Cabin

Wild Horse Lodge at Highland Hideaways near Grayson Highlands - Arcade/Theater

Photo gallery for Wild Horse Lodge at Highland Hideaways near Grayson Highlands - Arcade/Theater

A wooden log cabin with a porch and stairs leading to a front door.
A park with a picnic table, a bench, and a fire pit.
A room with a pool table, a sofa, a wooden wall with horse head decorations, and a window with blinds.
A hallway with a wooden floor, a white door, and a window with a forest scene.
A kitchen with grey cabinets, a wooden countertop, a microwave, a toaster, and a stove.

Reviews

9.0 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Family fun awaits
    Top-rated for families.
  • Foosball on-site
    A rare find — the foosball table is waiting for you.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Walk to Grayson Highlands State Park

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Dog-friendly
  • Arcade/game room
  • Barbecue
  • Electric vehicle charging point
  • Air-conditioning

Explore the area

View map
Mouth of Wilson, VA
  • Place, Grayson Highlands State Park
    ‪11 min walk‬
  • Place, Mount Rogers National Recreation Area
    ‪20 min walk‬
  • Place, Oak Hill Academy
    ‪16 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

4 bedrooms (sleeps 10)

Downstairs

1 Queen Bed

Upstairs

1 Queen Bed

Upstairs Bedroom 1

2 Single Beds

Upstairs Bedroom 3

1 Queen Bed

1 bathroom

Bathroom

Soap · Towels provided · Toilet · Shower only · Shampoo

Spaces

Deck or patio
Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Separate dining area
Outdoor play area
Garden
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Mouth of Wilson

Located in Mouth of Wilson, this cabin is in a rural area and on the waterfront. Lincoln Theatre and General Francis Marion Hotel are local landmarks, and the area's natural beauty can be seen at Grayson Highlands State Park and Mount Rogers National Recreation Area. Discover the area's water adventures with kayaking and water tubing nearby, or enjoy the great outdoors with hiking/biking trails and horse riding.
Map
Mouth of Wilson, VA

What's nearby

  • Grayson Highlands State Park - 11 min walk - 0.9 km
  • Mount Rogers National Recreation Area - 20 min walk - 1.7 km
  • Oak Hill Academy - 16 min drive - 17.8 km
  • Virginia Creeper Damascus - 26 min drive - 29.9 km
  • Stone Mountain State Park - 54 min drive - 65.2 km

Restaurants

  • ‪Corner Market & Café - ‬6 min drive
  • Sonic
  • ‪Speedy's Chuck Wagon Restaurant - ‬9 min drive
  • ‪Quincy's Pizza - ‬16 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Wild Horse Lodge at Highland Hideaways near Grayson Highlands - Arcade/Theater pet-friendly?

Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 3 total) with a maximum weight of up to 23 kg per pet.

How much does it cost to stay at Wild Horse Lodge at Highland Hideaways near Grayson Highlands - Arcade/Theater ?

As of 31 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Wild Horse Lodge at Highland Hideaways near Grayson Highlands - Arcade/Theater on 6 January 2027 start from NZ$626, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Wild Horse Lodge at Highland Hideaways near Grayson Highlands - Arcade/Theater ?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Wild Horse Lodge at Highland Hideaways near Grayson Highlands - Arcade/Theater ?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Wild Horse Lodge at Highland Hideaways near Grayson Highlands - Arcade/Theater ?

Checkout is at 11:00 AM.

Where is Wild Horse Lodge at Highland Hideaways near Grayson Highlands - Arcade/Theater located?

This family-friendly Mouth of Wilson cabin is located on the waterfront, within 2 mi (3 km) of Jefferson National Forest and Mount Rogers National Recreation Area. Grayson Highlands State Park is 3.1 mi (4.9 km) away.

Reviews

9.0

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 15 out of 22 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 4 out of 22 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 0 out of 22 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 3 out of 22 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 22 reviews

9.4/10

Cleanliness

9.8/10

Check-in

9.4/10

Communication

9.4/10

Location

9.0/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great place but toilet ran all night
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Beautiful, well‑maintained property with an exceptional host.We had a wonderful stay here. The home was beautiful, spotless, and clearly very well maintained. Everything we needed was already provided, which made settling in easy and stress‑free. The host was incredibly responsive and helpful—especially when we had questions about local hiking. Their recommendations made our trip even better.Highly recommended staying here. We’ll definitely be back again.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Had a great time at Wild Horse Lodge. Perfect location to visit the highlands!
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The arcade and all the games in the cabin made for a lot of family fun!
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Great property and very close to the state park. Creek is walking distance and was very fun for my kids to play in. Easy process all around. Only preface for anyone as we had a 1 year old with us and it was a bit challenging for a baby in the house. Just keep that in mind if you are traveling with a new walker. But that’s our problem and does not impact the score or time spent.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
pet friendly, beautiful location. had no issues at all. plenty of seating.
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Fall Getaway

My grown sons and dogs and I enjoyed our stay! We had a blast in the arcade! We enjoyed going to see the ponies at Grayson Highlands!
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

The Perfect Weekend Get Away

The cabin was perfect! It was well stocked with the essentials plus games for the kids. the arcade was a big hit! The host was wonderful and helpful.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The downstairs areas in the arcade were super cute and well furnished. The bedrooms felt kind of simplistic compared to downstairs but they were clean. The kitchen could definitely use some more stuff, a casserole dish, real metal silverware, a strainer, tin foil, multiple and thicker oven mitts, the one that was there was very thin and I had to use multiple rags just to get stuff out of the oven. Having some single use sauce packets or condiments in the fridge would have also been super helpful. With how far the cabin is away from stores it’s important that guests are able to cook good meals! Overall the area was beautiful and I hope to come back soon.
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great place

The cabin was close by a store with all you need, and a short drive from the Highlands. Firewood was easily accessible and not a hassle to purchase. Lots of space for little ones to run
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2023
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The cabin was very clean and cute. A little spooky at night, but it enhanced the experience for sure. The bedrooms upstairs get very hot because the AC doesn’t reach them and the box fan was broken. The WiFi was awesome considering there is no cellular service out there. Overall, a good experience and I would come back!
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 24 August 2025
Fatima, Thanks for staying with us, the box fan was temporary we just added units in the room today. It looks like the box fan got knocked over by a previous guest and the fan popped off the motor. It does get very dark here at night, great for star gazing :)
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Virginia Getaway

Our family stayed at the Wild Horse Lodge for a weekend getaway and it was perfect! It was enough room for all of us and convenient to all the activities we wanted to do (Grayson Highlands State Park, VA Creeper Bike Trail, Abington, etc). The arcade next door really sealed the deal for our teens (and grownups too)! We only wish we had one more night to try the theater. Thanks for a great weekend!
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great adventure

The home is very secluded and nestled in the Appalachian mountain range. We generally stay at Beech Mountain, which we live, but this is a more rugged, natural experience - far fewer people with much more open space to explore. The interior of the house was lovely - while we wish it had two bathrooms, this was a minor inconvenience. Note that dogs are not allowed in the beds; this was not completely clear in the listing (or we missed it). For our hiking trip, it was a great place to relax, particularly for the price! Thanks so much for sharing your home with us!
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Last Minute Long Weekend Stay

The cabin we initially rented cancelled on us the day before our trip, and lucky for us there was a cancellation at this cabin! We all loved this cabin. It was in a great location and offered a great mix of indoor and outdoor activities. There was plenty of entertainment in the house between the TV, video games, and board games. We also took the short walk to the cute little arcade a few hundred few from the cabin. Outdoors, we hung out by the stream (unfortunately the fish weren't biting this past weekend) and spent time at Grayson Highland State Park to see the ponies and found some other fishing spots nearby. There were two fire pits to choose from! (We just happened to not use either this trip.) We will try to book this one again, as long as it isn't already booked. Check out and check in were easy, and the host was very responsive in the Vrbo app with messages.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Clean and Serene

I stayed here for several days to fish for wild trout in Grayson Highlands State Park and Mt. Rogers wilderness areas. Wild Horse Lodge looks like it was just renovated. Everything was new and clean. The house is comfortable, decently equipped, and suitable for families, including ones with teens that cannot be seperated from electronics. It is fully "wired" with good wifi, Fire TVs, and multiple game consoles, and yes, there is actually a video game arcade in another building, where I fetched some firewood. On the opposite end of the spectrum, there is joy for the nature lover, too. A fine trout stream runs right through the property. The place is minutes from spectacular parks with miles of trails, including Grayson Highlands and Mt. Rogers. There is a lovely big fire ring out the back door with nice benches. So far from any town, the stars at night were breathtaking. A very easy and relaxing stay. I didn't need a thing. I would really like to keep this place a secret, but that wouldn't be fair.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2023
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in
Disliked: Listing accuracy
4 bed 1 bath cabin. Bathroom is downstairs off the corner of the living room. 3 beds up a steep irregular staircase. That being said, no bed was comfortable. The cabin had a huge yard but is close to a surprisingly busy road. Front porch has limited seating and steep stairs onto the porch. We didn’t use the rear entrance as the owner was working just behind the cabin and had an extension cord running out of the back door when we arrived. Kitchen is small with limited utensils and the kitchen table… it needs a weight limit. All people in the group under 200 pounds but if someone gets up from the opposite side of the table, the table will tip like a seesaw. You won’t be sitting long though bc the seats are hard. Living room is comfortable but crammed with a billiards table and a stove? 10-15 minute drive to Greyson highlands state park which is convenient. No trails are available from the cabin though. Basically, if you just want a step up from camping, this will work. Avoid if you have any mobility issues. Pet friendly, but when you arrive there are signs that pets can’t be on the furniture.
Stairs
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 1 September 2025
Unfortunately you can't be the place for everyone. While we strive to meet everyone's expectations, sometimes it's not possible. I'll address your key points: The staircase is a little steep, if bringing folks with mobility issues,it's best to check with the host ahead of time. We do have 2 seats on the front porch, just like the listing photo. The road was busy the last few months, due to the locals repairing their land after the flooding. We were adding a guest laundry room behind the property, when asked about the extension cord we removed it immediately. The kitchen has ample utensils, spatulas, tongs, etc.. stainers, 2 sets of cooking pots and pans, bowls, and 2 full sets of eating utensils. The table made of steel i-beams. That being said is is rigid and wobbles a little due to its rigidity. We'll get it leveled with some feet. The wood heating stove in the living room is decoration, it is original to the house. There are hiking trails behind the property(see map in listing) that I told you about in person, you said you didn't want to use them because they weren't to your difficulty liking? We ask that you don't allow your pets on the furniture to help out our cleaners, we are pet friendly and do not charge a huge cleaning fee. We do this by imposing some restrictions. Overall yes, if you have mobility issues it's best to check with the hosts prior to booking. **Id like to note they almost blew up our cabin by leaving the gas stove on after leaving.**
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication

Nice, but needs a few tweaks to be perfect.

This place is nice, very close to Grayson Highlands and an easy drive to the top of the Creeper trail. It is also right on a two-lane highway which we weren't quite expecting. The place was clean with a few exceptions: the ice maker (which is a wonderful amenity) had clearly not been cleaned and the trashcan by the fire pit was overflowing when we arrived so was not usable. There is a creek nearby perfect for kids and pups to splash around. The tweaks that are needed are the inclusion of more furniture in the front room and on the front porch and fans. We were a group of 3, and we could not all sit comfortably in either of the above mentioned places. There is a bumper pool table in the front room that we suggest be removed in order to add more comfortable seating. There is an air conditioning unit upstairs, but the air does not adequately make it into all the rooms. We think box fans or ceiling fans could fix this problem. Finally, it would be nice if there were cleaning supplies for guests to use. There are some on site, but there is a notice telling guests not to use any thing in the room without contacting the hosts. This is a nice place, and, we enjoyed our three -day stay.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2024
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication

Slightly Disappointed

I've come to learn that photos and descriptions of properties are somewhat deceiving. This property is nice, however, there were a few issues. In the description/booking agreement, park passes for Grayson Highlands State Park are included during the stay: I searched of course, and did not find any at the cabin. It was also stated that the creek was stocked with fish: I spent a half of a day and did not see any. I only mention that because that was the entire reason I booked this property. I was also very disappointed in the accommodations of seating in the living area. There are 5 beds available on this property, and it seems they the max amount of guests is 10, it leaves me confused at to why there is only one (3 people) couch in the living area. We wanted to play board games as a family, it didn't pan out that way. We also tried at the kitchen table, it was not bolted down properly. I am also trying to understand why this property was not clean. I do not expect that when I pay money to stay at a rental ( rental, cleaning fees, other fees) why it is not clean. I will not go into details about that, very disappointed. I do understand that the couple who owns this property are not "local". All of that being said, I did not call the "property manager" because....why should I need to? What was agreed upon/promised to a customer/contract up front should be provided, and if that is not possible, adjustments should be made upon the expectation that you set for your customers.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 26 June 2023
I'm sorry that you did not enjoy our property. I think the photos make it very clear as to how many seats are available in the living room. We will most likely remove the pool table and add more seating in the future. The table in the dining room is nearly 300 lb I don't understand what you mean by not bolted down properly. The stock Creek on the property is stocked by the county, we've caught many fish out of it if you walk up the trail you can see notices for where they stock it. Our cleaner cleans the property between visits but if it was not up your standard we do wish that you would have reached out as that probably would have reached out as we would have been happy to remedy any issues you experienced.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
I really enjoyed the stay and would definitely return.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2026
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication
Disliked: Listing accuracy
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 7 October 2026
We’re sorry Tom’s stay did not meet his expectations, but we feel this review is a very unfair representation of what actually happened. We had an HVAC issue on the third day of a six-day stay. Within 30 minutes of being notified, we had temporary window A/C units in place to keep the house cool while we arranged the repair. The following day, I personally drove 3.5 hours to the property and replaced the failed capacitor, fully restoring the HVAC. The main HVAC was working for the remainder of Tom’s stay, and despite all of this, we still provided him with a full refund. We have been hosting for more than five years and have never had an experience with a guest like this. Our staff and I were met with repeated rudeness and an unwillingness to work with us while we were actively trying to resolve the problem. We responded immediately, provided a temporary solution, personally made a 7-hour round trip to complete the repair, and ultimately refunded the entire stay. We’re certainly not claiming that an HVAC failure is acceptable or convenient. Things break, and we understand that. What matters is how a host responds when something goes wrong, and in this case, we responded immediately, fixed the problem the next day, and refunded the guest in full.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2024
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback