to stay here again when back in the area.