Located in Banner Elk, this holiday home is in a rural area and near theme parks. Sugar Mountain Resort and Beech Mountain Resort are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Grandfather Mountain and The Blowing Rock. Consider The Mill at Rock Creek for a night out or Tweetsie Railroad if you're travelling with kids. Enjoy the area's slopes with cross-country skiing and snowboarding, and don't miss out on the ice skating and sledging.
Alta Vista Gallery and B & B - 9 min drive - 4.3 km
Apple Hill Farm - 9 min drive - 5.9 km
Watauga River - 10 min drive - 5.6 km
Banner Elk Winery - 10 min drive - 7.3 km
Lees-McRae College - 14 min drive - 10.3 km
Getting around
Tri-Cities, TN (TRI-Tri-Cities Regional) - 84 min drive
Restaurants
Mountain Dog Coffee - 11 min drive
Town Tavern of Banner Elk - 9 min drive
Blink Elk Tap Room - 10 min drive
Banner Elk Cafe - 9 min drive
Puerto Nuevo - 15 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is The Castle At Valle Crucis: Live Like A King! Over 10K sq ft, View, hot tub, pool table, and more! pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at The Castle At Valle Crucis: Live Like A King! Over 10K sq ft, View, hot tub, pool table, and more!?
As of 31 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at The Castle At Valle Crucis: Live Like A King! Over 10K sq ft, View, hot tub, pool table, and more! on 1 November 2026 start from NZ$5,233, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at The Castle At Valle Crucis: Live Like A King! Over 10K sq ft, View, hot tub, pool table, and more!?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at The Castle At Valle Crucis: Live Like A King! Over 10K sq ft, View, hot tub, pool table, and more!?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at The Castle At Valle Crucis: Live Like A King! Over 10K sq ft, View, hot tub, pool table, and more!?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is The Castle At Valle Crucis: Live Like A King! Over 10K sq ft, View, hot tub, pool table, and more! located?
This family-friendly Banner Elk holiday home is located in the mountains, within 3 mi (5 km) of Alta Vista Gallery and B & B, Apple Hill Farm and Watauga River. Tate-Evans Park and The Greene are also within 6 miles (10 km).
Reviews
9.6
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
There are simply no words. It was exceptional! I never write reviews, but this place was royalty.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 13 February 2024
Thank you so much! We are so glad your stay exceeded your expectations, and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review! We'd love to have you back anytime! - BRMR
We have now come up here twice at the same time in the year and it never disappoints!
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 10 February 2025
Thank you! We love having returning guests, and we are so glad you have enjoyed your stays at The Castle at Valle Crucis! Please come back anytime! - BRMR
Our stay was amazing. We were there for a quick girls trip to celebrate our bride. I will say that there were a few things....the driveway was very steep and, quite honestly, scary. The dishwasher didnt seem to be washing the dishes. Lastly, the ovens were difficult in heating up. Overall, the stay was perfect for what we were doing. The views were gorgeous and everyone seemed to have enjoyed themselves. Check-In and check-out were very easy.
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 12 December 2025
Thank yo! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay overall, and we appreciate you working with our customer care team to reach a successful resolution. We'd love to have you back anytime! - BRMR
The Castle is beyond words. We had an amazing time with a lot room to move about. ( we had 13 family members.) The decor is absolutely beautiful. Whoever owns this amazing place certainly knew how to decorate! Beds were comfortable, plenty of kitchen appliances. The driveway up is steep, but easy drivable with 4 wheel drive. We are planning on coming back next year! 5-stars!
Stayed 19 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 18 August 2025
Thank you so much! This made our day! We are so glad you enjoyed your getaway, and we'd love to have you visit anytime! - BRMR
We loved everything about this “CASTLE.” We had 10 adults and more than enough room for everyone to relax and have their own space. There was a ton of seating for hanging out and for dining together as a group. We don’t have one bad thing to say about this place….we will be renting again!
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 8 April 2024
Thank you so much! We are so glad you had a royally good time, and we'd love to have you back again! - BRMR
We loved everything about this house - it was huge and plenty of space for our party of 15. We had a big “thanksgiving” dinner and the kitchen had everything, and so much space to for us to sit and eat. The castle motif was fun for the kids and the beds were comfortable. Just as advertised…
We loved our stay and will be back again!!
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 6 December 2023
Thank you so much! We are so glad you enjoyed your getaway, and we'd love to have you back anytime! - BRMR
Absolutely amazing house. The family had a wonderful time. Take notice of needing a 4x4 to heart. A regular 2x drive vehicle will not make the driveway to the house safely.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 26 June 2023
Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed your getaway! A regular car can navigate the driveway in the summer, but this home does require AWD/4WD in the winter months. Please come back anytime! - BRMR
All aspects of this property are well described. Extremely steep drive with switchbacks. 4WD plus snow chains were needed on our visit. Section of roof on master bedroom balcony had collapsed and tarp covered. It did not affect use of the house. All bedrooms were very comfortable. Hot tub was a hit as were the table games in rec rooom. Lovely place.
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 23 January 2024
Thank you! We'd love to have you back anytime! - BRMR
Our group had a great time! Your home is beautiful and we enjoyed our time in the Castle!
Suggestions: with limited cell service a better stronger WIFI service is needed.
Kitchen: need dish towels, ovens not heating properly and racks need to be repositioned, ice maker not working.
HOT tub is fabulous but temp was 70 degrees when we arrived.
We absolutely loved our stay with 10 friends for my birthday and will be back! Above is suggestions not negatives!
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 7 February 2023
Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We are sharing your suggestions with our team. Please come back anytime! - BRMR
Property was just as described. Beautifully decorated and lots of room to spread out. The game room was a hit for the men to watch football. We loved spending time at the large dining table that was large enought to seat everyone. The only problem we had was the ice maker in the refridgerator did not work and according to the property manager who was quick to arrive, it has never worked. For a house of this size this is a big inconvenience and dissapointment. I would expect ice to be provided or at least mentioned in the description. Otherwise, the property is magnificent once you arrive!
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 5 December 2023
Thank you so much! We are so glad you enjoyed your getaway! We are sharing your feedback with our team so we can look into this further, and we'd love to have you visit again! - BRMR
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Sonja S.
3 February 2025
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, listing accuracy
Disliked: Communication
No Oven in Isolated Location
A group of 12 friends chose the Castle for the unique location on the side of a mountain. We brought food for the long weekend to avoid trips on the extremely narrow and steep driveway. Very dissappointing to have a note on the double oven stating that both ovens didn't work. When we asked for an additional gas tank in hopes that we could bake/cook food on the outside grill, we did not get a respsonse. We pre-paid for fire wood to be delivered and never received the wood. We were given a refund for the firewood. No compsensation was given for no working ovens. Yes, it was stated in the contract that no refund for missing/broken appliances. I never thought that they meant a MAJOR appliance like OVENS. The house is impressive. The service and communication was dissappointing.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 4 February 2025
We appreciate your feedback, but we are very sorry to hear this! Our customer care team will be reaching out to discuss your stay further. Please come back anytime! - BRMR
This trip was a reunion of friends from all over the world and the USA...and we wanted something private and exotic...and this castle fit the bill.
First: the castle itself was extraordinary. I don't think I've seen anything like it listed in VRBO. Each room was perfect with amazing views (though more on this later) with a generous kitchen, good dining rooms and a fantastic living room centered around a fireplace. It felt like we were in Wayne Manor.
The area itself was also exceptional in terms of dining, which was the main excuse for us to venture out. I don't think we had a bad meal the entire time.
That said: a few things of note: When they say the driveway is 'tricky' they aren't kidding. I found myself driving other people's cars who weren't confident about navigating up the steep switchbacks. Best advice: either 4 wheel drive...OR...know how to drive in low-gear. Really any car can make the ascent if you take it slow. In winter...well that's another story.
The other thing to know...and I've commented to the hosts on this...there are no curtains in the bedrooms. Now..privacy isn't an issue...you're on a mountain miles from anyone...the real issue is the sun waking you up so early every morning! So...sleep masks recommended.
Other than that...it really was a magical place and we plan on returning sometime.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 20 June 2024
Thank you so much! We are so glad you enjoyed your getaway! We are sharing your feedback with our team, and we'd love to have you back anytime! - BRMR
We thoroughly enjoyed everything about the castle! We had one great grandparent, 3 sets of grandparents, and 2 married couples each with a 10 month old baby. Everyone loved the views, the enormity of the castle itself, the wood burning fireplace on the back porch (many s’mores consumed) the basketball goal, the pool table, ping pong table, foosball table (one of the best I’ve ever played on), the theatre, hot tub etc, etc. Jason’s (property manager) communication was great. We obviously loved it but there were a few negatives. The ladies all loved the kitchen (dual ovens, 8 burner gas stove, copper sinks, 2 dishwashers, butlers pantry) but they all had the same complaint. The ovens either got too hot and burnt the food or barely warmed up. Seems it needs to be re-calibrated? The trek up the driveway is no joke. We had perfect weather and it was still an eye opener even in my truck (but definitely doable). The coffee pot had a hole in the glass carafe. There were two other single Keurig machines but we’re all big coffee drinkers so went out and bought a cheap replacement pot. We never could get any of the indoor gas fireplaces to work? The closet in the Master Bedroom had no light (assume light bulbs burnt out). And finally, one of the tub/showers had a busted mechanism to swap from tub to shower. Stuck in shower position. All that to say, the impact on us was minimal and we loved the place.
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 9 September 2024
Thank you! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that it worked for the entire family! We appreciate you letting us know about the maintenance issues, and we are sharing this with our team so they can be addressed. Our customer care team will also be reaching out to you as well. We'd love to have you visit anytime! - BRMR
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Verified traveller
12 May 2024
Liked: Check-in, communication
Disliked: Cleanliness, location
App State Graduation
The property has tremendous potential. The location is fantastic however the access road to the property is not well maintained and therefore creates a more difficult experience than it should be to drive up or down.Once inside the views are breathtaking but the home is overwhelmed with maintenance issues. Upstairs showers do not drain properly. AC unit 1 doesn’t work. Air intake/return has incorrect air filter size which attributes to the massive amount of dust and dirt found throughout the interior. Master bath shower is missing a shower valve and has massive floor staining and corrosion. The exterior fire place needs repair on the hearth. Two flus, kitchen fireplace and main ballroom fire place do not stay fully open without the assistance of a paper clip. The kitchen double stoves are Dacor and need maintenance and calibration as they do not read the proper temperature and they do not cycle through the pre heat/ bake cycle correctly. The kitchen sink has a insink compactor that smells and the sink itself needs a very thorough cleaning. Main dinning area wall light fixture switch plates are made of wood and look as if they have been exposed to high levels of moisture such that the finish is sticky. Kitchen to main dining area as a large rock holding the door in one direction.
Remote controls for the fire place in kitchen, library, main bedroom do not work. Only remote for fire places that works is in main ball room
Third floor smells musty.Sheets were dirty.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 13 May 2024
Thank you! We appreciate your feedback, but we are so sorry to hear there were issues during your stay! We are sharing your feedback with our team, and we'll be reaching out to discuss this further. Please come back anytime! - BRMR
Verified review
8/10 Good
Jonelle W.
29 June 2026
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication
Disliked: Location
The stay at the Castle was an experience that you would not expect in the mountains of North Carolina! The worst part was the very steep and hard to maneuver driveway up the mountain! The pot holes on the road were also pretty bad! You would not want to travel in bad weather if you don’t have a 4wheel drive vehicle. This is a very unique place to stay. We enjoyed being the “Lords of the Manor”. The views were spectacular! Loved having the elevator, which is not listed in the amenities. The kitchen could use some large stock pots for cooking for a large group. We loved sitting on the outside porch, but it needed to be cleaned as well as the gas grill. Also, due to someone’s comments about no window treatments, I had sleep masks for everyone due to the sun rise waking you up!
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 2 July 2026
Thank you for staying with us and for the thoughtful feedback. Glad you enjoyed the views and the unique experience. Sorry about the steep driveway and potholes but now you see why we are so clear that 4-wheel drive is needed! We’ll look into larger stock pots, schedule a deeper cleaning of the porch and gas grill, and review options for window treatments. Thanks again and we'd welcome you back anytime! - BRMR
The entire family enjoyed our stay at the "Christmas Castle". Many memories were made we enjoyed watching basket ball, playing in game room and pool room. Library was enjoyed by some. The kitchen was great stock to cook, gather and enjoy great meals. Thanks for sharing your gorgeous home. We look forward to coming again in the future.