Los Gatos is home to this holiday home. Roaring Camp Railroads and Mystery Spot are notable landmarks, and the area's natural beauty can be seen at Silicon Valley and Capitola Beach. Travelling with kids? Consider Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and Villa Montalvo.
Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park - 17 min drive - 14.0 km
Felton Covered Bridge Park - 17 min drive - 14.0 km
Roaring Camp Railroads - 19 min drive - 15.4 km
Silicon Valley - 25 min drive - 19.7 km
Getting around
San Jose Diridon Station - 29 min drive
Watsonville, CA (WVI-Watsonville Municipal) - 53 min drive
Restaurants
McDonald's - 19 min drive
Pizza Series - 20 min drive
Jack in the Box - 18 min drive
Starbucks - 18 min drive
Bruno's Bar and Grill - 20 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Private Retreat in Santa Cruz Mountains w Hot Tub pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 2 total) with a maximum weight of up to 453 kg per pet.
How much does it cost to stay at Private Retreat in Santa Cruz Mountains w Hot Tub ?
As of 29 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Private Retreat in Santa Cruz Mountains w Hot Tub on 10 April 2027 start from NZ$1,835, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Private Retreat in Santa Cruz Mountains w Hot Tub ?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Private Retreat in Santa Cruz Mountains w Hot Tub ?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Private Retreat in Santa Cruz Mountains w Hot Tub ?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Private Retreat in Santa Cruz Mountains w Hot Tub located?
Located in Los Gatos, this family-friendly holiday home is 1.9 mi (3 km) from Santa Cruz Mountains, and within 9 mi (15 km) of Roaring Camp Railroads and Felton Covered Bridge Park. Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park and Byington Vineyard and Winery are also within 9 miles (15 km).
Reviews
8.8
Excellent
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Place was nice. The road into the property is a very windy, narrow mountain road. Very private and surrounded by beautiful forest. My favorite part was the back porch, with hot tub, fire pit, and views of the trees.
Our stay at this wonderful home was amazing! Very clean, cozy , comfortable and peaceful. The kitchen was stocked up with everything we needed to cook breakfast lunch and dinner. Also there was plenty of towels and sheets. We hope to be able to return in the future. Thank you Catherine
This place is just what the doctor ordered!! So peaceful and relaxing my boyfriend and I celebrated our birthdays!! We will definitely be coming back!!!
Host helpful with my questions before the stay. Listing is very cute and as described. Wonderful serenity in the woods. Well equipped kitchen. Easy check out process. Look forward to staying again!
Definitely a challenging road to navigate getting to property. Since it’s so remote and food delivery is not reliable would love if the kitchen had more plates and utensils to use and more cookware for use. House was decorated beautifully. Bed was comfy. Area is beautiful. We did lose power for our last night and morning.
We loved our stay in this super quiet, peaceful and magical spot amongst the trees. The home was well-stocked and included all we needed for a relaxing stay. Catherine was a responsive and communicative host. The road out is windy and narrow, but just take it slow and enjoy the views. We hope to return soon!
Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2026
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Stephanie
21 October 2024
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities, communication
A beautiful very windy 5-mile drive down a mostly one-lane road from the freeway to the home, which is very clean and cozy. We had a great stay.
I booked this house 8 months prior to my scheduled stay because of a very special family gathering that would take place over a period of 4 days. Unfortunately, the advertisement on the website did not include important information for guests to make an informed decision on whether this house and host were a good fit. There were several key factors that strongly influenced a score of 2 which are as follows: (1) The host did not communicate in a timely manner. (2) The information disclosed on the booking website doesn't match the house rule-book. Traveling to the house consisted of single-lane, poorly maintained roads with no street lights for at least 4 miles in any direction- this was not disclosed until a day before arriving and too late to cancel, of course.Other inconsistencies from the booking website were for pets; unattended pets were not allowed, and if unattended, required crating. The host uses security cameras to monitor house rules, pets and barking behavior. However, neighbor’s barking dogs are nearby. The lack of communication by the host didn’t allow one to avoid these misunderstandings. Requested exceptions to unanticipated pet rules were ignored upon a second plea. We felt very uncomfortable and left one day into a 4-day pre-paid rental. Refund requests have been ignored. This has not been the high standard and quality of holiday rental experiences I have had for over 6 year that are typical this vacation rental and booking service.
First of all it’s a beautiful house, very warm & inviting. I loved the vibes & decor. It’s a great getaway in the woods, secluded from everywhere. I would definitely come back. My only complaint is better communication with the host regarding some issues with my stay.
Easy to find in the dark, lovely drive. So, so peaceful- exactly what we wanted. It was wonderful waking up to trees, fresh air and birds chirping. Kitchen and home had everything we needed. We needed a deeply relaxing rest and we got it! While not unscented, we appreciated that the linens and towels were lightly scented rather than drowned in chemical fragrances. Huge plus!Small suggestions for kitchen; fresh sponge, a brush to clean inside glasses (or a travel cup), and normal sized/shaped teaspoons. Kitchen was well stocked with olive oil, herbs & spices, coffee. Hot tub- we hoped to spend more time in it but it was over chlorinated; eyes burning, nostrils stung, and skin felt burned showering afterwards. That’s an easy fix…Overall, we greatly enjoyed our peaceful retreat and plan to return. We may have found our local getaway!
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 31 March 2026
Thanks for staying with us Swantje and we appreciate your feedback! I just want to confirm that we do not use any synthetic smells our home and we use a fragrance free, clean brand of laundry detergent. We are super sensitive to this! As far as the hot tub goes, we have had it serviced every week for the past 2 years and this is the first time we are hearing about it being over-chlorinated. We have reached out to our spa tech to make sure this does not happen again. Thanks again and we hope you visit again!
This place is a wonderful mountain home retreat. Our stay was very pleasant and quiet. The Solitude offered here was very much needed. Sitting in the hot tub, with a fire blazing, with some cold drinks was very enjoyable. The home is roomy & clean with all needed amenities to enjoy a stay. Everything worked as needed. All linens were clean and there was an ample supply of extras. The hot tub was nice and clean and has a nice outdoor shower next to it for rinsing before and showering after a good tub sitting. The fire pit worked well and provided a nice ambiance while sitting in the tub. The home stays warm easy. There is a nice big hammock for relaxing in the sun as well. There is a cool little one mile loop trail that takes off out the back and intersects with the road to bring you back to the home. The host was always in touch and check in/out was easy. We had a great stay. A few things to note. If mountain driving is not your thing, this is a curvy steep route in, but the solitude and stay were worth the trek. Make sure you stock up on supplies for your stay. The closest stores are 30 min away, even more if your a little nervous about the roads. There is no washer & dryer..so bring enough clothing to last your stay.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2026
Verified review
4/10 Poor
David L.
29 September 2025
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Check-in, location, listing accuracy
House is good and in good condition. The problem is that ir is extremely difficult to get with one lane road for both direction and on the side of a mountain and narrow. There were no warning the posting to that fact. Secondly, property is extremely difficult to find, however, after we found it the place was clean and in good condition. the problem is that the TV does not work with regular channels, DVD player is extremely difficult to figure out, Draperies are hanging on the floor - with the price one pay for this property, one would expect to have a regular draperies instead of a white sheet as blinds.Far away from grocery stores ir any stores if ine forget to bring something. Other than that, the stay was very nice and quiet. I propsed to my girlfriend and she said YES!Thank you
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 16 February 2026
Hi David! We appreciate your feedback but want to mention that you are the only guest we have ever had that got lost trying to find the house. I explicitly requested that you use Google Maps to avoid any confusion but seems you did not take that feedback. You’re also the only guest who could not get the brand new smart tv to work. Just want to make sure to outline that as I don’t think your review was very fair. Happy you got a yes though- congrats to both of you!
We chose this home based on the listing photos, which made it appear bright, modern, and comfortable. In person, however, the house felt noticeably darker and more dated than expected.The house was uncomfortably warm, with no air conditioning and very limited airflow. This made the stay difficult.The property is accessed via a long, winding, single-lane road that felt steep and challenging to navigate, particularly after dark. This detail was not clearly communicated in the listing and would have been helpful to know in advance.Additionally, one of the bedrooms described as having a queen bed instead included a twin bed and a loft space accessed by a steep ladder with another small bed. This setup differed from our expectations based on the description.We had originally planned a six-night stay so our son could recover from ACL surgery, but we ended up choosing to leave after less than 24 hours due to the overall situation.We had filtered for pet-friendly properties and assumed that included our cat. After arrival, we learned that cats were not permitted. While we understand this was our misunderstanding, the communication around this felt very aggressive and added to the stress of the situation.Overall, the house did not meet our expectations, and the stay felt more stressful than anticipated during a time when we were hoping for a comfortable and restful environment.
Stayed 6 nights in Mar 2026
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Stephen H.
26 June 2026
Liked: Location
This spot is amazing - our family had a great time. It is quiet and relaxing, and has everything you need for a getaway in the woods.