The Kojak – 5-Bedroom Mountain Retreat close to Lake Pactola

Photo gallery for The Kojak – 5-Bedroom Mountain Retreat close to Lake Pactola

A spacious room with a large bed, a fireplace, and a TV.
A kitchen with wooden cabinets, a granite countertop, a black refrigerator, a stove, and a microwave.
A spacious kitchen with wooden cabinets, a central island, and large windows offering a view of trees and mountains.
A multi-level cabin with a deck, surrounded by trees.
A bedroom with a bed, a window with curtains, a wooden ceiling, and a wall-mounted light fixture.

Reviews

9.2 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Walk to Black Hills National Forest

Popular amenities

  • Spa pool on site
  • Patio
  • Barbecue
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Internet

Explore the area

View map
Rapid City, SD
  • Place, Black Hills National Forest
    ‪1 min walk‬
  • Place, Mount Rushmore National Memorial
    ‪34 min drive‬
  • Place, Mount Rushmore
    ‪39 min drive‬
  • Airport, Rapid City, SD (RAP-Rapid City Regional)
    ‪56 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

5 bedrooms (sleeps 10)

Bedroom 1

1 King Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 3

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 4

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 5

1 Queen Bed

2 bathrooms, 1 half bathroom

Bathroom 1

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Bathroom 2

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Bathroom 3

Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Rapid City

Located in Rapid City, this holiday home is in a rural area and in the mountains. Travellers eager for a bit of culture can stop by Mount Rushmore National Memorial, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Black Hills National Forest and Mount Rushmore. Museum @ Black Hills Institute and 1880 Train are also worth visiting. Jet skiing and kayaking offer great chances to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with hunting and mountain biking nearby.
Map
Rapid City, SD

What's nearby

  • Black Hills National Forest - 1 min walk - 0.0 km
  • 1880 Train - 28 min drive - 31.0 km
  • Mount Rushmore National Memorial - 34 min drive - 40.4 km
  • Mount Rushmore - 39 min drive - 43.2 km
  • Custer State Park - 40 min drive - 48.8 km

Getting around

  • Rapid City, SD (RAP-Rapid City Regional) - 63 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Rimrock Happy Tavern - ‬28 min drive
  • ‪Ridgeline Roadhouse - ‬19 min drive
  • ‪Circle B Ranch and Chuckwagon - ‬23 min drive
  • ‪No Bad Days Tap Wagon - ‬21 min drive
  • ‪Horse Creek Inn - ‬19 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is The Kojak – 5-Bedroom Mountain Retreat close to Lake Pactola pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much is parking at The Kojak – 5-Bedroom Mountain Retreat close to Lake Pactola?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at The Kojak – 5-Bedroom Mountain Retreat close to Lake Pactola?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at The Kojak – 5-Bedroom Mountain Retreat close to Lake Pactola?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is The Kojak – 5-Bedroom Mountain Retreat close to Lake Pactola located?

Situated in the mountains, this holiday home is within 9 miles (15 km) of Pactola Pines Marina, Pactola Point Swim Beach and Sheridan Lake. Sheridan Lake North and Black Hills National Forest are also within 12 miles (20 km).

Reviews

9.2

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 35 out of 53 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 13 out of 53 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 3 out of 53 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 2 out of 53 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 53 reviews

9.4/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Check-in

10/10

Communication

9.0/10

Location

9.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great place for our family to enjoy some downtime together.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Lovely place to stay at!! We had an amazing weekend:) The master bedroom view was literally perfect!! The drive into thw driveway way a little scary at first but we made it work!! Would book again
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 2 September 2026
Thank you for the review.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication
Disliked: Location
There was no information about the road leading up to the property and steepness of the driveway. Need 4 Wheel Drive to get there. Property was clean. Views were beautiful.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 16 September 2026
Disappointed in the review but that is ok. The picture of the driveway is shown and it states steep driveway. You do not need 4 wheel drive we have a van that does not even have front wheel drive and can get out fine. I will admit it is not wide and it is steep and not an easy one to get in and out of but it can be done. Thank you though for staying!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The views are ah-mazing! The Rapid City address threw us, as it’s definitely a little trip into the mountains - not rapid city proper. But we would come back 100%! Sunrises and sunsets with the most stunning view. This week was hot one- thankful for fans in the upstairs rooms. Thanks for a wonderful stay!
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 13 July 2026
Thank you for the review and for staying with us
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The Kojak cabin was perfect for our family vacation. We had 8 adults. We enjoyed the spacious living room and large table to eat as a family. The hot tub was well used. We loved the mountain view and privacy. The host replied quickly to any concerns. Thank you for an Epic Vacation. Would recommend!
Stayed 10 nights in May 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 9 June 2026
Thank you for the great review and for staying with us!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great place, great view
Stayed 6 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 3 September 2025
Thank you for staying!
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication
Disliked: Location
The property itself was wonderful with well stocked comfort, a very nice hot tub, and spectacular views. The driveway however was washed out with a gully, uneven, and seemed treacherous, Our all wheel drive truck barely made it back up and out the vertical and sharp turning driveway from the cabin. Subsequently we and my daughters family van parked 200 feet past the driveway entrance on a flat safe spot from then on. Carrying suitcases, the kids, food, and etc up and down that driveway was exhausting and really affected the overall trip.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 17 July 2026
Thank you for staying. I have pictures of the driveway on the site so guests have an idea of the incline and width. I am sorry this was an inconvenience for you.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Location 😍

Loved the location and views!
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 24 August 2023
Thank you for staying. We are happy you enjoyed your stay! Julie
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Short stay

Great relaxing trip before school began
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 27 August 2024
Thank you for staying
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Amazing views, great experience

Property was great, property owners made it a great, seamless, easy experience
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 17 September 2024
Thank you for staying!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Amazing views

This home was perfect for our stay at Rapid City. The views were incredible!! The home is very centrally located to all of the local attractions.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2019
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We actually stayed at Reinerheim cabin. The host contacted us that Kojak had an issue with flies and asked if we wanted to switch cabins. The view at reinerheim was amazing and the cabin was very clean.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 17 October 2025
Thank you for staying and glad you enjoyed the home.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Very nice place!

This property was so fun to stay. We had a total of 10 family guests and we all had a blast. The only downfall was actually the driveway, which was quite steep and awkward to enter and exit. Overall, an excellent place to spend a couple of nights in some beautiful country!
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 3 August 2024
Thank you for staying. That driveway is crazy I agree. We appreciate you taking care of the home! Julie
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Kojak

Great property and location for accessing the OHV trail systems. Only complaint was lack of WIFI which seems pretty mandatory these days to watch TV, surf your phone apps or work on the laptop.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 28 May 2025
Thank you for staying and I will pass the review onto the homeowner as well so they can be aware guests need wi-fi
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Mountain Stay!

We had a great stay in this mountain home that provided plenty of room for our family of 6. The kitchen was well stocked with cookware of many kinds, and the grill worked great. I wouldn’t want to try to enter the driveway in winter, but we had no issues during our stay in June. The host was very kind and we highly recommend.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 11 July 2023
Thank you for staying! Yes that driveway is a little tricky.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Clean home. Driveway is not for weak of heart. Last turn is a killer. View is wonderful, sunrises are fabulous and area is very quiet. Location was great for our plans. Road work delays need some patience. Too many flies.
Sunrise from deck
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 4 October 2025
Thank you for Staying! I agree the drive Is a little tricky and the cluster flies are bad this year sorry about that.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
This is a fantastic location and home. Absolutely loved the views from both decks and at the top of the driveway. Very homey and even with 9 people, we had plenty of room. You are staying on top of a mountain and the driveway is steep. We had a wagoneer and suburban that managed fine with just enough room to turn around by the cabin. If you are a Jeeper and love trail riding, this is your place to stay! Highly recommend!
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Getaway

We had such a great stay at this house, we wanted to get away from the noise for a few days and this allowed us to do just that. You can barely see any houses for miles, the views are amazing, the house was comfortable, everything was easy to use, Julie was great to deal with. The driveway can be a little nerve racking if you don't have experience driving in the mountains but it was no issue for us. Would highly recommend this place.
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 3 October 2024
Thank you for staying and we are so glad you enjoyed the home. We appreciate the review! That driveway is a little intimidating for sure
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

First time in the hills

Clean and easy communication.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2023
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beautiful View

Views were beautiful. Drive was steep as stated, but with skilled drivers no issues. House was well stocked. Easy communication - long drive up the hills as stated. The only thing is the hot tub wasn’t that clean and one kid ended up with hot tub rash - would be cautious of the hot tub even with showering before and after. We had an amazing time and would stay again!
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 1 July 2024
Thank you for the review and letting me know about the hottub. Wish you would have mentioned it while you were there. We do add chlorine and chemicals when the hottub is checked. We ask the children not stay in more than 20 min. at a time as they are strong. Thank you though.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wow the view is incredible

Wow - what a view. The property is in good shape. Bathrooms do need updated- carpet in bath is a little disturbing The drive way is very difficult - if you are not a good driver, stay away. BUT.... The view is worth it! Overall a good experience .
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 2 September 2022
Scott thank you for staying. I agree with you on that driveway and I have been going down it 15 years. Homeowners will be improving those bathrooms soon. Thanks for taking care of the home. Julie
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beautiful Property and View…if you can handle the driveway.

Property as described. Easy check in and communication. Absolutely gorgeous view during the day and evening. I definitely overlooked the description of the drive way. We drive a suburban and it’s a tight turn into the driveway and tight turning around. Would it dissuade us from renting the property again? Absolutely not, just know that pulling into the driveway takes some confidence taking your time.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 23 June 2025
Thank you for staying.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Family Weekend

Enjoyed our stay. Drive up the mountain does take some time…15 to 20 minutes. So need to take that into consideration when you venture out. But the view is beautiful once you get there, especially from the master bedroom! Driveway is a little tricky, but we knew that beforehand and it was manageable for our three vehicles. Kitchen is very well stocked as well as the towels provided. There is a washer and dryer, but no detergent provided. All other cleaning supplies were available.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 25 July 2023
Thank you for staying!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Insane View!

The people that mention the driveway aren't kidding. We didn't make it up there until after dark and that steep and narrow driveway was a little freaky in the dark, but it was doable. Getting out was more tedious than getting in. However, the view makes it totally worth it. The house is awesome. Lots of flies in the house, but for this time of year, that is understandable. The biggest disappointment for us was the Hot tub. It worked fine but it was pretty dirty. I notified the manager and was told that the green tinge is normal... a green defender? I've never seen a green tinge in clean water before, nor have I smelled clean water that stunk. We showered before we got in and had to shower the film off of us after as well. Anyway, we didn't let that ruin our time there and the view from the house is like something out of a movie. I would probably stay there again as long as I didn't have to pay extra for the hot tub. Kind of silly to put an extra charge for using the hot tub when it wasn't properly maintained.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 12 October 2021
Thank you for staying. I assure you the hot tub was fine when you arrived as we do have someone who checks them when guests arrive and when they leave. Yes the flies this time of the year in the mountain homes are abundant. They are called cluster flies and we have the homes sprayed in the spring and fall. Still they are a nuisance. Thank you again! Julie
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Amazing home. Well stocked. Quiet and secluded - perfect get away. The views are stunning. Thank you!!
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 7 August 2026
Thank you for the review and staying with us!
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback