Entire home

Indiana Vacation Rental Near Lake Michigan

Photo gallery for Indiana Vacation Rental Near Lake Michigan

A living room with a black sofa, a dining table with chairs, a TV mounted on a pink wall, and wooden flooring.
A kitchen with white cabinets, a black refrigerator, a stove, and a window with a view of trees.
A small, two-story house with a red and white exterior, a wooden staircase, and a deck.
A room with a wooden floor, a desk with a sign, a window, and a door leading to a bathroom.
A room with a blue couch, a patterned rug, a wooden door, a pink wall, and a flat-screen TV mounted on the wall.

Reviews

6.8 out of 10

Highlights

  • Room to spread out
    Enjoy a spacious layout that gives everyone more room to relax.

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Internet access
  • Pet-friendly
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Onsite parking available

Explore the area

View map
Valparaiso, IN
  • Place, Flint Lake
    ‪13 min walk‬
  • Place, Valparaiso University
    ‪9 min drive‬
  • Place, Indiana Dunes National Park
    ‪16 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

2 bedrooms (sleeps 4)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Double Bed

1 bathroom

Full Bathroom

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Separate dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Valparaiso

Valparaiso is home to this cottage. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Indiana Dunes State Park and Indiana Dunes National Park. Looking to enjoy an event or a game while in town? See what's happening at Athletics-Recreation Center or Brown Field. Take the opportunity to explore the area for water adventures such as power boating.
Map
Valparaiso, IN

What's nearby

  • Flint Lake - 13 min walk - 1.1 km
  • Valparaiso University - 9 min drive - 12.3 km
  • Indiana Dunes National Park - 16 min drive - 18.2 km
  • Indiana Dunes State Park - 18 min drive - 23.0 km
  • Four Winds Casino New Buffalo - 37 min drive - 66.0 km

Getting around

  • Portage - Ogden Dunes Train to Chicago - 20 min drive
  • Chicago Midway Airport (MDW) - 85 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Family Express - ‬8 min drive
  • ‪McDonald's - ‬8 min drive
  • ‪Long John Silver's - ‬8 min drive
  • ‪Starbucks - ‬8 min drive
  • ‪Family Express Valpo Burlington Beach - ‬5 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Indiana Vacation Rental Near Lake Michigan pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much is parking at Indiana Vacation Rental Near Lake Michigan?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Indiana Vacation Rental Near Lake Michigan?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Indiana Vacation Rental Near Lake Michigan?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Indiana Vacation Rental Near Lake Michigan located?

Situated in Valparaiso, this cottage is 0.7 mi (1.1 km) from Flint Lake and within 6 miles (10 km) of Porter Regional Hospital and Northwest Health - Valparaiso. Chicago Street Theatre and Porter County Museum are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Reviews

6.8
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 2 out of 5 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 0 out of 5 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 5 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 2 out of 5 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 5 reviews

6.0/10

Cleanliness

8.8/10

Check-in

8.8/10

Communication

6.8/10

Location

6.8/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

July 4th Vacation 2024

Loved the cabin feel of the home! My family enjoyed our stay. The area was very nice. The grocery store, beaches, and attractions were a short drive.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wedding

We so appreciated the early check in that was approved and ease of communication. The housekeeper was great too.Being 80 years of age the front steps were a little hard but we did it.Thanks for the wonderful stay and service.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2025
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness
Inside was clean. Exterior spaces were not swept, and there was leaf debris on both the front and back porches. A previous user had a dog, and there was a lot of dog feces off the back deck in the yard. The place smelled very musty. The water might be well, it also smelled. I bought water to drink. The ice maker was not working, so I made my own ice. No ice tray on site - I did pack an ice tray just in case!
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2025
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, communication
Disliked: Cleanliness, location

Not our favorite VRBO

The cleanliness of the home was definitely lacking. We travel a great deal all over the US and always opt for home/flat rentals. Typically they are spotless and comfortable. This one was far from clean. The stove was dirty, rbe floors looked like they hadn't been swept, the window panes had debris/dirt. The coffee pot looked like it was dirty, but perhaps it was just stained. The ice/water feature of the refrigerator wasn't operational which was very annoying. We also check that ice and water are available before booking. We could clearly see the refrigerator offered both. Additionally, the fridge didn't look very clean. But again, maybe it was just an older model. The dining room table seats two, we squeezed our 7 year old grandson in with a folding chair. The "couch" seats two. There was no place for our grandson to sit tho we clearly identified 3 people in our booking. The master bedroom was spacious and the bed was ok. More pillows and blankets would have been nice tho. The second bedroom was also spacious enough, but the bed was so hard we actually thought they forgot to put the actual mattress on top of the box spring. By the second morning, our grandson (again he is 7 and without any physical ailments) couldn't even bend over to get dressed or put his shoes on. They were great about communicating, And they did let us have an early checking. It was also very accommodating for our dog. Overall tho, because of the cleanliness, comfort level of the second bed, lack of seating, extra blankets and pillows and general location, we wouldn't book again.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2023
From a partner site

6/10 Okay

Could use improvement

We were pleased when we were approved for an early check-in since we had been driving 11 hours. Upon check-in inspection of the home we noticed the home wasn't very clean and it was questionable if the sheets were even clean the beds weren't made the sheets were thrown on the bed as of a child made his bed in a hurry to leave for school. there was pet hair on the floor in the bathroom in the kitchen around the home paw prints the kitchen had spills on the cabinets and floor looks like coffee. stainless steel appliances had fingerprints and grime all over the microwave hadn't been cleaned out or wiped out the microwave light did not work there was food left in the refrigerator from previous guests. Dishes in the cabinets we're supposedly clean but we're filthy I had to rewash all of the dishes before using. The house is only equipped with one fry pan multiple pots that were filthy the one fry pan was a s*** show attempting to cook breakfast with one fry pan extremely frustrating especially when this fry pan just burns everything because it's crap. The home provided a washer and dryer in the basement however no laundry soap was provided the home provided two rolls of toilet paper for four people and a 4-day stay the home provided dish soap in the kitchen and an empty hand soap in the bathroom the water from the refrigerator filtered water dispenser smelt and tasted like sewage filter needed to be replaced. Either the home or the neighbor's home has water constantly flowing down into the driveway that made the driveway and mud pit. The deck is poorly lite for night coming and going. The lower level of steps are spaced further then normal and not lite causing us to trip. Overall the home gets a 5 out of 10
Response from VrboOwner on 10 April 2024
Hi Krissy, we're sorry to hear you were not fully satisfied with your stay. After reading your feedback, the homeowner wanted to share the following: We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness oversights during your stay. We take the cleanliness of our property very seriously, and we're sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. You requested early check-in one hour before your arrival, which was 4 hours early. While we were happy to accommodate your request on this occasion, it did limit the time our cleaning crew had to prepare the home. Thanks for leaving your review.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback