The Salty Seahorse! 4x4 beach, private dock, hot tub, pool, Horses. Pet-Friendly

Photo gallery for The Salty Seahorse! 4x4 beach, private dock, hot tub, pool, Horses. Pet-Friendly

A hot tub with water flowing out, surrounded by wooden beams and a tree.
A spacious living area with a sofa, a chair, a coffee table, and a kitchen in the background.
A view through a window with metal bars, overlooking a park with trees and a body of water.
A living room with a sofa, a coffee table, a TV, and a kitchen area with a counter and cabinets.
A large tree with a wide canopy and roots extending into a pond.

Reviews

8.6 out of 10
Excellent

Highlights

  • Wildlife at your doorstep
    Guests love spotting wildlife right on the property grounds.
  • On the beach
    A rare beachfront property in the area - enjoy direct access to the beach and sea.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.

Popular amenities

  • On beach
  • Balcony
  • Spa pool on site
  • Private pool
  • Dog-friendly
  • Barbecue

Explore the area

View map
Corolla, NC
  • Place, Currituck National Wildlife Refuge
    ‪9 min walk‬
  • Place, Carova Beach
    ‪5 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 18)

Downstairs Bedroom1

2 Queen Bunk Beds and 1 Queen Bed

Living Room 1

1 Double Sofa Bed

Master Bedroom

1 Queen Bed

Upstairs Bedroom2

1 Single Bunk Bed and 1 Queen Bed

3 bathrooms

Downstairs Bathroom

Towels provided · Bathtub or shower · Toilet · Shower only

Master Bathroom

Towels provided · Bathtub or shower · Toilet · Jetted bathtub

Upstairs Bathroom

Towels provided · Bathtub or shower · Toilet · Jetted bathtub

Spaces

Deck or patio
Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Balcony
Separate dining area
Number of living rooms
Outdoor play area
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Corolla

Located in Corolla, this holiday home is on the beach. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Corolla Beach and Currituck National Wildlife Refuge, while Wild Horse Museum and Outer Banks Center for Wildlife Education are cultural highlights. Looking to get your feet wet? Jet skiing, kayaking and waterskiing adventures can be found near the property.
Map
Corolla, NC

What's nearby

  • Currituck National Wildlife Refuge - 9 min walk - 0.8 km
  • Carova Beach - 5 min drive - 0.9 km

Restaurants

  • ‪Chewbacca - ‬34 min drive
  • ‪hunters feast - ‬207 min drive
  • ‪farfrumworkin - ‬16 min drive
  • ‪Second Thoughts Beach Redoubt - ‬18 min drive
  • ‪Second Thoughts Beach Redoubt - ‬18 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Does The Salty Seahorse! 4x4 beach, private dock, hot tub, pool, Horses. Pet-Friendly have a pool?

Yes, this property has an outdoor pool.

How much does it cost to stay at The Salty Seahorse! 4x4 beach, private dock, hot tub, pool, Horses. Pet-Friendly?

As of 27 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at The Salty Seahorse! 4x4 beach, private dock, hot tub, pool, Horses. Pet-Friendly on 18 January 2027 start from NZ$2,645, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

Is The Salty Seahorse! 4x4 beach, private dock, hot tub, pool, Horses. Pet-Friendly pet-friendly?

Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 2 total) with a maximum weight of up to 23 kg per pet.

How much is parking at The Salty Seahorse! 4x4 beach, private dock, hot tub, pool, Horses. Pet-Friendly?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at The Salty Seahorse! 4x4 beach, private dock, hot tub, pool, Horses. Pet-Friendly?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at The Salty Seahorse! 4x4 beach, private dock, hot tub, pool, Horses. Pet-Friendly?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is The Salty Seahorse! 4x4 beach, private dock, hot tub, pool, Horses. Pet-Friendly located?

Situated on the beach, this holiday home is 0.3 mi (0.4 km) from Currituck National Wildlife Refuge and within 3 miles (5 km) of Carova Beach and False Cape State Park. Carova Beach and Estuarine Nature Walk are also within 9 miles (15 km).

Reviews

8.6

Excellent

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 12 out of 18 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 3 out of 18 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 0 out of 18 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 18 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 2 out of 18 reviews

8.4/10

Cleanliness

9.4/10

Check-in

9.6/10

Communication

8.8/10

Location

8.8/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, communication
Disliked: Location, listing accuracy
We were anticipating a private dock for our use. There was a busted up pontoon boat tied up the whole week. We received a 350 trash fee because a few things in the cans weren’t in a bag. The location was nice and the inside was nice. The hot tub was directly under lights that we couldn’t cut off and the kids were destroyed by mosquitoes. The beach was beautiful!! We did see horses too!!
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 10 August 2026
Thank you for sharing your feedback. While we are glad you enjoyed the property, the beautiful beach, and seeing the Corolla wild horses, we would like to clarify several points in your review for the benefit of future guests. The private dock is provided as an amenity, but it is not advertised as being exclusively reserved for guest use or guaranteed to be free of watercraft. The pontoon boat referenced in your review was secured at the far end of the dock and did not prevent access to the property or surrounding waterfront area. Regarding the $350 trash fee, this was not charged simply because “a few things” were not placed in bags. Our rental agreement clearly requires all household trash to be properly bagged before being placed in the exterior trash cans. This requirement is necessary because the property is located in a remote 4x4 area where trash collection and wildlife management are significant concerns. The fee is disclosed in the rental terms that guests agree to prior to booking and is applied when the property is left in violation of those requirements. As for the hot tub lighting and mosquitoes, the exterior lighting is intentionally provided for guest safety and visibility around the pool and hot tub area. That said, the lights can be turned off via the light switch. Mosquitoes and other insects are an unavoidable part of staying in a coastal, wooded environment, particularly during the warmer months. While we understand that this may have been uncomfortable, it is not an indication of an issue with the property. We are pleased that you found the home itself nice and enjoyed the beach and wild horses, which are among the unique features that make staying on the 4x4 beach in Corolla such a special experience. We take guest feedback seriously; however, we also believe reviews should accurately represent the property, its advertised amenities, and the rental policies that guests agree to before arrival. We encourage future guests to carefully review the listing and rental agreement so there are no misunderstandings regarding the dock, trash requirements, outdoor environment, or other property policies.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, listing accuracy
We had a great experience. Great place to bring your dogs.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 4 August 2025
Thank you so much for the good review! We really appreciate it! We are happy to hear you had a great vacation and we hope to have you book with us again!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We stayed here during Labor day weekend and we had a blast! This property has great location. The host provided all we need during our stay and communication with Andrew (host) was amazing! We definitely recommend this property for your next vacation.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 22 January 2026
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We’re thrilled to hear you had such a great time over Labor Day weekend and enjoyed the location. I’m glad everything you needed was provided and that communication made your stay even smoother. Your recommendation truly means a lot, and we’d love to host you again for your next vacation! Thank you for booking and being great guests!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Family of 4 getaway

Great location in 44 area. Relaxing and calm place to enjoy beach days!
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 4 August 2025
Hi Jennifer, Thank you for the 5 star review! :) We are happy to hear you had an amazing vacation! We really appreciate it and hope to have you book with us again!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We celebrated our daughter's 18th birthday and graduation, and it was a wonderful experience to share with family in the perfect location for the occasion.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Winter getaway for me and my wife. Very quiet this time of year. We saw ponies every day and good birdwatching. The home was as advertised, and we needed to run the heater every day, which worked very well. The hot tub was very nice, but we didn’t use the pool. We recommend the short drive up to False Cape State Park for good hiking and birding.
Stayed 5 nights in Jan 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 22 January 2026
Thank you so much for your kind review! We’re thrilled to hear you and your wife enjoyed a peaceful winter getaway and were able to experience the ponies and birdwatching—those are truly special this time of year. We’re glad the home met your expectations and that the heater and hot tub helped keep you comfortable during your stay. False Cape State Park is a fantastic recommendation, and we’re happy you had the chance to enjoy the hiking and wildlife there. We’d love to welcome you back for another relaxing stay in the future! Thank you for booking and being great guests!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Amazing place

My family had the best time at the Salty Seahorse. The house was terrific. The location was awesome.. just minutes from the beach. My kids had a blast in the private pool. The 4x4 beach was not crowded at all and we saw horses everyday. I highly recommend The Salty Seahorse for family vacations.
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 4 June 2025
Thank you very much for the great review! We really appreciate it! :) Hope to have you book with us again!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Best vacation at beach yet!

Love love loved this place it was a great get away, the kids loved every minute of it and saw horses almost everyday even a baby one! Caught some fish from the dock and made lasting memories! Loved driving on the beach and not having to haul everything to it by hand! Would def recommend this for someone who doesn’t like the crowds and loves a real getaway to nature and beach! Kids can’t wait to go back!
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 4 June 2025
Thank you very much for the great review! We really appreciate it! :) Hope to have you book with us again!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Best of both worlds

If you are looking to get away from the rat race this is the place. We had an amazing adventure from the 4x4 beach ride in, the fishing in the canal where we caught a HUGE catfish, kayaking, pool, hot tub, beaches & WILD HORSES all around. Be sure to come prepared with a full tank of gas & groceries. We absolutely had a blast. Thanks!
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 7 July 2024
Thank you so much for the kind words! We really appreciate it. :) We are happy you had a great vacation and thank you for booking with us! You were great guests and we hope to have you book again with us in the future!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great location and plenty of room for a large group

All-in-all, a great time was had. The space and number of beds worked extremely well and was a highlight. Beautiful remote location. Loved seeing the wild horses from the house. The cleanliness did impact our experience as there were dirty dishes in the dishwasher upon arrival, one of the bedrooms had sand in the sheets, pool was a little low on water, and the blackstone was a little rusted and had left over food residue. When brought to hosts attention, he was quick to respond to try to ally concerns saying cleaning service was provided and cleaners sent pictures of their work completed.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect place to celebrate a graduation

We booked The Salty Seahorse as a celebration for my youngest son graduating from high school. In all, there were 8 of use plus two dogs. The house worked well for us because my son and his friends had the entire lower level to spread out and enjoy. We didn’t use the hot tub as the weather was warm but the pool was refreshing. The wild horses visited us several time along with other wildlife such as blue heron and turtles. There were some housekeeping issues but Andrew was quick to respond and communication was excellent. The neighborhood is quiet and the beach and ocean amazing.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 4 August 2025
Thank you very much for the 5 star review! We really appreciate it! I am happy you and your family had an amazing vacation! Also Congratulations on your son graduating high school! We hope to have you book with us again :) Thank you!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Property was easy to get into. Andrew is great to deal with. I forgot my last payment and he texted me to remind me and I was able to pay and not loose my reservation. On key thing, although the listing says 4x4 it was easy for us to overlook the fact that there was an unpaved road on the beach that was required to get to the home. Thank goodness we had 4x4. Couple other things, the rule book in the home mentioned outside access to water for rinsing sand from underneath vehicles, but the outside water wasn’t working. The internet connection mentioned in the book with password, wasn’t working. The network connection listed wasn’t available as listed in the book. Additionally it was mentioned to clean up dog poop or you’ll be charged. We cleaned up so much dog poop that was definitely not from our 17lb Boston terrier. I love this property but there should be more info in the listing.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2026
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Location
Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
This home lists large hot tub as one of its main amenities. I booked a stay during the winter for that reason. I don't even consider stays without a hot tub at the beach in the winter. During our 8 day stay the hot tub never functioned. However, the host didn't let us know until we had already arrived at the home and then he continued to say it would be ready for us while we were still there, up until the night before we left.The night we arrived I flipped on the light switch to enter the home and the ceiling fan on the porch immediately began shredding glass across the porch (see attached pictures). It continued to shred glass until there was none left on the light cover. I immediately messaged the host. He apologized and said he would send someone to fix it but he did not. I had to write him again 2 days later to get him to send a maintenance person to fix the hazard. I asked for 3 days refund because of the hot tub and the host refused. He offered me three free days in the summer but I had already explained I am a single mom and full-time student and cannot travel there in the summer. I simply requested a PARTIAL refund due to his false claim that we would have a hot tub during our 8 day stay in his home. I would never trust this VRBO host again. Nor would I recommend anyone stay here. He was dishonest and unfair.
Broken fan in bedroom
Ceiling fan in entryway
Fan was missing parts when we arrived
Stayed 7 nights in Dec 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 22 January 2026
Thank you for your feedback. We take guest safety and satisfaction seriously, and we would like to clarify several points in this review that do not accurately reflect the events of this stay. Regarding the hot tub: prior to the guest’s arrival, we informed them that the hot tub was experiencing an unexpected mechanical issue. This was communicated as soon as the issue was confirmed, not withheld intentionally. While we actively worked with our service provider throughout the stay and provided ongoing updates, the repair timeline ultimately extended beyond our control. The repair required a special-order part, which was ordered as soon as the mechanical issue was identified. I even paid an additional $150 for expedited shipping, to repair the hot tub as quickly as possible. At no point did we guarantee functionality by a specific date once the issue was identified. Concerning the porch ceiling fan: the glass globe shattered due to an unexpected internal defect when the switch was turned on. The glass globe was not broken prior to the guest’s arrival. The guest notified us immediately, and we acknowledged the issue the same evening. During the conversation that evening, the guest stated “It’s not a big deal, the lights that go around the screened in porch work just fine and are beautiful”. A maintenance visit was scheduled as soon as a technician was available. The repair was completed promptly once access was possible, and the area was safe and secured in the interim. As for compensation, we did not refuse to offer a resolution. While a partial refund was requested, we instead offered a goodwill accommodation of three complimentary nights to be used anytime during the 2026 year for the small temporary amenity outage. This offer was declined due to personal scheduling constraints, which we understand, but it does not constitute unfairness or dishonesty on our part. We regret that this guest’s expectations were not met and that the situation was frustrating. However, we stand by our communication, responsiveness, and good-faith efforts to resolve all issues appropriately. We encourage future guests to review our long history of positive reviews, which reflect our commitment to transparency, safety, and guest care.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Beautiful property! So relaxing!!!
Stayed 9 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great location! Just a few minute drive to the beach.
Stayed 8 nights in Jun 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Overall this was a great property great location. The canal was neat to go explore and check out the osprey nests. Close enough to the beach but far enough away for privacy. The hot tub was nice to relax in. Communication with the host was great. We had a few minor issues they addressed very promptly. Highly recommend.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2026
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Communication
Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Stayed 4 nights in Apr 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 4 June 2025
Thank you very much for the great review! We really appreciate it! :) Hope to have you book with us again!
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback