Welcome to The Cabin on Pine Lake! Lakefront home on Pine Lake with a private boat dock, direct lake access, firepit and beautiful water views. Family-friendly amenities make this an easy, relaxing getaway for anyone looking to enjoy lake life.
La Porte
Welcome to The Cabin on Pine Lake! Lakefront home on Pine Lake with a private boat dock, direct lake access, firepit and beautiful water views. Family-friendly amenities make this an easy, relaxing getaway for anyone looking to enjoy lake life.
Located in Chesterton, this holiday home is in the city centre and near the beach. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Indiana Dunes National Park and Lake Michigan. Travelling with kids? Consider Beverly Shores Depot Museum and Art Gallery and Center for the Arts. Discover the area's water adventures with kayaking and power boating nearby, or enjoy the great outdoors with ecotours and mountain biking.
Indiana Dunes Visitor Center - 7 min drive - 6.3 km
Indiana Dunes National Park - 7 min drive - 7.0 km
Indiana Dunes State Park - 8 min drive - 8.0 km
Getting around
Portage - Ogden Dunes Train to Chicago - 14 min drive
Restaurants
McDonald's - 4 min drive
Family Express Chesterton - 20 min walk
Starbucks - 4 min drive
Dairy Queen - 4 min drive
Taco Bell - 4 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Roomy Retreat–Family&Friends|2 King Beds|Game Room | Valpo University | Dunes pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 3 total) with a maximum weight of up to 9 kg per pet.
How much does it cost to stay at Roomy Retreat–Family&Friends|2 King Beds|Game Room | Valpo University | Dunes?
As of 30 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Roomy Retreat–Family&Friends|2 King Beds|Game Room | Valpo University | Dunes on 25 October 2027 start from NZ$2,727, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Roomy Retreat–Family&Friends|2 King Beds|Game Room | Valpo University | Dunes?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Roomy Retreat–Family&Friends|2 King Beds|Game Room | Valpo University | Dunes?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Roomy Retreat–Family&Friends|2 King Beds|Game Room | Valpo University | Dunes?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Roomy Retreat–Family&Friends|2 King Beds|Game Room | Valpo University | Dunes located?
This family-friendly Chesterton holiday home is located near the beach, within 1 mi (2 km) of Lustron House and Chesterton Art Center. Indiana Dunes National Park is 3.1 mi (5 km) away.
Reviews
9.2
Wonderful
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Very roomy accommodations that sleep a lot of people. Communication with the host was good and checking in and checkout was easy.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 28 August 2026
Thank you for the great review! We're glad Roomy Retreat had all the space your group needed and that check-in and check-out were smooth. We'd love to earn that 5th star on your next visit — hope to see you again soon! — Eddi & the Sauve Stays Team
I really enjoyed my stay even though I did not venture out but the house was like a dreamy oasis.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 10 November 2025
Thank you so much for your kind words! I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the home to be a relaxing escape. You’re always welcome back anytime you’d like another peaceful getaway!
We had a great stay! The house was big enough to hold at one point for our stay 12 adults, 1 infant, 1 kid, and 2 dogs, and we still had a bit more room. Eddi and her team were great to communicate with when we reached out with questions.
Stayed 5 nights in Nov 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 30 December 2025
Thank you so much for the great review! I’m really glad the home had plenty of space for your entire group and that everyone — including the kids and dogs — was comfortable. I appreciate your kind words about the communication as well. It was a pleasure hosting you and your group, and you’re welcome back anytime!
The house was very clean, accommodated a large crew, and the host was very responsive. The overall stay was exceptional, and we will use again in the future.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 22 August 2024
Thanks Alpine for a five star review and good words. We would love to host you back again.
We have stayed here a few times. We enjoy the amount of space, and the host is always responsive and easy to work with. We look forward to staying in the future.
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 4 February 2025
That's awesome to hear! Repeat guests like you make hosting so rewarding. Looking forward to having you back again in the future! 😊🏡
Beautiful property. close to shopping and several Beaches.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 7 July 2025
We’re so glad you enjoyed the property and its convenient location near shops and several beautiful beaches. We noticed you rated us 4 stars—if there’s anything we could’ve done to make your stay a full 5-star experience, we’d really appreciate the feedback. It helps us improve and continue providing great stays for future guests. Hope to host you again soon!
The property was wonderfull and perferct for our get together. The furniture (couches and chairs) were very uncomfortable.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 10 November 2025
Thank you for sharing your feedback! I’m really glad to hear the property worked well for your get-together. I appreciate you letting me know about the furniture comfort — I’ll definitely look into improving that for future guests. It was great hosting you, and I’d be happy to welcome you back anytime!
We chose this property due to the amount of beds it had and its proximity to Valparaiso University. It was the perfect size for our group (9-12 adults) and had a well stocked kitchen.
The location was perfect for our trip, and our children absolutely loved it! Eddi was always available and went above and beyond to make sure our needs were met! The home was a great place to eat, shower, chill, and have fun in the evenings after spending our days hiking at the Dunes and hanging at the beach. Would recommend!
The house has so much space! It was the perfect place for our extended family to connect & visit. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything needed. Thank you so much for the bottle of local wine! Checkin was easy, communication with management was quick & considerate. Close to Lake Michigan & local shops and restaurants. We hope to visit again.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 15 August 2025
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! I’m so glad the home’s space, fully stocked kitchen, and location made your family gathering enjoyable. It was a pleasure sharing a taste of the local wine with you, and I’m happy to hear check-in and communication were smooth. We’d be delighted to host you again anytime!
Eddie was a great host! Easy and great communication even check on us in the middle of our stay! This house has everything you could ever want/need for a large gathering and only 10 minutes from Indiana Dunes! We loved our time here and were shocked on how large the space was! Overall great experience and would definitely book again!
Stayed 3 nights in May 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 28 May 2024
Thanks Sydney for the 5 star review. We would like to host you again. You have kept the place clean.
We were back in our childhood hometown and were able to share this spacious home with all of our children grandchildren and extended family. The home is beautiful and the booking and communication with Eddi was excellent. Thanks again, Eddi!
Stayed 6 nights in May 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 4 June 2025
Thank you so much! It means a lot to hear that the home could bring your whole family together in your hometown. I’m truly glad you had a memorable stay and that everything—from booking to communication—went smoothly. You’re welcome back anytime!
The house worked well for a group of family members ranging from 7 to 80. Everything was very clean. The kitchen was very well stocked with every gadget we needed. Having coffee and tea provided was very nice.
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 4 February 2025
It sounds like you had a great experience at the house! It's always a bonus when a place is clean, well-stocked, and provides little touches like coffee and tea. Did you have a chance to cook any big meals together in that kitchen?
The house was so cozy and enough room for 16 . Kitchen was roomy and had everything we needed to cook our Friendsgiving menu. Kids loved bunk bed room and kept busy downstairs with the games . House was nicely decorated!
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 4 February 2025
That sounds like a perfect Friendsgiving getaway! So glad the house had everything you needed for a great stay. Hope to host you all again next year! 🍂🦃✨
This house was very comfortable. Needs a couple updates on the outside stuff, but looks like product has been purchased to do that. It was still a very nice home to stay in. The owners were super responsive to any issues that I did experience. Very happy with the accomodations and would feel comfortable, recommending it to others with a large group.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 7 July 2025
I'm glad to hear you found the home comfortable and enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you noticing the improvements in progress—your feedback helps us continue enhancing the guest experience. It was a pleasure hosting you, and I’m grateful for your recommendation. You’re welcome back anytime, especially with a large group!
Overall stay was amazing and very accommodating for the amount of people we had . It fit us all comfortably. Location was perfect. Very close to beach and park and local stores. The host was very accessible and accommodating to any issues and requests we had . Beds were comfortable and rooms were spacious. I feel like the floors could have been a little cleaner upon arrival, some linen was rolled up in closets so we were unsure if they were clean ? Very minor things overall would recommend and stay again .
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 5 September 2025
Thank you for your thoughtful feedback! I’m so glad the home’s space, location, and comfort worked well for your group and that communication was smooth. I also appreciate your notes on the floors and linens — I’ll share this with our cleaning team to make sure it’s improved for future guests. We’d be happy to host you again anytime!
Decent place, but was surprised by property manager mowing on Saturday night around 6-7pm with only an hour notice.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 15 August 2025
Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry the timing of the lawn maintenance wasn’t ideal for you. Our lawn care team services multiple properties, so scheduling can sometimes be tricky, especially in the summer when daylight lasts longer. We do our best to provide notice when possible and keep the property well-maintained for guests. I appreciate you sharing your perspective and will keep your comments in mind for future scheduling.
The house was nice and clean. Everything was provided to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We just had one issue - the kitchen outlets were not working except for one by the sink but we were able to work around it. We’re not sure what happened because we couldn’t reset the GFCI. The last renter may have tripped the breaker but all in all, it was a great stay! Thank you, Eddi! Until our next Bible Study retreat!
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 9 September 2024
Thanks Sarah and the team for the 5 star review. You have kept the place clean and we would love to host you back again.
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Maria Y.
15 June 2025
Liked: Check-in, communication
Disliked: Cleanliness
Needs cleaned
We booked it because it slept the number of people well but the floors were so dirty that our feet were black on the bottoms of we walked bare foot. Screened in back porch was poorly kept- broken door and windows without glass or screens and just dirty everywhere! . “Lock” for the sliding patio door was also just a piece of wood that didn’t fit well and really did not secure the house when “locked” Liked the location for what we wanted to do but the remodel of this place was done very cheapAnd it shows everywhere in the house.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 16 June 2025
Thank you for your feedback. I sincerely apologize that the place didn’t meet expectations upon arrival. As I had mentioned earlier, the previous guests unfortunately left the home in poor condition, and despite our best efforts to turn it around quickly, some impact remained. We’re taking steps to ensure this doesn’t happen again and appreciate your understanding.