Located in Taos, this holiday home is in a rural area and in the mountains. La Hacienda del los Martinez and KTAOS Solar Center are cultural highlights, and some of the area's attractions include Taos Plaza Theater and Arts Center and Twirl Toystore and Playspace. Travelling with kids? Consider Taos Center for the Arts and Kakawa Chocolate House. Enjoy the area's slopes with cross-country skiing, snowboarding and skiing, and don't miss out on the ice skating.
La Hacienda del los Martinez - 11 min drive - 8.2 km
Taos Historic Museums - 14 min drive - 9.0 km
Taos Plaza - 14 min drive - 9.3 km
Taos Plaza Theater and Arts Center - 14 min drive - 9.3 km
Kit Carson Park - 15 min drive - 10.1 km
Getting around
Taos, NM (TSM-Taos Regional) - 16 min drive
Restaurants
Smith's Fuel Center - 15 min drive
Starbucks - 15 min drive
Whataburger - 15 min drive
Elevation Coffee - 14 min drive
Mantes Chow Cart - 16 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is StayatShala: Hot tub, Theater, 360 Views, 2 acres pet-friendly?
Yes, pets are allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at StayatShala: Hot tub, Theater, 360 Views, 2 acres?
As of 30 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at StayatShala: Hot tub, Theater, 360 Views, 2 acres on 31 October 2026 start from NZ$1,204, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at StayatShala: Hot tub, Theater, 360 Views, 2 acres?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at StayatShala: Hot tub, Theater, 360 Views, 2 acres?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at StayatShala: Hot tub, Theater, 360 Views, 2 acres?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is StayatShala: Hot tub, Theater, 360 Views, 2 acres located?
Located in the mountains, this family-friendly holiday home is within 6 mi (10 km) of La Hacienda del los Martinez, KTAOS Solar Center, and Millicent Rogers Museum. Taos Historic Museums and Historic Ledoux Street are also within 6 miles (10 km).
Reviews
9.2
Wonderful
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
We had a great time at this fantastic property! We loved the hot tub under the stars, the theater room, the comfortable beds, and the fun decor. Highly recommend!
Advertisement says they have kerig coffee bought coffee it didnt work. Also, kitchen sink would not turn on. Finally got it working. Sent email never heard back. The house is lovely just someThings need fixing. Enjoyed the view and hot tub.
This was an absolutely amazing property and experience. The solitude and privacy of the property was exactly what we were looking for. The quiet, starlit skies and clean home was the perfect getaway. Thank you!
We had the best stay at Shala! It is just outside of town (about a 10 minute drive) and very peaceful. Host was incredibly responsive. The house is comfortable, with every thoughtful detail considered. The quiet location meant wonderful stargazing and relaxing hot tub time. Highly recommend for couples or small families. We hope to be back!
Great property overall and very clean. Hot tub and other amenities worked fine and we enjoyed our stay overall. Do note, the property states on their listing that they have Air Conditioning at the property, but that is incorrect and in the check-in information, it is clearly stated that air conditioning is not available.
This home was just the right size for two couples looking for a weekend getaway. It’s well appointed with everything you need. (The theatre room was a bonus.) Also, it’s on a very large lot, so you certainly feel away from it all. Bottom line, it’s a gorgeous little home only 12 min from the downtown area. We’ll certainly go back.
Great house! Feels bigger inside. No a/c wasn't a problem because we were gone all day and opened windows at night with ceiling and super strong floor fans in each room. The view was spectacular and we loved sitting out in the morning and evening watching the wildlife and sunset. It was nice being out from town but still close enough that it wasn't a big deal getting anywhere.
Our stay at the house was very enjoyable! We have two young boys and they absolutely flipped when they saw the movie room. We enjoyed watching Marvel movies at night while we explored Taos during the day. The house was just the right size for a family of four. Our boys also loved the Hot tub. I’m sure we’ll stay here again.
Hot tub was so great after a day of skiing. Hosts were responsive to any questions we had. We enjoyed our stay. The WiFi in the game room was spotty a few days we were there but over all a great stay. Our hotspot on our phone fixed that problem. Maybe a booster would help. With more reliable service.
Stayed 6 nights in Feb 2025
Verified review
2/10 Terrible
Jennifer S.
28 September 2023
Liked: Check-in, listing accuracy
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication
Disappointed
Got there around 5 to check in, which was easy, the place hadn’t been cleaned since the last guest were there. A kitchen drawer was open with mouse droppings in it. We had been on the road all afternoon with 2 dogs. Had to get a hotel. Requested a full refund since their part of the agreement wasn’t fulfilled. Place was ready the next day but we were not going to totally pack up again and move since we only had a few vacation days. Only got refunded for on night.
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 13 October 2023
We apologized for the delay as the cleaners were running behind. The house was ready within two hours of you informing us.
We are not sure why you decided to not check-in for a 4-day stay because of a 2-hour cleaning delay, which we apologized for, and the house being available and ready for the rest of your 4-day stay.
We provided a refund of the first night for this inconvenience, despite only a 2-hour delay.
We have stayed at many VRBO properties and have never had a poor experience until this one. This home had great reviews, which is why it was so disappointing when it failed to meet even basic expectations.Future guests should be prepared to bring their own paper towels, wash rags, countertop wipes, trash bags, hand soap, hangers, and even a lighter if you plan to use the fireplace. For a week-long stay, we were left with only one spare trash bag, a very small kitchen trash can, and no trash bags at all for the bathroom. There were no wash rags, no paper towels, and only one hand towel provided. It’s unclear how guests are expected to maintain cleanliness under these conditions.The coffee maker was missing key parts, making it unusable, so we were unable to make coffee. The furniture throughout the home felt cheap and worn, including a broken stool and a comforter with a hole in it. Only one TV in the entire house worked, and there was no welcome book or instructions provided for the home or amenities.Several major appliances were undersized for a property intended for longer stays, including a mini fridge, mini dishwasher, mini trash can, and mini washer and dryer. If you plan on staying more than one night, these are significant inconveniences. There was also no water hose available to fill the hot tub.One of the advertised highlights, the movie theater, did not work during our stay. Another major issue was the outdoor space: the backyard was covered in dog poop