Entire home

#5 Adirondack FamilyFriendly Waterfront on LoonLake. Boating,fishing,swimming!

Photo gallery for #5 Adirondack FamilyFriendly Waterfront on LoonLake. Boating,fishing,swimming!

A lakeside view with a fire pit, two Adirondack chairs, and a sandy beach.
A cozy living room with a blue sofa, a small table, and a red ottoman.
A room with wooden walls, a bed with a patterned bedspread, a nightstand with a lamp, and a window with red curtains.
A cozy room with a wood-burning stove, a green armchair, and a stone wall.
A cabin with a red roof, surrounded by trees and a gravel driveway.

Reviews

8.8 out of 10
Excellent

Highlights

  • Family fun awaits
    Top-rated for families.
  • Arcade/game room
    A rare find - fun for all ages with on-site arcade/game room.
  • A quiet escape
    Guests like the location for the peace and quiet.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Close to Loon Lake

Popular amenities

  • Balcony or patio
  • On beach
  • Arcade/game room
  • Barbecue
  • Internet access
  • Pet-friendly

Explore the area

View map
Chestertown, NY
  • Place, Loon Lake
    ‪2 min walk‬
  • Place, Gore Mountain Ski Resort
    ‪20 min drive‬
  • Place, Lake George
    ‪27 min drive‬
  • Airport, Glens Falls, NY (GFL-Floyd Bennett Memorial)
    ‪47 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

4 bedrooms (sleeps 6)

Left Bedroom

2 Single Beds

Livingroom

1 Queen Sofa Bed

Right Bedroom

1 Queen Bed

Screen Porch

1 Single Bed

1 bathroom

Bathroom 1

Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Chestertown

Located in Chestertown, this cottage is in a rural area and on the beach. Tannery Pond Community Center and Strand Theater are cultural highlights, and some of the area's attractions include Revolution Rail Co. and North Creek Depot Museum. Enjoy the area's slopes with cross-country skiing and skiing, and don't miss out on the sledging and ice skating.
Map
Chestertown, NY

What's nearby

  • Loon Lake - 2 min walk - 0.2 km
  • Friends Lake - 9 min drive - 11.1 km
  • Gore Mountain Ski Resort - 20 min drive - 29.8 km
  • Lake George - 27 min drive - 33.1 km
  • Great Escape - 39 min drive - 54.9 km

Getting around

  • Glens Falls, NY (GFL-Floyd Bennett Memorial) - 45 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Stewart's Shops - ‬8 min drive
  • ‪Stewart's Shops - ‬15 min drive
  • ‪Black Bear Restaurant - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Kelly's Good Eats - ‬10 min drive
  • ‪Main Street Ice Cream Parlor - ‬7 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is #5 Adirondack FamilyFriendly Waterfront on LoonLake. Boating,fishing,swimming! pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property. Some restrictions may apply, so please contact the property for more details.

How much does it cost to stay at #5 Adirondack FamilyFriendly Waterfront on LoonLake. Boating,fishing,swimming! ?

As of 28 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at #5 Adirondack FamilyFriendly Waterfront on LoonLake. Boating,fishing,swimming! on 26 June 2027 start from NZ$1,009, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at #5 Adirondack FamilyFriendly Waterfront on LoonLake. Boating,fishing,swimming! ?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at #5 Adirondack FamilyFriendly Waterfront on LoonLake. Boating,fishing,swimming! ?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at #5 Adirondack FamilyFriendly Waterfront on LoonLake. Boating,fishing,swimming! ?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is #5 Adirondack FamilyFriendly Waterfront on LoonLake. Boating,fishing,swimming! located?

Nestled on the beach, this Chestertown cottage is steps from Loon Lake and 3 mi (4.9 km) from Loon Lake Beach. Hudson River and Schroon Lake are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Reviews

8.8

Excellent

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 8 out of 12 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 2 out of 12 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 12 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 12 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 12 reviews

9.6/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Check-in

9.0/10

Communication

9.4/10

Location

9.0/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Very clean, rustic cabin. Beautiful location. Owners are very accommodating.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 23 October 2026
Hi Gerard, Thank you for the kind review! We're so glad you enjoyed our clean, rustic cabin and the beautiful location. We appreciate your feedback and hope to host you again in the future!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
If your looking for a weekend get away or family time to unplug, it's a good place. Cabin is clean, water views are great. They do have a beach or there's a state park down ty he road . Hostess was very polite.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 16 September 2026
Thank you for taking the time to share your review! We’re so glad you enjoyed the clean cottage, beautiful views of Loon Lake, and the opportunity to unplug and enjoy some family time. We’re lucky to have both our own little beach here at Birchwood and town park options just down the road, so there’s always a way to get out and enjoy a little lake time and the great outdoors.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Stay at Birchwood

The cottage was very clean and we enjoyed our stay would recommend
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 17 October 2024
Holly, thank you for choosing Birchwood to be your vacation stopping place! We hope you enjoyed the surrounding area and beautiful fall weather! We'd love to have you again, next time you're looking for a getaway!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Awesome area

Beautiful area peaceful the place was nice and clean and cozy me and my family had a marvelous time we loved it. Would recommend to friends family and other thank you so much for your service.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 22 June 2024
Stephanie, thank you for choosing to stay at Birchwood Cottages, we are so glad you had a wonderful time with your family and we'd love to have you back!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location

Great weekend

We had a great weekend get away much thanks to Margo for accommodating us on short notice. Enjoyed the cabin , the evening fires , the grounds were well kept , got some great photos kayaking with the lions . Very nice stay would definitely recommend and return .
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 21 March 2020
Michael, thank you so much for the great review. We are so glad we were able to accommodate you on short notice, and that you enjoyed your quiet time at the lake! We appreciate the care you took in our property as well. We'd love to have you back if you're ever looking for another get away! Thanks again!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

SPECTACULAR weekend getaway

Spectacular weekend AMAZING weather INCREDIBLE views our cabin was perfect and our host's we're so attentive, patient and so friendly. OH and best of all the Loon greeted us apon our arrival. Thank you Patrick and Margo we'll definately be back
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 20 October 2022
Anne -- thank you so much for choosing Birchwood, we are so glad that you all had a wonderful time here enjoying the Adirondacks at a beautiful time of year, and that you got to hear the Loon(s) before they headed south! We'd love to have you back!!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Can’t wait to go back!

We had a great week at Birchwood Cottages!! The cottage itself was clean and tidy. We enjoyed the kayaks, SUP boards, beach toys, etc that they have available for everyone to use. We were there during a major storm, and lost power. We immediately were checked on and assured that the generator was on so we would at least have water. Hosts were quick to respond to any questions we had. My youngest is already asking for us to book for next summer.
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 13 August 2024
Cheri -- we are so glad you and your family were able to enjoy this little piece of paradise, even despite the crazy storm! Thank you for your kind words and being a wonderful guest! We'd love to have you again next time you are looking for a getaway!
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Communication

Not recommended

Very disappointing experience at this cottage. The AC didn’t work. The rooms got so hot & stuffy, we had 2 sleepless nights. The wi-fi was extremely weak. Basic things like hand wash soap, dishwashing liquid, kitchen towels, which are usually provided in most vacation homes were not provided. We had to rush to the store to get them the night we arrived. We had initially booked our stay for 2 nights, and later extended it by 1 more day. The owner, Patrick had agreed to that. However, he had never mentioned when the extra payment was due, and as such we assumed we would settle all dues while checking out. On the third day, when we were out, he called and started yelling about the money and demanded we need to pack and leave immediately! We cancelled all our plans for the day, left the place but paid anyway for the third night before leaving. Overall, our experience was very poor and we wouldn’t recommend this vacation home to others.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 18 September 2024
Raj, Thank you for your review of Birchwood Cottages. We regret that your experience did not meet your expectations and would like to address some points. We do not offer air conditioning, as noted in our listing. We do provide functional box fans for each bedroom. Wi-Fi can be inconsistent due to factors such as network issues in our rural location. We have a quality mesh network on our property and are at the mercy of Spectrum. We clearly state in our documentation that consumable items are not provided, local stores are available if needed. Regarding your extended stay, we adjusted your reservation as requested and notified you via VRBO for the additional payment, required before check-in, per our policy. Despite reminders and follow-ups, we did not receive the payment nor a response from you. On the day of your original checkout, we found your pet in the unit and continued to await payment. We had to assume you were either staying without payment or had forgotten. Clear communication and adherence to our policies would have resolved this smoothly. We regret that your stay did not align with your needs and hope you have better experiences in future travels
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Home away from home

This is my third year with my friends I really enjoy the serenity the cleanliness and over all the beauty of the place. We can't wait can't wait till next summer. And the caretakers are just amazing
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 4 October 2021
Connrod, we're so glad you came back this year and as always - thank you for being a wonderful guest and your kind words! Looking forward to having you next year!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

B

B
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 21 March 2020
Micheal - thank you so much for choosing Birchwood for your Adirondack weekend getaway! We hope you enjoyed yourself and would love to have you back!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Waterfront paridise!

The owners are just the coolest people in the Adirondacks.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2018
Response from VrboOwner on 21 March 2020
Aww Thanks!
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Birchwood Cottages Weekend Stay

The property is a part of a group of cottages, this particular cottage has wonderful lake views and is less than a one minute walk to the beach across the street. There are very few public beaches at this lake so having a private beach for these properties is very nice. The cottage was small but a perfect size for the group of four we had. There are many outdoor amenities they offer such as firewood for a fire pit right outside the cottage, kayaks, floats and beach chairs. We did not like how you had to provide your own sheets and towels, this is very uncommon for a home rental. We also found an open tupperware container in the refrigerator with food still in it among other food left in the refrigerator and freezer which led us to believe the cottage wasn't cleaned very well. Since we had to pay a cleaning fee prior to our stay, we did not really appreciate having to provide our own sheets and towels and having food left from someone else. There was also a disconnection between the property management company and the VRBO website. I was made to sign a contract without being told until after I had already paid for the visit. There were also multiple discrepancies about details on the website and contract, which made me nervous to sign the contract.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 21 March 2020
Sarah - thank you for staying at our property, in our Fireside cottage! We are glad you enjoyed the views and amenities offered at Birchwood Cottages. It is typical in the Adirondacks, for a cottage rental property like ours (very few left operational) to not provide linens to everyone. We are non hospitality cottages, and listed as such (linens not provided) in the VRBO ad. Contract signatures are required after you book because HomeAway/VRBO does not allow a separate contract within their booking process. We would only ever ask you to sign the contract once you've agreed to stay with us - but we have adjusted our verbiage within our ad to be more clear with this additional step. We sincerely apologize for the cleaning mishap. Food left in the refrigerator and have already addressed it directly with our cleaning company -- we strive to prep these cottages appropriately for our incoming guests, and that is something that should never have been missed! We appreciate your review, and are glad you got some time away at the lake!
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback