A Positive Outlook -10 mins to ASU, Hot Tub - Pool Table - Corner Jacuzzi

Photo gallery for A Positive Outlook -10 mins to ASU, Hot Tub - Pool Table - Corner Jacuzzi

A cozy log cabin interior with a stone fireplace, leather furniture, and a staircase.
A covered porch with wooden railings, rocking chairs, and a view of trees.
A spacious wooden cabin interior with a large dining table, built-in wooden cabinets, and a stone fireplace.
A kitchen with wooden cabinets, a granite countertop, and a stainless steel refrigerator.
A cozy log cabin interior with a fireplace, wooden furniture, and large windows.

Reviews

9.4 out of 10
Exceptional

Highlights

  • Top-rated for value
    Guests love how much they get for what they pay.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.

Popular amenities

  • Spa pool on site
  • Patio
  • Arcade/game room
  • Barbecue
  • Pet-friendly
  • Air-conditioning

Explore the area

View map
Vilas, NC
  • Place, Foggy Mountain Gem Mine
    ‪4 min drive‬
  • Place, Watauga River
    ‪4 min drive‬
  • Place, Hound Ears Golf Club
    ‪7 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

4 bedrooms (sleeps 12)

Lower Level

1 King Bed

Main Level

1 Queen Bed

Main Level

2 Single Bunk Beds

Upper Level

1 King Bed

3 bathrooms

Lower Level

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Main Level

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Upper Level

Toilet · Shower only · Jetted bathtub

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Separate dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Vilas

Located in Vilas, this cabin is near theme parks and in the mountains. Sugar Mountain Resort and Appalachian Ski Mountain are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore The Blowing Rock and Grandfather Mountain. Looking to enjoy an event or a game while in town? See what's happening at Kidd Brewer Stadium or Holmes Convocation Center. Jet skiing and water tubing offer great chances to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with mountain biking and hiking nearby.
Map
Vilas, NC

What's nearby

  • Foggy Mountain Gem Mine - 4 min drive - 2.7 km
  • Watauga River - 4 min drive - 3.7 km
  • Hound Ears Golf Club - 7 min drive - 8.0 km
  • Magic Mountain Mini Golf and Arcade - 9 min drive - 8.1 km
  • Boone Mall - 10 min drive - 9.2 km

Getting around

  • Tri-Cities, TN (TRI-Tri-Cities Regional) - 98 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Rivers Street Ale House - ‬10 min drive
  • ‪Taqueria La Monarca - ‬9 min drive
  • ‪Boone Saloon - ‬10 min drive
  • ‪Lost Province Brewing Company - ‬10 min drive
  • ‪South End Brewing - Boone - ‬10 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is A Positive Outlook -10 mins to ASU, Hot Tub - Pool Table - Corner Jacuzzi pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at A Positive Outlook -10 mins to ASU, Hot Tub - Pool Table - Corner Jacuzzi?

As of 1 November 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at A Positive Outlook -10 mins to ASU, Hot Tub - Pool Table - Corner Jacuzzi on 2 November 2026 start from NZ$1,927, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at A Positive Outlook -10 mins to ASU, Hot Tub - Pool Table - Corner Jacuzzi?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at A Positive Outlook -10 mins to ASU, Hot Tub - Pool Table - Corner Jacuzzi?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at A Positive Outlook -10 mins to ASU, Hot Tub - Pool Table - Corner Jacuzzi?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is A Positive Outlook -10 mins to ASU, Hot Tub - Pool Table - Corner Jacuzzi located?

Situated in the mountains, this cabin is 1.6 mi (2.5 km) from Foggy Mountain Gem Mine and 1.9 mi (3.1 km) from Watauga River. Appalachian State University and Magic Mountain Mini Golf and Arcade are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Reviews

9.4

Exceptional

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 39 out of 54 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 10 out of 54 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 4 out of 54 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 54 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 54 reviews

9.2/10

Cleanliness

9.8/10

Check-in

9.8/10

Communication

10/10

Location

9.6/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Only trouble I had was communicating trouble with TV for service. Well supplied and very comfortable with a great view. Location is excellent….between everything you would want to do :). One suggestion is change out bed pillows. In my opinion they’re too flat. Great home for three couples….with bunks for young children
Stayed 9 nights in Oct 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Place

Perfect weekend and super close to university!
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 31 March 2020
Hi Heather, Thanks for your review. We are glad to hear you had a perfect weekend and we hope to see you back soon. Best wishes, Kaytlyn
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

An amazing location and a great cabin.

Had a great time at this cabin. You can’t beat being 15 minutes from Boone and 20 minutes from Banner elk
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 31 March 2020
Hi Mitch, Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a good time and were close to Boone and Banner Elk. We hope you will come back to visit us again soon! Kind regards, Kaytlyn
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect stay. Exactly as pictured- if not better. Thank you!

Loved!
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 2 August 2022
Thank you so much! We are so glad you had a perfect stay! We'd love to have you back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Big place. Well appointed kitchen. Wonderful porch.

Quiet, roomy refuge.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 11 July 2022
Thank you so much! We'd love to have you back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

8/10 Good

Loved our stay in this beautiful home! Plenty of space for all and convienient to all attractions!

Loved the three levels of living space. We had three families, each with their own private space. The fireplace was awesome! It was freezing outside during our visit, but the fire kept us comfortable.
Stayed 7 nights in Dec 2017
Response from VrboOwner on 31 March 2020
Hi Marianne, Thank you for the review of your stay. We are glad you loved your stay and thought the cabin was beautiful with plenty of space. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Brooklin
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Cabin

Great cabin for our family get-away. Nice size for our family of 5 - could easily have had a second group there. Great location for getting into Boone, Banner Elk, etc. Clean, good communication with manager. No complaints. Would stay here again!
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 20 July 2020
Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed the cabin! We'd love to have you back again! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Value

Awesome house that fit the needs of friends get together for the weekend. Would definitely come back.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 27 September 2022
Thank you! We'd love to have you back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beautiful!

Property was just as described and well maintained. It was close enough to the gem mines, ski resorts, and downtown Boone. We used the hot tub almost every night and the kids loved the dirt wall next to the house with climbing ropes! Would definitely stay here again.
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 29 March 2021
Thank you! We are so glad you had a great getaway! Please come back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great family weekend

Large home which accommodated all 12 of us comfortably. Kitchen was very equipped with everything you need, including a table that seats 12. Bunkbed room was perfect for my 6 grandchildren. Hot Tub was clean and perfect for the cold temperatures we had. Overall it was a perfect getaway!! Definitely will stay at this property again!!!
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 30 May 2022
Thank you so much! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that it worked out well for your entire family! Please come back anytime! - BRMR
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Great family Christmas!!

The cabin was a perfect setup for a large family. 8 adults and plenty of room. The house was very clean. Wood burning fireplace upstairs and gas downstairs. Wonderful for a cold winters night! Hot tub was nice. Loved the large dining table. We’ll definitely come back!!
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2017
Response from VrboOwner on 31 March 2020
Hi Angela, Thank you for the review. We are excited to hear you had a great Christmas at the cabin and will definitely come back. We cant wait to see you! Kindest Regards, Brooklin
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location

Cabin

No yard space for kids hot tub didn’t work refrigerator needed replaced hard parking area would not recommend more than two cars,the cabin itself is very nice
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 9 August 2024
We appreciate your feedback, and we hope you enjoyed your stay overall! We are sharing your feedback about the hot tub and refrigerator with our team so that this can be addressed, and our customer care team will be reaching out to discuss this further. Please come back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect Ski Weekend

We absolutely loved this property! It was more than we could’ve hoped for. We came up for a ski weekend that was pretty rainy the first day, so we stayed in the majority of the first day. The house was the perfect size. Everyone had enough room to spend time together, but also able to have our own space. Could not recommend this place enough
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 31 March 2020
Hi Patrick, Thanks for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your ski weekend at this home and we appreciate your recommendation. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Kaytlyn
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

A Hidden Gem

Well stocked kitchen with a crockpot, loved the hot tub, rocking chairs, and porch swing. Steep twisting road from highway but that is consistent with the area. Host was responsive to our non urgent maintenance requests. Some DVDs available for adults and kids. Would stay again.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 9 August 2021
Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed your getaway! We'd love to have you back again! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We had a great stay and enjoyed how close the property is to everything. House is a little dated. Ceiling fan on lower level master isn’t working properly and that would have been nice if it was usable. Toilet on lower level rocks when you sit. If you sleep in lower level be prepared to hear everything above you. Porch is amazing and the amount of living space definitely met our needs.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 15 October 2025
Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall! We are sharing your feedback with our team, and we'd love to have you visit anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect Location

We enjoyed our stay! Large family including our one year old granddaughter, young adults and teens. More than enough room to spread out. Great location! We had everything we needed and more in this beautiful property. We did see some issues with housekeeping but we made the rental agency aware and are satisfied with their response. We feel sure this will be addressed with the cleaning crew moving forward. We plan to stay again.
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 21 November 2022
Thank you so much! We'd love to have you back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy

Family getaway

We loved the home but there are many stair steps to get to the master suite. We had an issue with the master bathroom shower that impacted our visit, and since it was during a holiday weekend, it couldn't be fixed. The rental company compensated us for the inconvenience.
Stayed 5 nights in May 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 3 August 2022
Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall, and we appreciate you working with our team. We'd love to have you back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Feels secluded even with neighbors

The house was big enough for our group of 9. 6 kids ranging from almost 2-17. There is a creek on the property but didnt have any water running through it until it rained for multiple days. It rained for 4 straight days. Only downside was the fridge had drawers that didn't work properly and very hard to open and no shelves in the door. Overall we had a blast and plenty to do in the surrounding areas!!
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 10 July 2023
Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We are sharing your feedback about the fridge with our team so we can look into this further. We'd love to have you back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, communication, location, listing accuracy

Bailies Review

The house was very well worn with a lot of it shown in the kitchen with broken drawers and cabinets. The property manager never reset the code so we weren’t able to get in for the first 15 mins of the stay. However, was quickly reset with a call. Overall, accurate for the price. Had a great weekend but would heavily consider renting again.
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 25 November 2024
Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall, and we are sending this to our team so that the maintenance items can be addressed. This home does have an electronic door lock with new codes automatically made for each guest based on their telephone number. It looks like the system was offline when you arrived, but we are very glad that our team could be of help with an emergency code. Please come back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Perfect cabin for our 3 families

The cabin was immaculate and well furnished. Beds were very comfortable and kitchen was well stocked with pots and pans. The porch had a beautiful view. The location was also perfect for proximity to the local attractions. The propane tank on the BBQ did run out in the middle of cooking steak. I suggest putting a propane gauge on the tank so you can see when it is getting low. Also, the bathroom breaker in the master bathroom popped 3 times while we were there for no apparent reason. That should be looked in to, as there may be a short somewhere. Overall, it is a great place to stay for larger families. We all loved our stay there.
Stayed 8 nights in Jul 2018
Response from VrboOwner on 31 March 2020
Hi Linda, Thank you for the review of your stay. We are glad to hear you found this cabin to be immaculate and well furnished. We are also glad to hear you thought the view was beautiful. Please come back and stay with us again soon. Kindest Regards, Brooklin
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Family mtn weekend

Great time at the cabin. Exactly as described. Couple of things to note: 1. Our code didn’t work to enter. Had to contact property mgmt. Quick response. 2. 3rd floor shower leaks 3. Refrigerator has a leak 4. Knives need sharpening
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 9 February 2022
Thank you! We are glad you had a great time! We are sharing your feedback with our team. Please come back again! - BRMR
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Birthday Cabin Getaway

Our stay at the cabin was amazing! The pictures accurately represented what we saw when we checked it, and really don't do the cabin justice. The views were amazing (although it was very foggy our first full day there). There was more than enough room on the three floors. We had 8 people staying (5 of which were teenage girls) and everyone had their own spaces. The kitchen is fully outfitted with everything you'd need and the rental company will bring firewood if you reach out at least a week in advance. The only thing I would warn about is the road to get to the cabin. It is definitely winding, steep and could be scary for those who have never visited the mountains. We had a great time and will be back!
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 31 March 2020
Hi Natasha, Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback about this home and look forward to your next stay! Kind regards, BRMR
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy

Maintenance issues

This is a beautiful house in a great location, but it is in need of repairs. There is a horrible urine odor in all of the downstairs area that is completely carpeted. The cleaners are definitely aware of this problem because they tried to hide the odor with cleaning spray but you could still smell the urine odor.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 12 May 2025
Thank you! We appreciate your feedback, and we are sorry to hear that there were issues during your stay. We are sharing this with our housekeeping team, and our customer care team will be reaching out to discuss your stay further. Thank you - BRMR
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Graduation Weekend

Great location if you have kids at APP. It was a fun house with a pool table and hot tub for all to enjoy. The swing was very enjoyable as well. The customer care team was great to work with. The basement had a dog smell and they were very nice to come and clean the carpet for us. If I had any suggestions for the owners it would be to take up the carpet in the basement and lay flooring since they are a pet friendly home. The basement bedroom’s lights do not work (has black electrical tape on the fuse itself) indicating that they don’t work and has issues. The last thing would be the tub on main floor doesn’t drain. Very easy fixes and I think the house would be five star. I would definitely stay there again.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 14 May 2024
Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall, and we appreciate you working with our team! We are sharing your suggestions with our team, and we'd love to have you back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great weekend getaway with friends

We booked A Positive Outlook for a weekend getaway with friends. We had a total of 10 people in the house and we all fit comfortably. The location is great and the setup of the house worked well for 2 families. The kitchen was relatively stocked (could’ve used tongs and some other utensils) and the game room was great to play some adult v kids pool. The morning sunrise was beautiful as it came up over the mountains. The only downsides we had (and the reason for 4 stars vs 5) were the heat setting when we arrived and the cleanliness of the place. The heat is set at 55 degrees when the home is not in use which left this place freezing cold for our families when we checked in. It took approximately 5-6 hours for it to warm up, which made the first night a little less fun for everyone as we were still bundled up for the most part. As far as cleanliness, the house was also a bit dusty and seemed like it hadn’t been rented in some time. Also, the comforter in the downstairs bedroom smelled like it hadn’t been washed in a while. Overall, this was a great stay at a beautiful home. A couple of small things and this would have been a 5 star review. We would definitely rent here again in the future as our issues were small and can easily be fixed.
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 19 December 2022
Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay overall! We are sharing your feedback with our team, and they'll be reaching out to discuss your stay further. Please come back anytime! - BRMR
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback