Located in Penrhyndeudraeth, this holiday home is in a rural area and in the mountains. Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railways and Gelert's Grave are local landmarks, and some of the area's activities can be experienced at Aberglaslyn Pass and Mermaid Spa. Y Ganolfan Arts Centre and Glaslyn Leisure Centre are also worth visiting. Spend some time exploring the area's activities, including wildlife walks and birdwatching.
Is Traditional 18th century farmhouse on the slopes of a mountain pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows pets (limit 1 total).
How much does it cost to stay at Traditional 18th century farmhouse on the slopes of a mountain?
As of 1 November 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Traditional 18th century farmhouse on the slopes of a mountain on 10 April 2027 start from NZ$1,490, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Traditional 18th century farmhouse on the slopes of a mountain?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Traditional 18th century farmhouse on the slopes of a mountain?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Traditional 18th century farmhouse on the slopes of a mountain?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Traditional 18th century farmhouse on the slopes of a mountain located?
Situated in the mountains, this holiday home is within 9 miles (15 km) of Ceunant Llennyrch National Nature Reserve, Aberglaslyn Pass and Eryri National Park. Portmeirion Gardens and Portmeirion Sands are also within 9 miles (15 km).
Reviews
7.4
Good
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Was lovely location out the way. Loved exploring around and some amazing view's!! The drive way to the property needed some attention, needed a light outside for the dark early night's.
Could do with a bit more of a deeper clean (undersofas/table etc) bit overall we thoroughly enjoyed it and would stay again.
Thankyou
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2023
Verified review
4/10 Poor
alie D.
19 August 2025
Liked: Check-in, communication
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
The view from the house was fantastic, the surroundings were beautiful and the WiFi was good. Unfortunately, that was about it. The beds had not been changed and smelled of sweat and urine. The garden was full of sheep droppings and the sheep roam around the garden, making it unpleasant to sit outside on the rather messy terrace. The house had not been cleaned for some time and was not well maintained, both inside and outside. The shower did not work properly (sometimes cold, sometimes hot). The fireplace does not work well without opening the windows and is not intended for heating. The whole house smelled of smoke when we arrived. The only frying pan broke within a few days. The house is not well equipped and if you are careful with your car, this is not recommended. On the way to the cottage, the car hits the bottom of the narrow path, which leaves scratches on your car due to the thistles. According to the owner, it is a house for 9 people, which would be possible if half of them stayed in a separate room that does not smell very fresh. If the price had been half of the current asking price, you could not expect much, but for this amount, this house gets 2 stars only for the view.
Stayed 9 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 30 May 2026
I am horrified to hear of your experience. If you had contacted us at any point during your stay we would immediately have sent our caretaker up to address these issues; we had no phone calls, texts, emails or any kind of message. The beds are of course changed for each stay (we paid Peter £120 when he cleaned for your visit) but it is possible that some of the linen was a bit elderly, in which case we could have directed you to all the brand new linen in the airing cupboard or asked Peter to remake them for you. The beds have John Lewis pocket-sprung mattresses and we regularly swop all the mattress covers and pillow shams to ensure cleanliness. I can only imagine that some child the previous week had had an accident, nobody had told us, and the mattress cover should have been washed as well as the sheets. Regarding the fire, yes, of course you need to open a window or door (whichever side the wind blows) whilst lighting it, the instructions explain this. It is a traditional 18th century fireplace, made from tons of stone, and it will not pull the smoke up until it has warmed slightly. In the days when it heated the house, it would have burned coal and been in use 24/7, with the chimney always hot. That is not practical nowadays. For heating there is an oil-fired range (oil included) that runs the central heating. The fireplace is for atmosphere, not heating. A period property in this kind of location requires continual maintenance; in the past 3 years we have replaced the kitchen, shower, carpets, front and back doors, workshop windows, exterior drainage, surfaced the track, removed trees with ash die-back, removed a bees nest inside a wall and rendered both chimneys; I am sorry if it did not meet expectations. I have taken a Luton van along the drive on many occasions; there should be no difficulty for a normal car, if you drive carefully; again, I could have asked Peter to trim the hedge if there were shoots sticking out. There are four bedrooms (two double-bed rooms, a twin room, a double single room) so we can properly accommodate 9 people.