Located in Au Sable Forks, this holiday home is near a water park and on a lake. Historic Jay Covered Bridge and Oldham Theater are local landmarks, and the area's natural beauty can be seen at Hurricane Mountain Wilderness and Ausable River. Tahawus Cultural Center and Santa's Workshop are also worth visiting. Take in the nearby slopes with cross-country skiing and snowboarding, or try out other outdoor activities such as snowmobiling and sledging.
Ausable Forks Free Library - 13 min drive - 8.5 km
Jay Town Hall - 13 min drive - 8.5 km
Historic Jay Covered Bridge - 14 min drive - 8.6 km
Getting around
Port Kent Station - 40 min drive
Lake Placid, NY (LKP) - 40 min drive
Restaurants
The Fan House - 24 min drive
Grand Restaurant - 13 min drive
Kedai Penang Setiabudi One
Pig Roast - 10 min drive
Mad River Pizza - 11 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Whiteface Mountain Views From Serene Farm House pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Whiteface Mountain Views From Serene Farm House?
As of 31 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Whiteface Mountain Views From Serene Farm House on 25 April 2027 start from NZ$1,981, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Whiteface Mountain Views From Serene Farm House?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Whiteface Mountain Views From Serene Farm House?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Whiteface Mountain Views From Serene Farm House?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Whiteface Mountain Views From Serene Farm House located?
Offering ski-in/ski-out access, this holiday home in Au Sable Forks is situated in the mountains, 2.1 mi (3.4 km) from Ausable River, and is convenient for winter activities, such as cross-country skiing and sledging. Historic Jay Covered Bridge and Ausable Theater are also within 6 miles (10 km).
Reviews
9.6
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Our kids had a blast sharing a room for an extended sleepover, and the house is spacious enough for multiple areas of activities and socializing. Lovely outdoor area too!
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 19 March 2025
Thank you for the great review!!! We are thrilled you enjoyed the house!!!
House was roomy enough for our large group of 4 adults and 6 teens to relax after a long day of skiing and snowboarding.
Owners are super nice! Would stay again and recommend this property for a lovely getaway.
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 1 March 2024
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the house and your stay.
This is a lovely well maintained former farm house with modern amenities. The location is quiet and the views from the porch are beautiful. The common areas (kitchen, dining, living room) spaces are spacious. My family enjoyed there week staying here as they attended our family reunion held nearby.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 26 August 2024
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to give us a five-star review!!!!
We had a good stay overall. House is farm house style and well situated in the country side.
Apart from the power outage with the heavy rain, enjoyed out stay
Place was great, we had a lovely time. Lots of games to play, which came in handy as we were stuck inside all day one day due to rain.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 25 August 2023
Hello!
Thank you for taking the time to review our home. We are pleased you were happy with your stay. We hope you choose to come back and stay again!!
Came to celebrate destination wedding, beautiful country, lots to see, house perfect for our family, loved the setting away from civilization (no cell service helped). Thanks for the eggs.
very enjoyable, 10 of us were more than comfortable, plenty of space, if renting in summer, bring window fans, floor fans are provided but the extra air from window at night made all the difference, great representative, we enjoyed our time there very much
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2023
Archival
10/10 Excellent
Juan G.
10 April 2014
Impeccable House
I had a group of 12 people stay at this house and all everyone had to say was how great and spacious the house was, it can sleep 14-16 and everyone is very comfortable. The house has been recently renovated and the house is kept extremely clean, we were very happy to see how well kept the house is. For the skiers, Whiteface is about 10 miles away, it's an easy 15 minute ride, you can actually see it from the house. Will definitely stay here again for our annual trip up to Whiteface.
Response from VrboOwner on 31 March 2020
Thank you so much for the great review! We are so pleased that you and your party were happy with your stay at the Hazen House. We look forward to you staying again next year.
Spacious, comfortable, and unfussy home perfect for families with active kids. Kitchen is well-stocked with pots and pans and utensils. Short walk to farm store for meat and eggs. Big backyard with firepit and small brook. Accessible to Lake Placid, Whiteface etc but a bit of a drive. Au Sable Forls seems to be in a warmer valley than sirrounding towns so less snowy and cold, you decide if thats a pro or a con!
Stayed 5 nights in Feb 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 11 March 2024
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our house. We ar very happy you enjoyed your stay!!!
This is a very big house that sleeps a lot of people. We only had 5. The house is located on a road that has little to no traffic. 1/4 mile away they raise cattle in one of the coolest pastures I have ever seen. Deer walk into the yard or you can view them in the back grasses The house is clean and spacious.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 22 August 2022
Thank so very much for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed the house and the stay. Moon Valley Farm next door is a wonderful farm that raises Highlander Cows, chickens and pigs! It is a must see if you are in the area!
Verified review
8/10 Good
Nicole R.
3 August 2023
Liked: Check-in, location, listing accuracy
Spacious Farmhouse
The house met our large group’s needs. It’s very spacious and the beds were very comfortable. It was hot, which we expected, but the fans provided in the rooms helped a lot. Access to nearby trails for hiking was excellent and we really appreciated the eggs from then nearby farm. We loved sitting on the chairs out on the porch and also enjoyed the fire pit area one evening. Most areas of the house were clean and comfortable, but some were not, such as inside the windows had large piles of very old dead bugs, the downstairs shower curtain liner was very moldy, and around the backs of the toilets/toilet brushes was very dirty. One of the side doors to the house was unable to be latched/secured. We had to wedge wood under the door ourselves to secure it. Response to our communication/questions was minimal and did not address some of my other inquires. We were also excited to check out the stream but the area around it was overgrown with no access.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 18 August 2023
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled that you and your guests enjoyed the house. As far as not being able to use the stream, the stream is not part of the rental amenities therefore we do not maintain it for accessibility. I am sorry you were disappointed. Thank you for bringing the cleanliness issues to our attention. I can assure you that everything will be taken care of. I do apologize for not being as responsive as usual. I too was traveling and did not get all your messages until after your stay. I do hope you do decide to rent our home again!
Christine
Nice old farmhouse house for a group of kids and adults
The old farmhouse with an L-shaped porch was very comfortable-lots of open room in the sitting/dining area downstairs and the bedrooms upstairs had comfortable beds in the rooms that varied in size. The couches were comfortable but on the older side. The kitchen was outdated but functional with a large wood topped island and it was well stocked with basic necessities for eating and food prep. There was even a dozen fresh eggs provided. Having a washer and dryer available was handy after playing in the Au Sable River. We enjoyed sitting on the porch in the am and pm looking out to the fields down below or towards the mountains. The fire pit, with wood supplied, was very nice and we enjoyed making s’mores as we relaxed by it and looked at the stars at night. There was only one or two outlets in each bedroom. For the most part we slept comfortably, however, there is no conditioning and it would be helpful to have fans to set in the window to pull the nightly cooler air in. The tower fans were helpful but could not be placed in the window. Also, the baseboards need to be dusted and washed and the area at the bottom of the shower and where the tub meets the wall need to be scrubbed. All the other areas seemed to be cleaned. We travelled out each day to various places to visit so this was a decent central location for us. We would definitely consider renting this house again.
This is a great property for large groups. It was clean and had everything we needed and then some for our small group. Only minor items that came up but didn't impact us as we were gone most of the day. They were items like the batteries in the TV remotes where all dead but able to change at the cable box. Lastly, the wifi was a bit inconsistent on speed and at times completely went off line. As I mentioned this didn't impact us much but we were very happy with everything else!
My family and I came to this property for a summer getaway. The property was perfect and the host included plenty of condiments, cleaning products and farm, fresh eggs. We enjoyed playing games at the dining room table, making s’mores at the fire pit and taking in the view on the wraparound porch.
We were close to both Lakes Placid and Saranac. We went horseback riding and explored High Falls Gorge. We cannot wait to return!
Place was spotless and well stocked. Tons of beds and space for large groups.
Close to Whiteface and Lake Placid - only about 25 minutes or so. Great for ski trips
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 18 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review our house. We are so happy that you enjoyed the house and location. We hope you decide to stay at the hazen house again.
It was my third time at this house.
Nice house, you can find there everything what you need. Owner very helpful. We love location, close to Lake Placid, to skiing resort and many options for hiking.
Thank you Christina., see you next time .
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 25 January 2022
We are thrilled you keep choosing to stay at the Hazen House! Hope to see you again soon!
Christine
Great farm house for family and friends. We used it to ski Whiteface Mountain.
We liked the house and location a lot.
FYI two things prevented me from giving it five stars/
1. Fees for cancelled days are not yet refunded although the owner did refund the two days base rental amount.
2. Mouse droppings on the beds, pillows and counters- yuck!
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 1 February 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review the property. We are glad you like the house and location despite the couple of issues. As far as the fees, VRBO controls the refunds for them and sometimes they are not refundable. I sincerely apologize about the mice droppings. We have an exterminator that comes regularly, but sometimes in a country farmhouse it is unavoidable. Had I known when you were staying, I would have sent a cleaning crew right away to switch out all the linens. and clean the counters. We hope you will come and stay again in the future.