Located in Piedmont Pines, a neighbourhood in Oakland, this apartment is in the mountains. Fox Theater and Ferry Building are notable landmarks, and travellers looking to shop may want to visit Pier 39 and Embarcadero Center. Looking to enjoy an event or a game? See what's going on at Oracle Park, or consider SF Masonic Auditorium for a night out. Discover the area's water adventures with fishing and swimming nearby, or enjoy the great outdoors with mountain biking and hiking.
Chabot Space and Science Center - 4 min drive - 2.2 km
Moscone Convention Center - 27 min drive - 25.8 km
Pier 39 - 30 min drive - 28.2 km
Getting around
Rockridge Station - 8 min drive
Berkeley Station - 15 min drive
Oakland, CA (OAK-Oakland Intl.) - 29 min drive
Restaurants
Payakk - 5 min drive
Starbucks - 4 min drive
Chabot Space & Science Center - 5 min drive
Sparky's Giant Burgers - 6 min drive
The Saint Sandwich Shop - 7 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Treetop Refuge
pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Treetop Refuge
?
As of 28 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Treetop Refuge
on 10 November 2026 start from NZ$643, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Treetop Refuge
?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Treetop Refuge
?
Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Treetop Refuge
?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Treetop Refuge
located?
Located in Piedmont Pines, this apartment building is 1.4 mi (2.2 km) from Chabot Space and Science Center and within 6 miles (10 km) of Grand Lake Theater and Lake Merritt. Kaiser Permanente Oakland Medical Center and Children's Fairyland are also within 6 miles (10 km).
Reviews
9.0
Wonderful
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
This is the second time I stayed here. It won't be my last.
Stayed 5 nights in May 2026
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Andrea H.
14 August 2026
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Check-in, location, listing accuracy
It should be stated up front that there is no kitchen. When I asked where the kitchen was I was shown the bathroom sink and the small microwave. It should also be stated that there are 13 concrete steps that one has to haul all their stuff down and up. The setting is beautiful but requires a lot of driving on narrow roads to access. The interior is clean and comfortable. It is located in a very beautiful spot in the Oakland Hills.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 7 October 2026
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I can see that you were expecting use of a kitchen as well as not having to use stairs to access the unit. Both are clearly described and photographed. It is very important to read the description and look at the photos prior to booking. It was very unfortunate that what we offer did not match what you were looking for.
My son and I have an awesome stay in the Treetop Refuge. The host was very accessible, communcatice, and kind. The space was clean and well ordered. If given the chance I would certainly stay there again.
Very gracious host.Wonderful communication. We gifted my son and daughter-in-law two nights away from children. They absolutely loved the location and said the view was spectacular. I hope we can have them stay at this location again
Our adult kids live nearby, so we were looking for a cozy place to stay for our visits. This cute place was perfect. Nestled in the hills, surrounded by trees was the perfect place for us. Easy access, but away from the noise of downtown. A hideaway. Felt like a vacation, even if our three night visit was short. We’d recommend for anyone.
I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely come stay again. The host was very nice, helpful, and accommodating. I love the location and being
Able to sit on the deck amongst the trees and relax. I drove over to Napa. Everything was easy to find. It’s a safe place for solo travelers.
Lovely room with limited, but very good amenities. The hostess greeted me when I arrived and showed me a few things about the room. Parking space is very limited up in the hills there, but she had marked off some space on the street with construction cones, so it was never a problem.
My husband and I enjoyed our stay at this property. We found it to be cozy and the location is pretty and private feeling up in the pine trees.
Parking, as in pretty much all locations in the Oakland Hills, is a little tricky, but the owners have come up with a pretty good solution (cones that you move to park and to reserve your spot when you leave). There isn't a lot of counter space in the main area, but there is a mini-fridge and small microwave, for warming up prepared food and a nice little table to sit at that overlooks the pines.
We enjoyed our multi-night stay here.
Stayed 5 nights in Nov 2024
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Mary F.
21 February 2025
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication
Not quite what I expected.
The property was very clean, efficient and was definitely 'treetop'. I don't think the original post clarified the steep steps, narrow road and isolated location. The online listing has been updated.
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2025
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Jan C.
13 December 2024
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication
Disliked: Location
Love Piedmont Community
The community has many parks, restaurants, and walking trails. The property has very limited curb parking with no parking reserved for guests. I did not feel it was accurate to show the owner’s residence as the rental property. The stairs down to the rental were not well lit and are very steep.
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 5 February 2025
The photo of the main house is what is on view from the street so it is an important marker for our guests to locate the house. The description of the photo states it is the main house and the suite is located in the back of the main house. Parking is clearly stated that we offer only street parking. Oakland hills neighborhood has very narrow winding streets with plenty of street parking. We designate a spot closest to the suite in the street marked with red cones for our guests but if the cones are not placed back once the car is moved, street parking is available for anyone to park. All of this is clearly detailed in our welcome letter prior to the stay.
I lived in an apartment with the same setup in Montclair in the 1980s. There were no surprises for me. It was an excellent location for the East Bay with easy access to San Francisco. Born and raised in Oakland, I knew what I wanted to do on this trip. The host was excellent, although I didn't need any hand-holding. I would recommend it to anyone. I've decided to visit the Bay Area every fall, so I will be back if it is still available.
Stayed 8 nights in Sep 2024
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Reema R.
20 July 2024
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication
Overnight stay ok; Not for longer
We booked this spot for four nights but left early, as the setup has hidden issues. The kitchenette (not kitchen) is very minimal and the unit has no air circulation. There was frequently a large car, possibly the neighbor's, parked in the "guest parking" which made parking options confusing (without much clarity from the host). The beautiful deck was the highlight of the spot but the panoramic view is only accessed on walks/drives. Thus the ad is misleading and we left feeling run down. I hope more consideration for paying guests is shown in terms of transparency and provisions.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 19 October 2024
The photos are very clear in its description of the suite which states forest view not a bay or city view. There is also a clear photo of the kitchenette area with a microwave, mini fridge and a water kettle. It’s set up like much like a hotel room. However unlike a hotel room we have a 400 sq ft deck overlooking the forest with a peaceful sitting area.
We have a designated parking space for our guest on the street marked with cones but our neighbors park in close proximity. It’s unfortunate that your expectations didn’t match what we offer.
We booked this property to stay in while visiting relatives in Oakland. It's a cute studio surrounded by beautiful trees up in the hills. Some people may find the location difficult to find at first, especially in the dark, but once you do, it's easy to return. The street parking was fine - we just used the cones the owner left to designate the spot. The neighborhood is very quiet, without a lot of light pollution at night. This property is on a hillside, so you have to go down some steep steps to enter it; there's also some uneven ground at the top of the stairs. Anyone with mobility/balance issues needs to keep this in mind. The property is immaculately clean, with a lot of nice amenities like a seating area out on the deck, a table with chairs within, a big sofa, and color TV. While there is not a stove, there is a small refrigerator and microwave, as well as plates, cups, and utensils for two. The bathroom is a good size with a spacious shower and a lot of lush towels. The only drawback was the bed. It is a split king, meaning two twin mattresses made up with king size bedding. That means there is a channel down the middle of the bed. Also, it's clear that one side has been slept in more often than the other, so that mattress is condensed. Not a problem if there's only one person, but it does mean one side is about 1.5" lower than the other. We were able to make do and we had a very comfortable stay.