5 mins to Acadia and 5 min walk to town!

Photo gallery for 5 mins to Acadia and 5 min walk to town!

A modern living room with a sofa, a wooden chair, a coffee table, and a large window with curtains.
A two-story house with a porch, a chimney, and a white fence.
A living room with a sectional sofa, a wooden coffee table, and a dining area with a table and chairs.
A cozy living room with a sofa, a wooden table, and a vintage suitcase.
A cozy room with a grey sofa, a round woven ottoman, and a poster of Acadia National Park.

Reviews

9.2 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Made for relaxation
    Top-rated for comfort — guests feel right at home here.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.

Popular amenities

  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Pet-friendly
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Internet

Explore the area

View map
Southwest Harbor, ME
  • Place, Wendell Gilley Museum
    ‪3 min walk‬
  • Place, Acadia National Park
    ‪3 min drive‬
  • Place, Acadia National Park's Visitors Center
    ‪22 min drive‬
  • Airport, Bar Harbor, ME (BHB-Hancock County - Bar Harbor)
    ‪21 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 7)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 3

1 Single Bed and 1 Double Bed

1 bathroom, 1 half bathroom

Bathroom 1

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Half Bathroom

Toilet

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Balcony
Garden
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Southwest Harbor

Located in Southwest Harbor, this holiday home is near the beach. Bar Harbor Whale Watch Co is a popular attraction and the area's natural beauty can be seen at Acadia National Park and Acadia National Park's Visitors Center. Travelling with kids? Consider Pirate's Cove Adventure Golf and College of the Atlantic Natural History Museum. Discover the area's water adventures with kayaking and power boating nearby, or enjoy the great outdoors with hiking/biking trails and ecotours.
Map
Southwest Harbor, ME

What's nearby

  • Wendell Gilley Museum - 3 min walk - 0.3 km
  • Acadia National Park - 3 min drive - 2.5 km
  • Bar Harbor Whale Watch Co - 20 min drive - 28.0 km
  • Acadia National Park's Visitors Center - 22 min drive - 25.8 km
  • Cadillac Mountain - 31 min drive - 33.7 km

Getting around

  • Bar Harbor, ME (BHB-Hancock County - Bar Harbor) - 20 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Jordan Pond House - ‬29 min drive
  • ‪Shell - ‬10 min drive
  • The Salty Fisherman
  • ‪Beal's Lobster Pier - ‬2 min drive
  • ‪Thurston's Lobster Pound - ‬9 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is 5 mins to Acadia and 5 min walk to town! pet-friendly?

Yes, this property allows cats and dogs (limit 1 total).

How much does it cost to stay at 5 mins to Acadia and 5 min walk to town!?

As of 1 November 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at 5 mins to Acadia and 5 min walk to town! on 2 November 2026 start from NZ$1,570, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at 5 mins to Acadia and 5 min walk to town!?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at 5 mins to Acadia and 5 min walk to town!?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at 5 mins to Acadia and 5 min walk to town!?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is 5 mins to Acadia and 5 min walk to town! located?

This family-friendly Southwest Harbor holiday home is located near the beach, within 2 mi (3 km) of Wendell Gilley Museum and Acadia National Park. Flying Mountain Trailhead and Long Pond are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Reviews

9.2

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 9 out of 13 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 3 out of 13 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 0 out of 13 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 13 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 13 reviews

9.6/10

Cleanliness

9.2/10

Check-in

10/10

Communication

9.2/10

Location

9.0/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The cottage was just what we needed! It was well-stocked and comfortable, with plenty of spaces for the kids and family to relax. It is an easy walk into town, and on a quieter side of the island.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great stay

We had a great stay here. Jen was extremely communicative and the property was just as listed. We had a comfortable stay here as a family of 3 (2 adults and 1 child). Short walk to SWH center and close drive to most places in the park we wanted to visit. We really enjoyed our stay.
Stayed 5 nights in May 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

A cosy stay in the best location!

We had a wonderful stay, check-in and check out was simple. The house was so cozy and a great location to get around the island. Close to some of the easier hikes and not far to drive to Bar Harbor. Thanks for a wonderful stay
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great for quiet side

The location on the quiet side of Mount Desert Island was exactly what we were looking for—peaceful, scenic, and away from the crowds, yet still an easy drive to Acadia and Bar Harbor.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great house and location. Jen was a very helpful and accommodating host. The on-line guide to area attractions, shops and restaurants was absolutely amazing- the best I have ever seen. Highly recommended.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
This compact and well-equipped house is conveniently located on a quiet neighborhood street within walking distance of downtown Southwest Harbor. The bedrooms are small, but adequate and the beds very comfortable. There were plenty of extra towels and linens, and the kitchen had many basic supplies, such as spices, paper, towels, dishwasher detergent, etc. Our group of four adults, a toddler, and a dog was able to spread out in the comfortably living room and made use of the deck and sun porch as well. We had a couple of inconveniences related to a broken washing machine and running two ACs simultaneously on an uncharacteristically hot day. But our host, Jen, was impressively responsive to all messages and did her best to resolve the problems, which was complicated by the Fourth of July weekend. In the end, we were only moderately inconvenienced for a short period of time. All in all, we had a lovely stay and enjoyed the house and the neighborhood. Recommended!
Stayed 12 nights in Jun 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
I had read the reviews before I booked and was shocked by the (for lack of a better descriptor) prima donna "Karen". Had I believed her, I would have missed out on an absolutely wonderful VRBO. Glad I recognized it for what it was and discarded that one. But let me address a few of her issues: floor crooked - My late husband was an engineer, so he would sometimes point out the floors... so I can state, I did not notice the floor in kitchen tilted. If it were, I would attribute that to settling as sometimes happens to older homes over the years. But again, I did not observe that. The floors, walls and windows were fine. The windows were clean and everything in the kitchen was immaculate.There is a climb up stairs, which would be difficult for people with mobility issues. However, at 67 1/2, I had no problem climbing the 10 or so stairs. The rooms were fine and the sun room was great to sit out and watch tv. The place is situated close to town and less than a block form the Wendel Gilley Museum. He carved birds and they are amazing. There is a free shuttle that goes to Bar Harbor and you can catch one to the park also. We did that a couple of days.Jen is absolutely the best. She provided us with great info for what to see and where to eat and we went to many of the places she suggested. She was quite responsive to any inquiry I had. We left the place as clean as we found it and truly appreciated the experience with my two daughters and son-in-law.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2026
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Quietside Cottage was in a great location, just a short walk to Southwest Harbor (shops and restaurants). The home was fine (sunporch great), but needs some maintenance to make it great. Communication with the manager was very good and their digital guide best I have seen.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We had a wonderful stay at Quietside Cottage. We loved the quiet street for our kids to walk and ride bikes on; we loved proximity to town to be able to walk to ice cream, coffee, and restaurants. We loved proximity to hiking in Acadia, and swimming at Echo lake. We loved proximity to the SW bus stop to be able to get to Bar Harbor without a car. In terms of the house itself, the three season room was our favorite place to be - very comfortable for our kids and for us. The bedrooms were small but comfortable, with much-needed AC units throughout. We loved having laundry machines as our little kids generate laundry fast!Our toddler really loved the big bathtub and enjoyed his nightly splashes.Only note to add, for parents of little kids - there is an open area of the staircase so that was a potential hazard that we were able to navigate with careful one-to-one supervision while on the stairs. Would encourage adding that to the listing description, or a photo of it for full disclosure ahead of time.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 19 July 2025
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We truly appreciate your feedback. We are adding additional railings to the stairs to address the area that you pointed out. Thank you for helping us make the property better for our smallest guests!
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Communication
Disliked: Check-in, location, listing accuracy
The shower is awful, hope you aren’t tall!The kitchen is far from fully stocked or usable to cook meals in.The floors are uneven and sloped around the closet and fridge making you feel like you’re falling. The windows in the kitchen don’t open.The staircase is treacherous. Why is there not a railing on both sides of a semi- circular step?There looks like a lot of unfinished work or sloppy work trying to get the place ready for season.I’m not a snob and think we were getting a palace but this was really a disappointment. It felt like a step up from camping, which is not what renting a house is suppose to be. It was also in a location that was not great. The house behind you that completely overlooks you is never shown in photos. The deck and the grill were dirty!
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 22 July 2025
Geez, Louise! Either you have never actually been camping or we have been doing it wrong all these years! We're truly sorry your stay felt less like a relaxing getaway and more like an extreme sport, complete with treacherous staircases and floors that double as an optical illusion. We're particularly proud of our "adventure shower"—perfect for those who enjoy a good crouch. But in all seriousness, we aim for perfection, and it seems our 'perfectly imperfect' house may not have been to your taste. Although we are sure our future guests will see your review and understand it is an unfair outlier, we take all our guests' feedback seriously and use it to continuously improve our property. We pride ourselves in our stocked kitchens, as our future guests can see from our prior 5 star reviews that specifically mention how well the kitchen was stocked. However sometimes things break or accidentally travel home with guests. Whenever a guest requests an item or reports something missing, we have it replaced within a day, usually within hours. We would have been happy to do the same for you if you had reached out to us. No other guests have mentioned an issue with the height of the shower head, but to accommodate our exceptionally tall future guests, we have installed a shower head extension that will allow our largest guests to have a more enjoyable experience in the shower without having to lean over to rinse the shampoo out of their hair. Again thank you for pointing this out, we are always looking for ways we can improve our guests' experience. Our home is older, and much like all of us, sagging is just part of aging that we all need to accept. Although, no guests have pointed out a sag in the floor that made them feel like they were falling! We will be sure to check the area to make sure nothing unexpected has occurred that has turned the slightly uneven floors into a fun-house ride. Maybe we can add that to our description as an extra amenity! The kitchen windows sometimes stick when it is humid outside and Maine summers can be hot and humid! We would have been happy to address the issue during your stay if you had asked, but since you only pointed the issue out after you left we greased them up for the next guests. We are grateful for your feedback on that item so our next guests can enjoy the fresh Maine air when they aren't in need of the air conditioning! We appreciate your concerns for the steps and are having more railings installed for our guests with mobility issues or small children. You're right, our house is not a palace, nor a hotel, nor a luxury property. We're sorry if the property description somehow misled you on that. She is a well loved home that has welcomed many families and friends for many years, all who have truly enjoyed their stays. We're sorry you didn't enjoy our neighborhood. Being so close to downtown Southwest Harbor, our house does have other houses on all sides and many of our neighbors are lovely Islanders who live here year round. The privacy fence between us and the house behind us is intended to prevent guests from being "completely overlooked" but we suppose if you are not used to being in a neighborhood setting the area may have come as a shock to you. Guests are able to view our property location ahead of booking to see the exact location of our house in relation to our neighbors and we think they will find the location to be one of the main reasons to book with us! We apologize that the deck and grill were dirty. Our cleaning team cleans both the deck and grill after every stay. They send us pictures of the clean grill after every cleaning, so we know it was pristine when they left it for you. Unfortunately the deck is shaded by beautiful maple trees that not only give shade and privacy, but sometimes have the nerve to drop leaves and pollen. We have a cleaning team on standby 24/7 and would have been happy to send someone over to clean the area for you if you had contacted us at all during your stay. We are available to our guests 24/7 and always strive to make their vacations wonderful. We encourage all our guests to reach out to us any time before, during, or after their stay with questions or concerns. Although much of your review was unfair, we have taken your constructive criticism and applied it to make our house even better for the next guests. We are truly sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and hope your next trip is more to your liking. We hope that despite feeling like you were just a tent short of a camping trip, you found some joy in the trip!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Nicely located near downtown SW harbor and Acadia NP. Comfortable accommodations and everything you need!
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Stayed 3 nights in May 2026
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback