Chalet

Chugiak Forest Home—Family & Pet Friendly

Photo gallery for Chugiak Forest Home—Family & Pet Friendly

A kitchen with wooden cabinets, a granite countertop, a refrigerator, a microwave, a stove, and a sink.
A wooden staircase leading to a porch with a grill and a pair of boots.
A kitchen with wooden cabinets, a ceiling fan, pendant lights, a stove, and a door with glass panels.
A bedroom with a wooden bed, a nightstand, a dresser, and a television.
A wooden staircase leading to a red door, with a white railing and steps.

Reviews

9.2 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Ski access
    A rare find - hit the slopes directly from your doorstep!
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.

Popular amenities

  • Ski-in/ski-out access
  • Patio
  • Cots available
  • Barbecue
  • Pet-friendly
  • Refrigerator

Explore the area

View map
Chugiak, AK
  • Place, Loretta French Park
    ‪10 min walk‬
  • Place, University of Alaska - Anchorage
    ‪23 min drive‬
  • Place, Alaska Zoo
    ‪39 min drive‬
  • Airport, Anchorage, AK (ANC-Ted Stevens Anchorage Intl.)
    ‪41 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

2 bedrooms (sleeps 4)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 3

1 Double Bed

Bedroom 4

1 Crib

1 bathroom

Bathroom 1

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Separate dining area
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Chugiak

Located in Chugiak, this chalet is in a rural area and in the mountains. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Chugach State Park and Eagle and Symphony Lakes Trailhead, while Knik Museum and Musher's Hall of Fame and Iditarod Trail Headquarters are cultural highlights. Enjoy the area's slopes with cross-country skiing, and don't miss out on the sledging and ice skating.
Map
Chugiak, AK

What's nearby

  • Loretta French Park - 10 min walk - 0.9 km
  • University of Alaska - Anchorage - 23 min drive - 33.9 km
  • Dena'ina Civic and Convention Center - 28 min drive - 37.2 km
  • Port of Anchorage - 29 min drive - 38.1 km
  • Alaska Zoo - 39 min drive - 48.8 km

Getting around

  • Anchorage Alaska Railroad Depot - 26 min drive
  • Anchorage, AK (MRI-Merrill Field) - 22 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Jersey Mikes - ‬8 min drive
  • ‪McDonald's - ‬8 min drive
  • ‪Fried Rice Express - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Starbucks - ‬8 min drive
  • ‪Bella Vista Pizzeria - ‬4 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Chugiak Forest Home—Family & Pet Friendly pet-friendly?

Yes, this chalet allows cats and dogs (limit 2 total) with a maximum weight of up to 453 kg per pet.

How much does it cost to stay at Chugiak Forest Home—Family & Pet Friendly?

As of 1 November 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Chugiak Forest Home—Family & Pet Friendly on 3 February 2027 start from NZ$653, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Chugiak Forest Home—Family & Pet Friendly?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Chugiak Forest Home—Family & Pet Friendly?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Chugiak Forest Home—Family & Pet Friendly?

Checkout is at noon.

Where is Chugiak Forest Home—Family & Pet Friendly located?

Located in the mountains, this slopeside Chugiak chalet offers ski-in/ski-out access within 2 miles (3 km) of Loretta French Park, Chugach State Park and Peter's Creek Park. Upper Fire Lake and Thunderbird Falls are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Reviews

9.2

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 16 out of 23 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 4 out of 23 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 2 out of 23 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 23 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 23 reviews

9.0/10

Cleanliness

9.4/10

Check-in

9.2/10

Communication

8.6/10

Location

9.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Was very good with communication and amazing place to stay at would stay there again.
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Was nice and convenient my sons live right downtown Eagle River. I was able to go see the grandkids within a couple of minutes.
Stayed 6 nights in Sep 2026
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The place was very clean, comfy and homey. There were a few minor issues with the TV but that didn't effect our stay. Get good directions as we passed by the place several times when looking for it. All in all it was a very fine place to rent to visit AK family. Thank you.
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 26 September 2026
Thanks for your review. We appreciate letting us know about the tv issues which we corrected right away. Also I have done my best to get the listing address corrected and it still doesn’t want to work. Even with VRBO letting me reset the pin drop doesn’t seem to fix it. I tell people to call me if they have an issue finding it or I can be on the phone to guide them in.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
loved the location
Stayed 11 nights in Sep 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Host was very communicative, place was clean and quiet for me and my dogs to relax
Stayed 10 nights in Sep 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
It was a wonderful place for an escape from reality :)
Stayed 5 nights in Feb 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
As described. Worked well for my 2 granddaughters and me. No one slept in the loft, it was unusually hot weather. Fans worked well for the rest of the house. We would definitely stay again.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy

Great location

We enjoyed our stay, great location to Anchorage or Wasilla. JD was quick to respond when we had an issue with the lock on the door.
Stayed 9 nights in Apr 2024
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Very clean and well-equipped house. Ideal for families and people traveling with pets. Nice and warm, thanks to floor heating and pellet stove. Great beds with super comfortable matresses!
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Comfy and convenient

Host communication was great. This was a convenient location between Anchorage and Palmer. Will stay here again.
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great experience all around!

Adorable little house in an easy to find location. Everything was very clean and well taken care of with all of the necessities available. The host was very accommodating and quick to respond to our messages. Would definitely stay again next time we are in the area. Plenty of room to bring the whole family.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Clean and quiet

Very easy to get on the highway to Anchorage or north to Denali. This VRBO has everything you need for an Alaska vacation.
Stayed 12 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 9 August 2023
Much appreciated glad you had an excellent stay!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Nice place

Property manager was very responsive when I wanted to add an extra night and when the battery went out in the smoke detector
Stayed 4 nights in May 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great AK retreat

Property was exactly as listed - nice retreat! Very cozy, comfy beds/furniture. We snuggled in and enjoyed games and utilized the kitchen for meals at ‘home’. Excellent plow/shovel upkeep with a few inches of snow overnight as well ! Would return !
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Convenient home base for our vacation

Cozy and modern inside with pretty much everything we needed. I appreciated being able to do laundry as we stayed 8 days. We drove north as far as Willow and south as far as Cooper Landing, but Eagle River had what we needed for theost part. The neighboring property was a little scary, but there were no problems.
Stayed 8 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Nice place

We had a great stay, the house was easy to find, clean, and we loved that we could have our dog with us. We did notice that while the bedding did seem to be washed, there was quite a bit of pet hair stuck in the sheets that hadn’t come out when laundered. Overall, it was a great stay and we’d definitely stay again.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2024
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location

Nice inside but.

Nice clean space. A bit confusing to find. Owner was responsive to out needs. The only real issue was the Internet kept going out witch the tv requires for viewing. We visited during the winter.
Stayed 8 nights in Dec 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 17 January 2025
Hi thanks for your review. Unfortunately I am unable to send a correct maps location as VRBO blocks that and the internet was due to a bad modem which we replaced. I do warn everyone before they arrive that maps is not accurate and to please call me before you arrive to receive verbal instructions. I will continue to work with. VRBO to find a solution for this. As I stated the internet issue has been resolved. Thanks for bringing it forward.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Check-in, communication
We had an issue with opening the door. Wrong entry code.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 29 July 2025
Thank you for your feedback. I'm truly sorry for the inconvenience caused by the initial entry code mix-up. As soon as you contacted me, I resolved the issue immediately to ensure you could access the home without further delay. I always strive to provide a seamless check-in experience and will be double-verifying all access codes moving forward to prevent this from happening again. I’m glad we could get you in quickly, and I hope the rest of your stay was comfortable. For future guests: if anything ever comes up, I’m always just a call or message away — quick to respond and ready to help.
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in
Disliked: Communication, location, listing accuracy

Shanby

Tall grass just used weedeater not mowed back porch falling off missing screens/window, grass tracked in house. Neighbors up all night doing who knows what outside. Deep mud hole on drive off highway.
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 16 October 2022
I usual take a minute and review what the guest is talking about before responding. This a forest home which means there is no yard. We Alaskans prefer not to destroy our surroundings. What this guest didn't realize (due to only being there a week) is we had three solid straight months of rain. Literally everyday. A weed wacker is all we could use as a mower would have bogged down due to the wetness of the grass and surroundings. We had a small window of four hours (due to rain) before they arrived to get in and knock down the three months of wild growth. Due to the rain we were unable to get some of the painting done we had hoped for as well. Neither front or back porch is "falling off" as described. Needing some touching up yes. Brooms and vacuum are available and due to the natural surroundings, vegetation might track in. Taking your shoes off at the door usually prevents that from happening. If the neighbors were being unruly or loud I could have easily dealt with that. Unfortunately I am only finding out about it now and with no details I am not sure if they were simply "living their lives" or being a problem. The water, not mud puddle at the end of the driveway is due to the ongoing rain which the guest had to endure most of the time while staying. I live 20 min away and the only call I got was about pellets for the pellets stove (secondary heat it has infloor heating) and an air mattress. Before I could tell her anything she promptly hung up on me. We keep the air mattress stashed so it doesn't get pulled out and used as a bouncing bear gym. The window screen I have on order and being in Alaska nothing comes quick. I am sorry you had such a terrible stay in the future maybe look at the photos that are listed and read the description. You can also google earth any future location to be sure it's the way you want it. Just to add, I spent a good amount of time on the messenger and on the phone with this guest before they arrived. So the guest knew she could contact me directly and had my number already. Also knew I was easy to talk to and would have responded quickly. I tell all my guests to review the property when they arrive and let me know if anything is missing we will get it to them right away. This guest took upon themselves to not let me know of the issues so I could correct them. I encourage everyone to please read listings and ask questions. The hosts are not trolls living under bridges or in caves. We are there to handle issues quickly.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Clean, good location, and very kind and professional host

Stayed at this location for 2 weeks during our transition throughout mainland Alaska. The owner/host (J.D) was extremely professional throughout the process, quick to respond to inquiries, and even alerted us when there was a bear in the area. The home was well stocked with everyday essentials. Highly recommend for anyone traveling through the Anchorage/ Matsu Valley area.
Stayed 16 nights in Apr 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 27 May 2022
Much appreciated very glad to help
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Stayed 18 nights in Apr 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Stayed 7 nights in Feb 2026
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2024
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback