Entire home

Ashworth House - Leafield near Charlbury

Photo gallery for Ashworth House - Leafield near Charlbury

A spacious kitchen with a large island, wooden beams, and large windows.
A spacious dining area with a wooden table set for a meal, a wicker sofa with colorful cushions, and a kitchen in the background.
A cozy living room with two armchairs, a coffee table, and a fireplace.
A stone building with a window and a door partially obscured by green foliage.
A stone gazebo with a glass enclosure, surrounded by a stone wall and lush greenery.

Reviews

9.2 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Spacious, comfortable rooms
    Guests love the top-rated, generously-sized rooms.
  • Your own private chef
    One of the few properties offering private chef services.

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Barbecue
  • Electric vehicle charging point
  • Pet-friendly
  • Garage parking available
  • Refrigerator

Explore the area

View map
Near Charlbury, Oxfordshire
  • Place, River Windrush
    ‪8 min drive‬
  • Place, Witney Lakes Golf Course
    ‪17 min drive‬
  • Place, Crocodiles of the World
    ‪17 min drive‬
  • Airport, Oxford (OXF)
    ‪36 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

6 bedrooms (sleeps 12)

Bedroom #1

1 King Bed

Bedroom #2

1 King Bed

Bedroom #3

1 Double Bed

Bedroom #4

1 Double Bed

Bedroom #5

2 Single Beds

Bedroom #6

2 Single Beds

5 bathrooms

Bathroom #1

Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom #2

Bidet · Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom #3

Bidet · Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom #4

Bathtub · Bidet · Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom #5

Bathtub or shower · Bidet · Toilet

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Garden
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Witney

Located in Witney, this cottage is in a rural area. Blenheim Palace and North Leigh Roman Villa are local landmarks, and travellers looking to shop may want to visit The Burford Garden Company and Diddly Squat Farm Shop. Windrush Leisure Centre and Crocodiles of the World are also worth visiting.
Map
Near Charlbury, Oxfordshire

What's nearby

  • River Windrush - 8 min drive - 6.0 km
  • Witney Lakes Golf Course - 17 min drive - 14.0 km
  • Crocodiles of the World - 17 min drive - 13.0 km
  • Church of St John the Baptist - 19 min drive - 16.3 km
  • Cotswold Wildlife Park and Gardens - 22 min drive - 19.3 km

Getting around

  • Finstock Station - 8 min drive
  • Oxford (OXF) - 30 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪The Farmer's Dog - ‬10 min drive
  • ‪The Swan - ‬8 min drive
  • ‪The Farmer's Puppy Bar & Kitchen - ‬10 min drive
  • ‪The White Hart - ‬7 min drive
  • ‪The Windrush Inn - ‬11 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Ashworth House - Leafield near Charlbury pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Ashworth House - Leafield near Charlbury?

As of 26 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Ashworth House - Leafield near Charlbury on 6 September 2027 start from NZ$5,919, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Ashworth House - Leafield near Charlbury?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Ashworth House - Leafield near Charlbury?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Ashworth House - Leafield near Charlbury?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Ashworth House - Leafield near Charlbury located?

Situated in a rural location, this cottage is 3.1 mi (5 km) from River Windrush and within 6 miles (10 km) of Witney Lakes Golf Course and North Leigh Roman Villa. SOTA Gallery and Witney Blanket Hall are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Reviews

9.2

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 14 out of 21 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 6 out of 21 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 0 out of 21 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 21 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 21 reviews

10/10

Cleanliness

9.4/10

Check-in

10/10

Communication

9.4/10

Location

10/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The could not have been more beautiful and picturesque. An added bonus was waking up to sheep in the back field each morning. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets over the rolling fields too. House is spacious and clean. Bedding pillows etc are luxurious. We would absolutely stay here again (and are planning to!).
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2026
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Beautiful property

We loved our extended family stay in this beautiful house, which is in immaculate condition. The kids loved playing in the garden and the kitchen is well equipped for catering to large groups. The property looks out over gently rolling hills - an iconic Cotswolds view!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
I booked Ashworth House as a venue for a three generation family reunion in August and it far exceeded our expectations! Everyone was 'wowed' by the amazing property and we all had such fun. The decor throughout is beautiful with fabulous bathrooms, floors, rugs, colours and curtain fabrics. The enormous kitchen/living space was ideal for cooking and serving meals. The TV room was a massive hit with the little ones and the garden views and relaxing couches were fabulous. We came in the 5th Heat wave of 2026 and the Aga added to the heat but we got a breeze blowing through! We even arrived on the day the baby swallows fledged in the garage and I saw a mother pheasant hop over the garden wall and take her six chicks for a drink in the pond during the drought. The free electric charge point was vital for our EV. The only house recommendation I would make is to clearly mark a white line on the low 2" step down into the lounge as we all repeatedly 'fell 'down it. Otherwise thank you for such an excellent house!
Stayed 6 nights in Aug 2026
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Beautiful house

Stayed here for the bank holiday weekend celebrating my husband’s 60th birthday with family. A beautiful property and had everything we needed for the family. The garden and views beyond are spectacular, the photos do not do it justice. Would highly recommend
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We had an absolutely wonderful time here hosting family from America and England. The place is stunning and beautifully presented. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a quiet and cosy retreat. Not much immediately around there so ideal if you have a car to drive to restaurants and bars. But overall we loved this.
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2025
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Grand and gorgeous setting for a group gathering

Everything lovely and convenient, quick response to requests for assistance! We'll be offering a few suggestions based on our experience, but the accommodation, the ambience, the view were all spectacular. Thank you!
From a partner site

8/10 Good

The location is perfect but we felt the property seemed a little tired

We enjoyed our stay but three nights , but felt the property needed a small uplift , some areas were excellent but others a little uninviting
Response from VrboOwner on 29 August 2025
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us on your recent stay at Ashworth House. We’re very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your valuable feedback has been shared with the owners who have taken these points on board and are looking into them. We hope to see you in the Cotswolds again soon.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Wonderful stay at Ashworth House

Enjoyed our stay at Ashworth House for birthday celebration with family. We were fortunate to have dry but cold weather.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Difficult for elderly

Being elderly,no facilities within walking distance was a let down. We assumed that there would be a main line train station nearer to the property.The outside surfaces i.e. pebbles were difficult for less mobile adults. But the house was lovely and comfortable.However the aga needed to be switched on much earlier in the day or even the previous day for cooking.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Luxurious home away from home

A stunning property with every little detail taken care of. Superb quality furniture and kitchenware. Very clean rooms as well as bathrooms. The backyard is also very peaceful and quiet for a family retreat. Highly recommended. Only one small suggestion is to add toiletries (bodywash/shampoo) to the bathrooms would be welcomed. We will visit again in future.
Response from VrboOwner on 29 August 2025
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us on your recent stay at Ashworth House. We’re very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your valuable feedback has been shared with the owner who has taken these points onboard and is looking into them. We hope to see you in the Cotswolds again soon.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Lovely spacious property with countryside views

Ashworth House is a beautifully large house for 12 people. The pictures do not do not do it full justice! The lovely large kitchen diner was the focus of our stay with views across the garden and countryside with space to play games, read and eat. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did ours.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Long Weekend at Ashworth House

We had a lovely birthday weekend at Ashworth. The house was nestled away down a short drive and we were amazed by the space inside. Everyone had plenty of room and it was clean, bright and airy. The beds were so comfy and everything provided was of exceptional quality. We went for dinner at the local pub (15-20min walk) and had a wonderful meal - the portions were huge and the service was great. Would definitely come back for another trip.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Wonderful place for the family

The home is absolutely gorgeous. The pictures do not really capture the beauty of the home. We had seven family members and there was plenty of room for us to gather, and for us to have some solitude. The kitchen is well stocked with nice dishes and needed tools for making a nice meal. We had no idea how to use the Aga oven, but we figured it out. The in floor heating was wonderful and very welcoming to those of us from warmer climates. Claire the housekeeper was very helpful and the place was very well kept.
Response from VrboOwner on 12 December 2024
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us about your recent stay at Ashworth House. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We've spoken with the property manager about the AGA and understand they were able to assist you during your visit. To make things even easier, they'll be adding some instructions in the house as well. We hope to see you again in the Cotswolds soon.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Beautiful house in peaceful location

We had a wonderful multi-generational family weekend at Ashworth House for a low key 80th birthday celebration. The house easily accommodated 12 of us with huge kitchen-dining area plus 2 other reception rooms (one with a very large TV) for those who wanted to seek out some peace and quiet. The kitchen had 2 large fridges and an Aga, plus additional gas hob. The large outdoor seating area accommodated all of us and the competitive members of the family enjoyed the croquet and boule. This house was a joy to stay in, not only was it beautiful with stunning views but had all we needed for a relaxing weekend and would recommend it.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Beautiful house in peaceful location

We had a wonderful multi-generational family weekend at Ashworth House for a low key 80th birthday celebration. The house easily accommodated 12 of us with huge kitchen-dining area plus 2 other reception rooms (one with a very large TV) for those who wanted to seek out some peace and quiet. The kitchen had 2 large fridges and an Aga, plus additional gas hob. The large outdoor seating area accommodated all of us and the competitive members of the family enjoyed the croquet and boule. This house was a joy to stay in, not only was it beautiful with stunning views but had all we needed for a relaxing weekend and would recommend it.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Enjoyable weekend stay

Ashworth House was ideal for our extended family weekend break. The kitchen was well-equipped, there was plenty of space downstairs and the bedrooms were fine. We enjoyed our meal at the Fox at Leafield, beware the very large portions. Points to note. The access to the car park is very narrow. The bushes need cutting back and an automatic night light at the side of the house would be helpful. The heating in the downstairs bedroom and en-suite was not working.
Response from VrboOwner on 4 November 2024
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Ashworth House. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, however disappointed to read the points that you have raised. We have spoken to the property manager who wishes that you had contacted them during your stay, as they would have been very happy to visit the property to look at the points raised for you. They have also let us know that a plumber is attending the property as soon as possible to look at the heating and that a gardener is also visiting. We hope to see you again in the Cotswolds soon.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

An enjoyable stay with our family with 3 generations

The house was lovely and spacious with excellent rooms and bathrooms. Excellent decor. Really good quality bedlinen and towels etc. Plenty of cupboard space. Well equipped kitchen. Good to have vehicle charger. Nice wood fires but more logs would have been helpful. Some suggestions: handrail or rope bannister for safety on stairs; lovely wood flooring but rugs rather slippery; good to have 2 fridges but freezers badly needed defrosting. Claire very helpful with sorting out heating which was not properly set when we arrived. We appreciated being able to arrive early. A clearer sign to identify the house when arriving in the village would also help.
Response from VrboOwner on 8 November 2024
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts following your recent stay at Ashworth House. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We're sorry to learn about the heating issue but are pleased to know that Claire was able to assist you. Your valuable feedback has been passed along to both the owner and property manager, and they will be looking into these points. We hope to see you again in the Cotswolds soon.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Excellent, beautiful house for a family get together

With 10 of us plus a baby this was a gorgeous and well proportioned house which simply could not have been better. The housekeeper Claire was so helpful and the house was spotlessly clean. I note below a couple of thoughts for the future. - The underfloor heating downstairs takes almost 24 hours to kick in which affects the downstairs bedroom which we originally allocated for the baby and parents, but had to move. Clearer instructions would be helpful. - Whilst the 3 words included in the directions was helpful, we had to send photos of the entrance to enable people to find it. The house is tucked away ( which is lovely) but it simply does not look anything like the photos from the direction which you approach it. maybe photos might help future guests. This being said, this is a wonderful house and we all had a fantastic weekend. thank you.
Response from VrboOwner on 4 November 2024
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Ashworth House. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, however disappointed to read the points that you have raised. We have spoken to the property manager and understand that they were in touch with you during your stay. They have also let us know that a plumber is attending the property as soon as possible to look at the heating. We hope to see you again in the Cotswolds soon.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Exquisite property!

This spacious, beautifully decorated home spans 3 floors and features a charming garden with breath taking views of the surrounding countryside. Every room has been meticulously designed with elegant, high end décor, and the house boasts delightful period features throughout. The stunning kitchen was a highlight, with an extraordinary tree at its centre, it created a unique and memorable space. The ground floor ensuite bedroom is thoughtful addition, providing accessibility for guests with mobility issues. All bathrooms are modern and stylish, ensuring comfort and convenience. Claire, the attentive and responsive housekeeper, added a personal touch, and made sure everything ran smoothly. This property is perfect for large family gatherings, offering ample space and luxury. A few things to note - bring your own toiletries as these are not provided, be mindful of the step in the lounge, the master bedroom has an extremely soft mattress which might not suit everyone's preference especially if you have back issues. A memorable and delightful place to stay, providing a perfect blend of comfort, elegance and natural beauty.
Response from VrboOwner on 18 June 2024
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Ashworth House. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Claire was helpful. We have shared your feedback with the owners who have taken the points raised onboard, which will be looked into. On our website, we provide a 3D tour where you can walk around the house and this shows the step into the lounge. We hope to see you again in the Cotswolds soon.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Ashworth House,Lower End, Leafield.

We had a great family weekend at Ashworth House in the Cotswolds, but there were a few areas that could use improvement. With such a fantastic view from the back garden, we spent a lot of time outside. However, none of the lights in the back garden worked, so when it got dark, we had to search for candles to provide some light. One evening, we heard a loud thud and noticed that a chunk of wood from an upstairs lintel above the bedroom window had fallen out. Thankfully, no one was standing underneath it at the time. Inside, the property was relatively well-maintained, though very bare apart from the essential furniture. Simple additions, like chairs in all the bedrooms, would be beneficial since we had to put our belongings on the floor. It should be made clearer in the house description that the two bedrooms on the top floor require walking from the end bedroom through the other room to access the stairs. This arrangement isn't very comfortable for the couple staying in the end bedroom. Additionally, there was no window dressing in that bedroom, allowing daylight to stream in at 5 a.m., which was less than ideal when you're on holiday. There is a similar issue with the bedroom downstairs, off the kitchen. It’s a great room, but the four Velux windows have no blinds, resulting in the same problem of too much light at 5 a.m. The large tree growing in a pot in the kitchen may not be the best choice. It constantly dropped leaves, making the kitchen floor and some surfaces sticky, likely due to sap. It would be helpful to provide some information about where certain items are located. We couldn’t find the hairdryers until the last day. Also, the towels were of good quality but had a real musty smell when used. The house felt like it was in the process of being renovated. While it was clean, it could be cleaner overall. The freezer compartments should be defrosted before guests arrive, as we had limited space for our frozen foods. Would we stay there again? Yes, but it could be improved.
Response from VrboOwner on 1 August 2025
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us on your recent stay at Ashworth House. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the beautiful views from the back garden. Your feedback has been shared with both the property manager and the owners. They were sorry to hear there were a few issues during your stay. The property manager wishes you'd contacted them, as they would have been more than happy to come out to the property and take a look at the points you've mentioned. The garden lights, lintel, towels, hairdryers, and freezer compartments are all being reviewed, and any necessary fixes or improvements will be carried out as a priority. They’re very glad to hear that no one was hurt when the wood from the lintel fell and send their sincere apologies that this happened. We’ve also noted your comments regarding the layout of the top-floor bedrooms. For future reference, we do show this clearly on the 3D tour available on our website, and the open nature of bedroom four is mentioned in the property description. Thank you once again for your helpful feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the Cotswolds in the future.
From a partner site

4/10 Poor

Stay away from Ashworth House - serious safety issues - accident waiting to happen!

The rugs in the property are ridiculously dangerous, they are either curled up so you trip over them, or they simply slide around the floors. We removed every one of them for the duration of our stay. This is a serious safety hazard & should be addressed immediately - this has been reported in several other reviews & nothing done. The glazing in the internal doors was not toughened/safety glass & some panes were cracked, this is dangerous especially when young children are staying. Had our grandchildren fallen against any of these panes, I hate to think of the consequences. Several panes of glass in the windows are cracked with rotten frames resulting in freezing draft into the rooms - this has been reported in several other reviews & nothing done. The outside lights in the back garden didn’t work spoiling our enjoyment in the evenings – this has been reported in several other reviews & nothing done. The ground floor bedroom was freezing for the first 24 hours; the rotten window frames simply let the wind through (it warmed up on the 2nd/3rd day – this has been reported in several other reviews & nothing done. Some of the electrical sockets in this room were broken. The stairs are extremely steep & I thoroughly agree with previous reviews that a handrail of some sort should be installed, really dangerous. On arrival the gas hob would not light, on inspection it appeared that it had been reassembled incorrectly following cleaning with the burners and pan rests put in the wrong positions. Multiple areas of the property were dusty with cobwebs & the sparse furniture was very tired & broken in places. There were glass baubles on the Christmas tree one of which shattered on the floor when it fell off - again very dangerous when children are staying There was a smell of sewage in downstairs toilet There is nowhere to hang clothes in some bedrooms, so items must be left on the floor or remain in suitcase. The freezer compartments were iced up so nowhere to place frozen goods - this has been reported in several other reviews & nothing done. There are no instructions or advice for operating the AGA, maybe some notes in the welcome pack would be useful. There are no instructions for operating the main sink tap which produces boiling water, we nearly scalded our hands on more than one occasion - maybe some guidance in the welcome pack would be useful. There are no bottles of shower gel & shampoo in the bathrooms – maybe larger refillable dispensers could be available? Overall poor value for money, dangerous & poorly maintained. The owners seem to think that spending hundreds of pounds on Le Creuset pans is better than spending money on urgently needed maintenance! If we knew how bad this place was, we would not have wasted our money. All of the above (& more) was reported to Bolthole but sadly the owners didn’t think anything was amiss. The one positive were the comfy beds!
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback